First Student Employee Reviews

Found 865 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  East Hartford, CTJanuary 12, 2017
Always great to work with people that was always on the same page with you. If I needed any info it was given to me at any time of day. Great managers
Pros
Lunch/ Yes
Cons
Breaks/Yes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay for a starter job
School Bus Attendant (Former Employee) –  Helena, MTJanuary 11, 2017
Its an okay job, but pays too little for such high stress demands. management is favoring a couple people and giving them special treatments and leverage in the work place. Management treats attendants poorly with little options to help improve the situation of both attendants and children of the bus. Union will not help you, no matter the situation, they do not back you up, they do not go by their words.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and staff.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILJanuary 10, 2017
Great schedules and staff. High end pay for a school bus company. They work around your schedule. Lots of routes. Good trainers and friendly dispatchers,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job
School Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Westmont, ILJanuary 9, 2017
I enjoyed my job very much and hated that I quit but I had to because I had a student that wouldn't get out of the vehicle and nobody was doing anything to get her off my route that I was on. I didn't pick this route but I tried to keep my head up through out all of my students games she played
Pros
Met some good people
Cons
didn't get a break
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Bus Aide (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILJanuary 7, 2017
Great place to work I love working with the kids. Helping the kids on and off the bus. Crossing them across the street .communicating with them . all around great job make sure that the kids fill comfortable and wasn't scared to communicate with you about anything treating them like they was your. Own .they down side and had to cut hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Crest Hill, ILJanuary 6, 2017
There are times that I would like to say this is an awesome work environment, but then something happens that makes it difficult to say. You have plenty of time off, that isn't an issue. Sometimes it can be too much time off. Coworkers gossip, but that happens anywhere. Management rarely cares about your family life, they only want you in the seat.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 6, 2017
Excellent break hours in between runs. Have enough time to run errands such as doctors appts go home and take a nap. Sum runs require that you be at work at 6a sum later. I enjoy my job and coworkers. Fairly new buses. Buses do be cold early in the am. Takes a awhile for them to heat up
Pros
Always extra work
Cons
Extra work may include working late
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work but things have to change
trainer safety and driving (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 5, 2017
management was below level
hardest part of the job was keep smiling while you know something is wrong but changing was not posible
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work I was reated well
School Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNJanuary 4, 2017
First Student Treated me well a gave me plenty of work. Managers were fair and treated me well. Early to rise and worked late. Hardest part of the job was driving in the sleet and snow.
Pros
Got 40 hrs a week
Cons
Split Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focuses on safe transportation.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 3, 2017
The job is a split shift, 2/12hrs. Morning; 21/2hrs. Afternoon.
I've learn how to be a safer driver after taking a driver course called "The Smith System".
Management pretty much follows legislation passed down from the corporate offices.
We have roughly 280 drivers who have established routes. When someone has problems other drivers are alert to help.
The job has become very dangerous. Dealing with unruly
disrespectful teens, who are unpredictable.
I get a sense of accomplishment from providing an on time service.
I can meet the challenge to drive saftely despite tremendous
distractions.
Parents depend on that and express appreciation for efficient service.
Pros
Time off during the day
Cons
Limited work during school summer break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Villa Park, ILJanuary 2, 2017
maintain buses and fix what found during inspections. Also did major engine repair when needed, changed tires when they where low and bad. The management was good and really understood and got things done in a timely fashion.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the transportation industry
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, AR 72209December 28, 2016
The independence I find in the transportation industry is the most enjoyable part of my job. I have learned time management and the importance of customer service,
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spent about an hour writing a review
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Erie, PADecember 27, 2016
And it's gone...which basically tells you how this place works.
Good luck getting your pay correct, good luck advancing unless you're in the "in club", & good luck having any real friends here because it's like high school. People pride themselves on coming in, doing their job, and leaving...it's a sad environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYDecember 26, 2016
great benefits and great pto
holiday pay and various hours that are available within the agency
individuals that are served are very loving and thankful for the work the staff does
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bud attendent
Bus Attendant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 25, 2016
I loved going to work with the special need children
I learned about diffrent disabilaties
I love my mangers
there was no hat=rd part of the job
I just loved the specila need children
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bus driver and office help
Safety/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Ridge, ILDecember 23, 2016
drove a bus route twice a day. In between would go in the office and help keep the driver compliance with state and federal guidelines. It was a nice place to work and make friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office/bus driver
Safety/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Ridge, ILDecember 23, 2016
I would do a bus route in the morning and the afternoon. In the middle of that I would help in the office and do paperwork to make sure that drivers were in compliance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
bus driver (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CADecember 23, 2016
worked at first student 9 years its ok I guess it has its ups and downs like every other job does .working with disabled students was enjoyable pay was ok
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very easy going place to work for.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Crest Hill, ILDecember 22, 2016
Looked forward to going to work each day. Each day was almost always different. The students dictated the type of day we had but most of all it went alright. the hardest part of the job was the controlling of the students and that would differ depending on the route we had. Management and co-workers were great and helpful.
Pros
Same days off as students.
Cons
Buse just never got warm enough during the winter months.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Watertown, CTDecember 20, 2016
Had to leave due to the non accommodation of my school schedule, other than that it was a good company to work for, all the hours and plenty of summer programs.
Pros
open hours
Cons
would not work with my school schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,004 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3