Find companies:
First Student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
271 reviews

First Student Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to learn the in and out of school bus driving
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 12, 2014
Learn about good safety driving and having the challenges of working with children and the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a rotten company
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Cheswick, PAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: off every summer
Cons: bad pay no insurence
do not work for them they are a no good company, they do not give u benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you only want to work part tme hours
Bus Diver (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: same days off as my children
Cons: not enough hours to support a family
I like my job working with the children, they seem to look up to me and love seeing me in the morning and then after a long day at school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to meet new people, fun all the time
First Student -Bus Driver (Former Employee), Zachary, LAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: family environment
Cons: health if you can sffoed it
I drove a school bus daily . 5;30 in the morning Monday thru Fridays. i got my CDL, My workers were fun loving people whom love the children that we transport daily. The rainning days are the hardest time. This job we were like family and everybody supported each other
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good company
Dispatcher/Driver (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 9, 2014
Cons: healthcare, management, safety
The management hired family and friends who didn't know their position, which caused the company to loose their contract, 300 drivers without jobs.Then in the summer forced people to come in and wrk two hour trips, with no promise of good work and told employees that they had to be available for them everyday. So we were unable to get another job because – more... we had to be available when they called and if we refused they threaten to mess with your unemployment, which they did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is a joyful experience
Bus Attendant/Support Attendant -part-time (Current Employee), MIFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: this job has helped me sharpen my skills in managing children.
Cons: sometimes the drivers listen to bad music.
A typical day consists of singing with the children on the way to school , laughing and keeping them in order. Making sure they do not fight, or get out of their seats. I walk the students to their seats and buckle them in and take their backpacks. As a Support Attendant, I keep a close eye on a student that is seizure prone. I must watch him closely – more... , ie. breathing, body movements, eye activity. I document daily what the child's behavior was like. If needed, in case of a seizure , I administer diastat to bring the child out of seizure activity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Bus Operator (Former Employee), East Saint Louis, ILFebruary 7, 2014
Very good employer, variety of locations available, wonderful benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Driver (Former Employee), House Springs, MOFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: drivimg in the snow
I was a school bus driver here. I learned patience. Loved my co workers here and the office staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I enjoy my job just need more hours
Bus Monitor (Current Employee), Savannah, GAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: schedule works with children schedule
Cons: work hours, dealing with different personalities
managing students while traveling, keeping them quiet and seated throughout the trip. I have learned how to work with multiple personalities as well as having more patience with children and adults. Management handle their positions properly. There is nothing hard about my job and the most enjoyable part of the job is having the opportunity to meet – more... different children with their multiple personalities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Safety trainer (Current Employee), Westmont, ILFebruary 1, 2014
great company for part-time work. Decent pay but no benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSJanuary 31, 2014
drove students back and forth to school. co-workers pleasant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful promises with an epic failure to deliver
Bus Technician Level 2 (Current Employee), Tigard, ORJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: it's a job.
Cons: low pay, micro-management, broken promises, false advertizing
First Student is a huge corporation. Micro-management galore. Budgeting is impossible. There are so many things wrong with this company and this location I don't even know where to begin. I will stick with the Tech job. The job is nothing as promised (hours or description). The Tech "In Charge" or, TIC at the Tigard location does nothing. It's that – more... simple. Paperwork has not been filed for over 18 months. Essential items such as coolant, oil, trans fluid, headlights, tires, brakes, heater motors, switches, wiper blades are almost always out of stock. Only the TIC is allowed to order parts - and will sometimes get it to you in 6 months if you ask him 10 times - but only after asking you why the bus hasn't been repaired 10 times. Drivers are not properly trained and that trickles down into the shop. Drivers are underpaid - this last year there was a 99% turnover rate in management and about 40% in the shop. The fact that management is unable to create a position that will keep people leads to the entire shop driving school bus routes - while complaining in the same breath that 15 buses are broken. They do not have a sustainable business plan and expect the employees to make up for it. Keeping school buses running should and can be a rewarding job but unfortunately this is not the case here. There is no way I can recommend any position with this company and feel good about it. The two stars are for the few good people that keep it running. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving,working with children and lots of fieldtrips
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Hesperia, CAJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: fieldtrips to amusment parks and learning alot about children
Cons: part time, irate parents, dangers of unsafe drivers
I enjoyed this job ,lots of driving part time and lots of stress do to you having to keep up to 84 students to follow rules drive safely and makesure that other drivers drive safely around your students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Merriam, KansasJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: lots of days off
Cons: no benefits like health insurance that you can afford
No benefits! Health insurance costs more than you make! The Company gives you a few paid holidays after you've been there a year! That's it! A free turkey at Thanksgiving! It's a good job if you are on disability or receive social security. Not too good of a job if you are trying to earn a living. Split shift ties up your whole day for part time pay. – more... They pay you route pay 4 hours a day and then 9.00 for all your mid day runs which seems unfair to the drivers as you have the same responsibility whether your driving at 8 am or Noon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kids fanny
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free ticket
Cons: long break
Driving all day school pick-up student from their stop to school a time and sometimes fill-trip to zoo or other places good time .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed, unorganzed
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Savannah, GAJanuary 13, 2014
There was no real order when it came down to the relationship between the school staff and the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Sewickley, PAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: good personal and team workers
Cons: short hours
Making sure that the bus is in good operative condition in the beginning and at the end of each work day. Driving school students to and from school, and knowledge how to handle students with special needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTJanuary 7, 2014
good place to work................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part-time Flexible schedule, no room for advancement, unsatifactory benefits
Bus driver (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: midday free, off work when kids are off school
Cons: benefits are awful, no pay when school is out, no room for advancement
first student has its pros and cons. typical work day includes morning shift of picking children up and taking them to school. off in the midday and return for work in the afternoon to pick children up from school and drop them off at home. co-workers are good and management is ok depending on the day or person to whom you are speaking. there is no – more... room for advancement in this job and the benefits cost more than your paycheck will ever be. there is no pay when schools are out so its best to have a second job as most employees do. the schedule gives you time to run errands during the day. overall this job is ok – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Grand Junction, COJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: view on what cdl drivers go thru, with there licence, and the responsibilitys that goes with it.
Cons: for the responsibility that bus drivers are handed the pay is very low
Great people to work with, you have interaction with children and you could be a guidance in the future that stands before them. And that is a eye opener.

About First Student

As Canada's largest student transportation company, we’re committed to the safety of our passengers, employees and the buses – Read more