First Student Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJanuary 4, 2018
enjoyed working for first student.enjoyed the people there.only reason I had to give it up was because I have a hard time seeing when dark.cared more about the safety of the kids
Pros
good pay
Cons
far away from where i live
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Driver (Former Employee) –  Glenwood, ILJanuary 4, 2018
It was no room to grow at this company.
I feel like I reached my ceiling here I have nothing bad
To say about my time here I feel like I just out here it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The children are wonderful
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJanuary 3, 2018
Great job and my co-workers were wonderful to work with and working part -time was nice it allowed me to make time for Dr. appointments etc. I would recommend anyone to work for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenge job
Payroll Clerk/Billing (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 3, 2018
Come in off a morning work on my payroll throughout the day. Verify payroll for the day before. Answer phones throughout the day talk to the drivers on two way radio if there having problems with route. Work with the school district giving new student there routes etc. Print Charter Dispatch log assign drivers to trips print trip tickets.

I have learned three different payroll systems since I started working here.

Work closely with the manager everyday.

Charters can sometime be a challenge.

Working with the drivers, make sure there payroll is right and working the school district
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving position
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 2, 2018
without a route - show up wait 2 hrs and go home, return in the afternoon wait 2 hrs and go home.
with a route - whoe up do your pre-trip inspection and take students to school return to busbarn and do post-trip inspection.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 1, 2018
most enjoyable day picking u my students on time.culture at the job ok. typical day come in goodmornin warm bus start my day.hardest part messing up every check not getting paid for the hard earn work i put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 31, 2017
As a school bus driver I always had to learn new, quicker ways to transport students to and from school. You got to meet kids from different backgrounds and connect with them. I loved it.
Pros
Not a straight 10 hour shift, pick your hours, get new opportunities for extra hours.
Cons
Some students are challenging, but the job itself was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 30, 2017
Not a bad place to work. I would recommend my friends. I am looking for better working condition and hours during the day. I enjoy working with the kids and making sure they arrived to school safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Student was pretty good place to work
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OHDecember 28, 2017
The people were friendly, and helpful. My only concern was the lack of advancement possibilities and the pay I felt was low for the amount of hours I worked each week.
Pros
The people
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deal with 29 terminals.
Title Clerk (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 28, 2017
Fast Paced, and all info has to be on point.
Direct Management is the best I have had throughout my last 10 years.
There are many Bosses, who have Bosses, who have Bosses.
The most difficult part of my job is dealing with paperwork correspondence with the state.
All are very nice. A very much Male related positions.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
My position has no place for advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bus driving job
BUS OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 27, 2017
The supervision was okay and the coworkers were okay. As long as you did as you were told you would not have any problems. The pay was fair for the job that you do.
Pros
Good part time job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bus driver
Sped Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Grants Pass, ORDecember 26, 2017
lack of pay to start, very political in the work place, Fights to have no union and tries to talk people out of it with little words so they don't get in trouble.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 26, 2017
terrible job company don't care about their employees and not enough flexibility of any size shape or form. pay is horrible. they don't back up their people up when their is a problem
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Place to work now!
Operations Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  South Holland, ILDecember 25, 2017
Typical day at First could be very stressful depending on the number of call-offs and broke down vehicles. The most enjoyable part of my job was the great employees and customers I served. Upper management gave poor direction/support to certain locations.
Pros
The employees are wonderful
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You always have to fight for your pay
Bus Monitor (Current Employee) –  Rolla, MODecember 22, 2017
Management is rude your paycheck a are always messed up they started me off at 12.41 an hour then after 3 months told me I was getting a dollar an hour pay cut due to signing the wrong contract they had my taxes messed up from day one and never got them straight even after talking to them several times. One of the bus drivers was abusive to the kids on her bus. It was reported and widely known but management did nothing about it
Pros
The kids are great
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
bus driver (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILDecember 21, 2017
was a very restrictive work place, they micro-managed and had favorites in a click, equipment was sometimes in poor condition and would break down on the road. very poor time management.
Cons
split shift was very tiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time with split shifts
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIDecember 21, 2017
schedule is difficult with split shifts and dealing with the many needs and personalities of the students is the biggest factor in wanting to leave. I like children but many that I deal with have special needs and are on the bus for extended periods of time.

While this job has worked for me it is not something that I wish to continue in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Zachary, LADecember 20, 2017
Very fast paced, early mornings, sometimes long trips. Must be able to multi-task. Must be able to cover other people. Good company to work for, just not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Almost everyone qualifies
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNDecember 17, 2017
check in
the smith system
too clique for me.
they had an in crowd like high school

hardest part, walking through the office to check in and get keys.

most enjoyable part, driving
Pros
Good pay
Cons
prefer not to say
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers great hours
Driver (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 16, 2017
Job tasks was simple picking up kids bringing them to in from school,programs and also events.the only issue I had really was management with the company manager and supervisors.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,408 reviews
5399
4409
3378
2128
194

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture