FirstFleet Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress Free Area
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Tolleson, AZFebruary 8, 2017
On typical work days, you can work at your own pace.

Shop supervisor will take time to show you how to properly weld, ensuring shop safety codes are followed, and knowing when not to spend too much time repairing older type equipment (for example: age of the equipment, amount of repairs, and parts expenses).
Pros
Usally, no one relocate your tools if left unsecured
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and Steady Work
Transportation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oxford, PAJanuary 20, 2017
Great place to work and even better people. The serviced account is hard to handle but First Fleet as a company is one of the best I have ever been privileged to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Daycab driver (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCNovember 25, 2016
Overworked and under paid. Pay is very low even below standard for newbie straight out of school. Just something to get by until something better can be found. Management will lie on you, doesn't acknowledge his drivers everything thats reported to higher by him he thinks he accomplished them alone. Won't stand up for his drivers, too cheap to get you a hotel room if you run out of drive hours. Daycab driver suppose to spend more time off and with family, Not on this account very early mornings between 1-4am working all day until 4-5pm. Most days not even making over $90. Will run as if you're in a sleeper truck. Most runs 4-6hrs away with very early delivery times. Backwards dispatching on backhaul very off route from your current location when he already has another truck in that area. Anything look on the computer but the computer isn't behind the wheel. This guy need to get from behind his desk and ride with the drivers to see the bs we put up with. Stay Away!!
Pros
Nothing.. Everyday was depressing
Cons
Weekend off unless you decide to work so paycheck will look somewhat decent
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Delaware, OHNovember 22, 2016
This is by far the best company I have ever worked for. The people care about you and treat you with the respect and dignity that is missing from many places. Management is great, the IT department is second to none, and the focus on Safety is outstanding!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a really good company
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, TNOctober 28, 2016
First fleet is a great company with a very competitive salary. They understand when you have issues and can't drive. They are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Fleet Tolleson, AZ
Driver (Current Employee) –  Tolleson, AZOctober 8, 2016
The company is okay, pay is low, but Drivers have to deal with enough stress on the roads already then have to put up with some in the office/dispatcher staff who can be unnecessarily hostile and rude toward the Driving team. Good luck on your Job search!
Pros
Newer trucks
Cons
Low pay, unnecessary stress from rudeness
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TNOctober 1, 2016
They are truly willing to work with you. Some of the dispatchers are a little rough around the edges, but the Manager I worked with was a wonderful person and was always willing to help me out when I needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work in the transportation industry
Transportation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 10, 2016
I worked at FirstFleet, Inc for about six months before I moved on. I learned much more than I knew before when working in the transportation industry and learned to work better with a higher volume of loads and drivers. I really don't have anything bad to say about the company, if your local managers cant give you the answer you need to know to better yourself at the job the corporate office in Tennessee sure will. I had a good set schedule and I was paid weekly so that was my two favorite things about the job. But the stress started to get to me in the end when things started getting busier and they wanted me to start working 1st shift.
Pros
Good Benefits, Weekly Pay.
Cons
Good luck getting a peaceful dinner break
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working relationship with dispatchers.
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVJuly 29, 2016
I was home every other day. The company would recognize you for a job well done. Online safety training. Kept well informed of new changes and laws in the industry. New trucks every 5 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run of the mill trucking company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Cullman, ALJuly 5, 2016
The amount received is alright. I have received payment for all loads completed. However, they have a tendency to tell what you want to hear instead of what is truthful.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steer clear!
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAJune 22, 2016
Overworked and underpaid! DO NOT GO ON ANY FLOWERS BREAD ACCOUNTS! They talk a big talk about safety but have horrible dirty warehouses with broken equipment. You will be forced to drive in snow storms. Your load will never be ready on time. You will work christmas eve and every other holiday. They will try to deny your vacation if submitted during summer months. The management is rude and unprofessional people who have never stepped foot inside a truck. 15 years driving experience and this company is the only one I have any complaints about!
Pros
Plenty of work if you want it.
Cons
Management! Time off! Advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not employee friendly
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 7, 2016
The customer is great and keeps you moving. The management is very unorganized and doesn't take into account the other obligations the driver has in their life.
The other employees are great and there is a lot of fun involved working with them.
Management has a very bad habit of changing your load at the last minute. This causes issues with child care. Unfortunately the company is more worried about their bottom line than helping out the driver.
This office runs strictly intrastate, as a result it is not uncommon to have a 15+hr day. They also do not have a problem with putting you in a hotel when your load runs over and you can not make it back to your home terminal. This company also pays a daily rate instead of hourly. When mileage is involved it doesn't work out in the drivers favor
Pros
home daily usually
Cons
pay for work ratio is not good
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, home time & benefits
Commercial OTR Class A Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNApril 28, 2016
OTR Truck Driving, Dedicated routs / customers, Management is well qualified and friendly. Home time and new Tractors & Equipment. Qual Com Electronic Logs.
Pros
Plenty of Work
Cons
Most driving is at knight
Was this review helpful?Yes5No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company and people to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Quakertown, PAFebruary 17, 2016
Programs are easy to use and understand. People are very happy and anxious to make things better. Only downside is they don't pay holidays or match anything in 401K. And instability with smaller areas.
Pros
flexible, comfortable, not a big corp feel
Cons
instability, holidays & 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ineffective mid level management
Driver (Current Employee) –  Tolleson, AZFebruary 11, 2016
The company has an excellent idea of their purpose however local managers and safety department leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
False Promises
Class A Professional Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 28, 2016
Not a great company,false promises,long story short i would not work for them or recommend them to anyone who wants a home daily truck job
Was this review helpful?Yes30No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tampa FlTerrible place yo work
Semi Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 20, 2016
This place is absolutely horrible to work for. First off the load Planner shows favoritism and his wife does the payroll, so guess what that means, if you find a mistake on your pay and you bring it to his attention he takes it personal and give you terrible loads, (can you say conflict of intrest) The pay is horrible, some days you dont even make $90.00, and a weeks check can be as low as $490.00. Very high turn over, stay away from this place
Pros
You get your own truck
Cons
Low Pay, terrible load planner, terrible benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes35No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place i ever worked
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tolleson, AZJanuary 10, 2016
I worked at FF in 2011 to 2013 easy job ,great money ,home every other day up an back from Tolleson AZ to Albuquerque Nm an back all paid miles ,great account with Krogers,great managers ,drivers were the best always,helpful i left there to move to TN ,biggest mistake i ever made in my life other than getting married in 1999 ,i make more money now though but i would gladly give up this in a heartbeat to run again in Arizona ,cannot beat this place ..
Pros
Great trucks, Great Money, great health coverage, managers are caring runs are easy, great mechanics at garage
Cons
None there are none trust me
Was this review helpful?Yes12No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
favoritism, no free time
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, TNJanuary 5, 2016
Firstfleet expects you to give up your life and be on standby 24/7. The but kissers will get the good trips even if it's supposed to be yours. They preach safety but they don't care if you're safe as long as you leave with your load. The dispatchers are A holes and have no sense at all.
Pros
They are stupid
Cons
They are stupid
Was this review helpful?Yes47No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL Class A Driver
Driver (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 29, 2015
This part of First Fleet Inc is hired by Flowers Bakery to deliver (drop/hook) loaves of bread via 53 foot dry van to different locations within a certain radius of the plant. Also some drivers are also required to pack out (unload and sort) the loaves of bread at particular warehouses. The pack out drivers jobs make more money due to the extra duties they have to perform. Most of the equipment is 2015 some 2014 and 2013. You are home every day or every night. Overall it is not a bad company to work for, you are home every day or night but the pay is a little lower than average. Loads seldom get cancelled and management is decent.
Pros
Loads are consistant
Cons
Medical coverage could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FirstFleet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 58 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5