Find companies:
FirstMerit Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

FirstMerit Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent background in banking industry
Customer Service Representative (Bank Teller) (Former Employee), Canton, MISeptember 7, 2014
• Responsible for money transactions including deposits, transfers and withdrawals
• Managing customer accounts including openings and closings
• Solving customer concerns and issues with their accounts
• Assisting customers in explaining online banking and bank policies
• Handling multi tasks to support both walk in as well as drive through customers – more... at the same time
• Working on filmable and balancing sheets on weekly basis
• Issuing money orders, gift cards and official checks
• Adhering and maintaining bank security procedures
• Familiarity with western union money transfer and copay, cash advances
• Hands on experience with bank computer systems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Facing Sales Management
Customer Service Supervisor/Client Champion III (Current Employee), Flint, MISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: paid holidays and vacations.
Cons: very understaffed in the branches
This job has helped me strengthen my customer service and team work. I have learned to prioritize all daily activities to succeed. I have developed many relationships with clients that keep them returning for me to offer solutions for their everyday life. At times boundaryless communication has been a struggle; concerns about staffing, branch needs, – more... and improved processing are set aside by members of the management team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small market share and branch network makes it diificult to perform job
Vice President, Business Banking (Current Employee), Toledo, OHSeptember 3, 2014
Cons: small market share; lack of visibilty in market
co-workers are friendly, but the job consists of continous cold-calling due to minimal visibility in market. Constant pressure to hit goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Client Champion II (Current Employee), Canton, OhioSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: people, managment
Cons: busy, late nights
I had a blast working here. Long lunch breaks, and fun people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Stable Company
Mortgage Consultant/Account Specialist I (Current Employee), Saginaw, MichiganAugust 19, 2014
This has been an extremely enjoyable place to work and I have become experienced working with consumer loans as well as mortgages that are backed by the institution as well as Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. The day does not get to be overwhelming and being productive is always top notch as far as importance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Senior Client Champion (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 15, 2014
The benifits are great and so is the culture!! required training every month to help build the knowledge of products and new practices for customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment,
Inbound Banker (Current Employee), Flint, MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: abundance of overtime, constantly learning new skills.
Cons: fast pace environment.
Answering client inquires, working in fast paced and sometimes stressful environment. The management team are hands on and most have worked their way up in the company in an entry level position. Co-workers are team players that look out for each other and help each other to grow. The hardest part of the job is all the information that one has to retain – more... to complete job effectively and proficiently. This also is an advantage to learn so many different aspects of the job and allow you to learn bits and pieces of other roles and positions of the company that allow you to grow within the corporation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
partime positions maily
Client Champion (Current Employee), Canton, MIJuly 23, 2014
ideal for only partime seekers and non career advancement people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FirstMerit Bank
Lead Teller/Supervisor Wadsworth Center Branch (Current Employee), Wadsworth, OHJuly 14, 2014
A typical day involved processing customer request, opening accounts, managing tellers, manage cash flow coming into and going out of the bank, and ensuring proper operation and regulations of the bank and government.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Loan Review Officer (Former Employee), Akron, OhioJune 2, 2014
I worked in various departments here and all were different. Some management was almost offensive, others were great. If you did your job well, you did get recognized for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
Universal Banker (Current Employee), Mansfield, OHMay 12, 2014
Cons: drama, politics, favortism
Typical day includes handling cash transactions, customer service and setting up new accounts. Hardest part of the job is dealing with drama of small staff. I have learned a lot in regards to the financial aspect of business and financial planning. I have learned more cross selling strategies to help me further my sales career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce and analyze various reports which includes meeting daily and monthly deadlines.
Senior Analyst (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare. good working environment
Cons: down time due to system failure
I am a self-starter with ability to work independently and meet deadlines with minimal supervision. I was assigned several accounts to reconcile on a daily and monthly basis. My assignments were prioritized to ensure all accounts were balanced and all exceptions were identified and brought to the appropriate managers' attention if needed. I had a good – more... working relationship with several departments throughout the corporation. I have the ability and willingness to work well within a team environment. I received several recognitions from fellow co-workers for assisting them in resolving issues. I recognized co-workers for their efforts in assisting me as well. The hardest part of my job was writing procedures. The most enjoyable part of my job was the researching and resolving the exceptions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping teller line in order
Client Champion 1 (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIFebruary 19, 2014
I am a full time teller. I love to be neat and organized so I find myself cleaning out drawers and cabinets. I enjoy working on task that is given to me. I usually work on most of the audit task that is due monthly, quarterly, or annually. I am very up beat and happy person that keeps the other employees laughing and having a great time at work. I am – more... a very hard worker that puts the clients first at all times. I enjoy helping clients with their financial needs and referring them to the banker to help the bank and our clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture change
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MIFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: clients, co-workers, direct management
Cons: culture, technology, support
FirstMerit Bank merged with Citizens Bank and unfortunately the culture changed dramatically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great branch manager and customers.
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Hartland, MIJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: working in banking, meet great customers, and experience.
Cons: low pay, bank was bought out due to financials.
I was a client service representative that managed customers bank accounts. Ordered banking supplies and sold banking products. Immediate management was great. Did not have much interaction with higher level management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full service bank with focus on customer service
Commercial Relationship Mgr., Asst. Vice President (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIDecember 22, 2013
Headquartered in Akron, OH with recent expansion into Michigan & Wisconsin after the merger with Citizens Bancorp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Akron, OHNovember 20, 2013
Cons: poor compensation for the work done
Long weeks and poor compensation for the work done.
Very little power given to management in human resource areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To process and close all loans in a timely manner with no errors. Review and analyze documentation in order to clear to close loans.
Consumer Loan Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Flint, MINovember 13, 2013
To develop and maintain knowledge of all loan products, bank policies and procedures within the bank to better myself within the department. To complete all regulatory training to help be make the correct decision to resolve issues to process loans without error. I display a high level of energy in my position. I’m very eager to help with my department – more... as needed. I’m a very reliable employee and my attendance is excellent. My work ethic is one of my strongest qualities. I interact well with employees within and outside of the department. I always do my best to resolve any issues that the personal banker or management brings to my attention in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced branch with great co-workers
Tammy Pratt- Branch Manager (Current Employee), Flint, MIOctober 7, 2013
Pros: hour lunch breaks
Cons: health care
Normally a prety busy branch but our clients care about us and we care about clients. I love when clients that have been with the bank for years come in and they have anew life event they cant wait to share with us or need help with and we know for different things we can lean on our clients too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice job
Bank Teller (Former Employee), middlefield,ohOctober 1, 2013
I loved learning so much about banking and about the people lives who would come in almost everyday.

1 2 3