Find companies:
FirstMerit Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

FirstMerit Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
Universal Banker (Current Employee), Mansfield, OHMay 12, 2014
Cons: drama, politics, favortism
Typical day includes handling cash transactions, customer service and setting up new accounts. Hardest part of the job is dealing with drama of small staff. I have learned a lot in regards to the financial aspect of business and financial planning. I have learned more cross selling strategies to help me further my sales career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce and analyze various reports which includes meeting daily and monthly deadlines.
Senior Analyst (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare. good working environment
Cons: down time due to system failure
I am a self-starter with ability to work independently and meet deadlines with minimal supervision. I was assigned several accounts to reconcile on a daily and monthly basis. My assignments were prioritized to ensure all accounts were balanced and all exceptions were identified and brought to the appropriate managers' attention if needed. I had a good – more... working relationship with several departments throughout the corporation. I have the ability and willingness to work well within a team environment. I received several recognitions from fellow co-workers for assisting them in resolving issues. I recognized co-workers for their efforts in assisting me as well. The hardest part of my job was writing procedures. The most enjoyable part of my job was the researching and resolving the exceptions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping teller line in order
Client Champion 1 (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIFebruary 19, 2014
I am a full time teller. I love to be neat and organized so I find myself cleaning out drawers and cabinets. I enjoy working on task that is given to me. I usually work on most of the audit task that is due monthly, quarterly, or annually. I am very up beat and happy person that keeps the other employees laughing and having a great time at work. I am – more... a very hard worker that puts the clients first at all times. I enjoy helping clients with their financial needs and referring them to the banker to help the bank and our clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture change
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MIFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: clients, co-workers, direct management
Cons: culture, technology, support
FirstMerit Bank merged with Citizens Bank and unfortunately the culture changed dramatically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great branch manager and customers.
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Hartland, MIJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: working in banking, meet great customers, and experience.
Cons: low pay, bank was bought out due to financials.
I was a client service representative that managed customers bank accounts. Ordered banking supplies and sold banking products. Immediate management was great. Did not have much interaction with higher level management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full service bank with focus on customer service
Commercial Relationship Mgr., Asst. Vice President (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIDecember 22, 2013
Headquartered in Akron, OH with recent expansion into Michigan & Wisconsin after the merger with Citizens Bancorp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Akron, OHNovember 20, 2013
Cons: poor compensation for the work done
Long weeks and poor compensation for the work done.
Very little power given to management in human resource areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To process and close all loans in a timely manner with no errors. Review and analyze documentation in order to clear to close loans.
Consumer Loan Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Flint, MINovember 13, 2013
To develop and maintain knowledge of all loan products, bank policies and procedures within the bank to better myself within the department. To complete all regulatory training to help be make the correct decision to resolve issues to process loans without error. I display a high level of energy in my position. I’m very eager to help with my department – more... as needed. I’m a very reliable employee and my attendance is excellent. My work ethic is one of my strongest qualities. I interact well with employees within and outside of the department. I always do my best to resolve any issues that the personal banker or management brings to my attention in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced branch with great co-workers
Tammy Pratt- Branch Manager (Current Employee), Flint, MIOctober 7, 2013
Pros: hour lunch breaks
Cons: health care
Normally a prety busy branch but our clients care about us and we care about clients. I love when clients that have been with the bank for years come in and they have anew life event they cant wait to share with us or need help with and we know for different things we can lean on our clients too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice job
Bank Teller (Former Employee), middlefield,ohOctober 1, 2013
I loved learning so much about banking and about the people lives who would come in almost everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight talk
Senior Client Champion (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2013
My typical day at work involves prospecting current customers for new opportunities and seeking new customers. I've learned asking questions leads to a better rapport and more accounts. My management team provides training to enforce our culture. My co-workers and I work well as a team. The hardest part of the job is reaching potential customers to – more... promote the bank. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing a solution to the customers concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Information Security Analyst (Current Employee), Akron, OHSeptember 19, 2013
I work with a great group off individuals. Most know how to laugh and get through a day in a productive manor. The only unsure thing is if and when I'll be hired on. Either way its a great experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), MISeptember 7, 2013
Cons: no benefits for part-timers.
Job training program is very thorough. On the job training is also very hands on. Great open door policy. Develope great relationships with frequent clients. Non-pressure atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hired me under fictitious pretense
Inbound Relationship Banker (Current Employee), Akron, OHAugust 14, 2013
I was told that I was coming in to first merit to begin a long career. Turns out, they are moving my position to Flint, MI and only needed the group they hired in until December.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain banking knowledge
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Medina, OhioAugust 11, 2013
Fast-paced. Work Day Varies.
Learned about Retail and Commercial Aspects of Banking.
Management is Tiered and Big Picture Focused.
Varied years of experience in Department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and precise
Lead Teller (Former Employee), Medina, OHJuly 31, 2013
Working at a bank taught me a lot about analyzing and being precise. Making sure every transaction was correct, audits were completed and money was accounted for was very important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere , worked with great people
Teller/ Lead Teller (Current Employee), Akron, OhioMay 15, 2013
Typical Day : Productive
Learned many parts of the Financial service industry, Management truly cares about their staff, co workers were great to work with, hardest part was all people not productive all the time some times distracting, completing tasks and special projects to be done were the most enjoyable part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy management
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 1, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: no advancement opportunities, lazy management, can't have a life outside of work
I have worked for this company less than a year and had heard all the rumors that not many last. I was promised in the beginning that I could advance being a banker by getting my series 6 & 63 but 6 months later when I brought this up to management I was turned down due to the merge of the company with another company. If you are promised something – more... when you are first hired, get it in writing! Also, my manager was late almost every single day and it was always a new excuse but since they were salary it didn't affect them, only me! There is no communication between mangers and bankers. You are just told to do better but manager doesn't set goals to do that even after you ask. If you’re working at an in-store location make sure you don’t have a life outside of work because with getting out at 7:30pm during the week and working Saturdays and Sundays you can't have a life. Manager will switch the schedule last minute and you may have the weekend off but the next day they need you to work. I didn’t mine people missing work due to sickness but when I’m told I have to cover them and if I don’t it will be a no- call/ no- show it makes me feel like a slave. I have had my schedule switched so many times in the past month that I realized I have worked the last 5 weeks and my manager has taken every one of them off. Issues have been adding up and this topped it off and my 2 week notice was in the next day. Thank you First Merit for teaching me what warning signs to look for in my new job to make sure I’m not get the butt end of everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair work environment
Teller II (Former Employee), Columbus OHApril 30, 2013
Pros: responsibility
Cons: no benefits
a typical day at work:I was responsible for running the branch multiple times

what you learned:First banking job so I learned a lot from auditing an ATM to opening an account.

management:unorganized management

your co-workers:great co-workers

the hardest part of the job:being forced to move branches

the most enjoyable part of the job: Being the – more... guy everyone came to for answers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incentives and quarterly bonuses
Delinquent account specialist (Former Employee), Akron, OHApril 30, 2013
Pros: limited advancement in position
Cons: limited breaks and flexibility in availability
This job was a routine job in which was difficult because I like variety and multi-tasking, maintained effective communication with clients via telephone. High-level maintenance job with securing documents and files. Co-workers were able to have limited communication, this job was one in which is was individual to team work. Quotas were met to secure – more... job and salary – less