FirstMerit Corporation Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where do I even begin...
Teller (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 5, 2016
Lead teller was indifferent about a lot of issues in the bank. She regularly fought with her ex- husband over the phone in the back room and screamed at him so loud that customers heard it. She also told a potential customer that if he wanted to open a saving account that she could open her purse and he could put his savings there. One of the Level 2 tellers showed up late to work because she was getting her makeup done by a friend that was applying for a job as a makeup artist. Another Level 2 teller took a picture of $4000 in cash and posted it to Instagram. All 3 tellers were often snotty to customers. Personal banker was an expert at making all of the women feel completely uncomfortable with unwanted advances and the branch manager seems completely confused at times, but he was nice. The only saving grace for this establishment were the CPD officers that would come in and guard the bank. They were awesome. Other than that, gut the entire staff and start over with this place.
Pros
Well...you got paid.
Cons
Well...the coworkers were terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working for FirstMerit Corporatoin
Bankruptcy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 7, 2015
I worked for FirstMerit for 12 years, started off as a Bank Teller while I was going to college.

I advanced within the company and worked in various other depts and learned alot about bankruptcy/repossession/commercial lending, etc.
Pros
FirstMerit was always flexible with my college course schedule
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you need a job
Banker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 18, 2015
Not a great workplace. But a great start in banking to eventually move on. Pay is not great and hours are long. 10 hours at time.
Pros
Banking knowledge
Cons
No breaks. Improper training. Long shifts. Severally underpaid compared to other banks
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Poor training, Unprofessional
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Bucyrus, OhioJuly 15, 2015
A lot of the employees were great to work with, however at the branch I was employed with, our Manger and Assistant were rude, used their positions to try to intimidate you, and lacked professionalism when dealing with customer complaints. FirstMerit is very BIG on SALES, SALES, and more SALES, therefore causing customers to leave and go elsewhere. If we did not make our 25 referals per week, then we would either be made to stay over until 7:00PM (2 hours after closing time) to make calls, or be wrote up, which went against your LEADS (evaluation). On two occasions I was wrote up for clocking in late, which was due to Management showing up late, and upon hiring I was told to never enter the branch alone. One week our Assistant Manager was on vacation, and even though I was a Teller Level 1, I was to take over the vault and cash shipping/ordering for that week. After she came back from vacation, I was called into the office, and again wrote up for violating company policy because only Asssistant Managers, or Teller Level 3's can run vault. There were numerous times that Management would forget to complete Branch Capture for end of day reports, and I would receive telephone calls to go back to the branch, late at night, by myself to submit the report because Management couldn't be reached. I was cursed at by my Assistant for things I made mistakes on in areas where I was not properly trained, or showed one way, and then told another. I constantly walked on eggshells for a year, before I was called into the office, and was then introduced to a representative from HR, who explained  more... that the company felt it was best to terminate my position effective immediately. I was never warned about possible termination, but it was then and only then explained to me that after three write up's, you could face termination. I was then told to go back out onto the teller line, collect my personal belongings, and do not speak to any co-workers or any customers that may be in the branch. The representative then escorted me by the arm, out the back door, and to the parking lot. I also lost a weeks pay, and a weeks vacation pay.  less
Pros
Good starting pay for tellers
Cons
Very short lunches/breaks, Too pushy on customers
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of managers that are not capable.
Mortgage Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  OhioJanuary 5, 2015
The training at this bank is horrific and the systems are so antiquated it makes the day so much longer and frustrating. The pay is below average and the benefits stink also. You get what you pay for and this co. is full of managers that are not capable of helping or coaching in any capacity.
Pros
expense account
Cons
hard to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, all about themselves
CCIII (Former Employee) –  ohioOctober 3, 2014
Was always told the wrong stuff u did and was never encouraged or told u did a good job!! Wasnt properly trained for the position!
Pros
excellent insurance and vacation pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible ace to work
Sales (Current Employee) –  OhioJune 12, 2014
Bad management lack vision don't have a clue how to be leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours!! Poor Management in Retail
Teller III (Former Employee) –  Algonquin, ILMay 3, 2013
Worked as a head teller for many years and had day to day contact with customers to transaction completion. You are instructed to SELL SELL and upgrade all customers accounts. The banker will take care of the customer after you sell the products to them with little to no credit. The difficult aspect of the job is lack of proper training and having the selling pressure on top of audit procedures you are always stressed out.
Pros
great holiday days off with pay!
Cons
no breaks and short 30 minute lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding workplace without proper training
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  North Olmsted, OHJanuary 17, 2013
A typical day began with reviewing customer accounts, cold-calling on a hot-list of prospective customers, assisting new customers with accounts and cross-selling additional products
I learned that to begin any conversation, you must be willing to listen first
The management of this company was terrible. The turnover was so high that I was often the one training new-hires, even though it was not in my job description, nor did I get recognized for my efforts
My coworkers were very receptive to me as a leader, they were comfortable with my strengths and they constructively offered criticism so that we were able to work as a team
The hardest part of the job was applying for advanced postions with the HR representatives and being told that outside candidates were better fits even before the interviews
The most enjoyable part of the job was demonstrating my knowledge and capacity by training the new hires. I love being an expert on a topic, and the training I did allowed me to prove my value consistently
Pros
great staff, available training, small tuition reimbursement
Cons
terrible management, benefits, vacation time, turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes25No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager was wonderful, as were most co-workers
Teller (Former Employee) –  Middleburg Hts OhioJanuary 7, 2013
nice place to work, benefits for part time were worst benefits ever, which no one tells you about until your 90 days are up. also, your vacation is classified as"PTO" so if you have not used it when you leave, they are not legally obligated to pay you for it
Pros
great co-workers and manager
Cons
worst benefits ever
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with many fun incentives and competitions.
Operations Manager III (Former Employee) –  Akron, OhFebruary 15, 2012
I had a great career with FirstMerit and long-term relationships that became friendships. Very mind challenging.
Pros
games, awards, incentives, fish, promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes9No18

Overall rating

2.3
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture