Find companies:
FITNESS 19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
56 reviews

FITNESS 19 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career job!
Personal Trainer/Sales (Former Employee), Wickliffe, OHJune 11, 2014
Pros: well balanced career.
Cons: was in snowy ohio
Great career job where I was able to fulfill my purpose to help others live healthy, strong lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Kids
Kid Club Attendant (Former Employee), Mountlake Terrace, WAMay 12, 2014
A typical day at my job was to clock in and sit at the front desk until a child would come in. Sometimes it would take hours and other times they would come in right away. If they didn't come in right away I would sign the people in that wanted to work out, say hello, or have a nice day. I learned that working with kids is a lot of fun when you play – more... with them and join them on their imagination. I also learned that you can't be scared to talk to people. Management was good, he would always check in on his co-workers and he would become friends with the costumers. My co-workers were very nice people. At first, it was hard to communicate with other people because I am kind of shy. Now, I can talk to people just fine. The most enjoyable part of my job was playing and working with the kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy place to work
Children's Room Attendant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 8, 2014
Working at Fitness 19 you do get to workout for free. The people that you work with know alot about how to lose weight and gain muscle, and also how to eat healthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom to make schedule, although unprofessional atmosphere
Personal Trainer & Fitness Class Instructor (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 11, 2014
Pros: could come and go as i chose, do my own program design, teach classes.
Cons: professionalism of the facility in regards to the field of exercise science
Free to come and go as I chose as long as I hit financial monthly goals, however, have to work a lot of hours to make a lot of money.
Not as professional as I would've expected from a management standpoint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always on the phone, no commission sales job
General Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma cityFebruary 13, 2014
Good job for a high school or college student not a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible but competitive work enviroment with brand new state of the art equipment
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Huntington Beach, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, choice of clients, freedom of planning client's programs
Cons: no job security, a lot of work for low pay, communication, many management only actions needed when management is rarely around
A typical day at work would involve clocking in, greeting members and clients, signing paperwork per each session with each client, spending half an hour with my client pushing them towards their goal while using the plan which I had prepared for them the previous night. We work hard while having fun. I always prepare something new. I learned how to – more... efficiently plan a program for clients and how to connect with each client to learn how to make the session enjoyable. Most members had complaints with management, however he was always there when his employees needed him, even if he wasn't physically in the facility. The hardest part of my job would be gaining new clients and sales as well as maintaining communication between employees concerning client cancellations or the addition of new clients. I really enjoy my one on one time with my clients and at the end of my day when i get to sit down with my planner and schedule in my clients as well as planning my days around them while finishing the paperwork needed for their sessions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable sale experience
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJanuary 29, 2014
Enjoyed building new business relationships and exceeding sales quotas while providing an exceptional customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness 19
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: community fun loving to be around
Cons: leaving
-Train Clients and members to get to there goals
-Sell Personal Training
-Great Management good co-workers fun to be around great community
-500 personalities but I made it work
-Meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmoshere. Enjoyed the people..
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: workout for free
Cons: cancellations
-Independent contractor with flexible hours
-Trained approx. 6 clients per day 4-5 days per week
-Enjoyed meeting new people
-Hardest thing was getting clients to stick with program & nutrition plans.
-Very poor communication with management & staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great members
Kids Club Attendant/Front Desk (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: great members and kids
Cons: unclear job description
Once I got into work I would clock in and head back to the Kids Club. I would clean all the toys with disinfectant spray, organize the books, movies and vacuum the carpet. If there were no kids in the first hour, I would be sent to file papers in the office, clean the gym equipment or watch the front desk. My co-workers were great. I felt comfortable – more... working with them. Management was a little confusing. In staff meetings our manager would say one thing and our assistant manager would say something completely opposite. The hardest part was trying to figure out what management wanted me to do. They hired me to work the kids club, but told me to do jobs that two other people should be doing. When I was working the the Kids Club, the kids were great. I seldom had a child that had an issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Level Management Needs Improvement
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Rochester Hills, MIDecember 30, 2013
Pros: co-workers, members of the club
Cons: no benefits, long hours, only motivation is to not lose your job
Fitness 19 is a good company to have a part-time job with, but not any type of career. Upper management is full of empty promises. They do not focus on the longevity of the club, rather how much profit they can squeeze out that particular month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness 19
Front desk and sales (Former Employee), Kentwood, MIDecember 27, 2013
Pros: flexibility, and the customers
Cons: no benefits
This was a very laid back environment to work for. Unfortunately, it offered no benefits or compensation and was based only on your hourly salary. No over time was paid out, no holidays off, and the shifts were not stable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment, you were the heart of the business
Bookkeeper/Club Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 11, 2013
Pros: flexible, my own boss, hr break
Cons: no paid overtime even when working extra, no benifits, work holidays, no sick days, no vacation, no parties, not appreciated
I come in to my office and process all work from the previous day along with helping manage the staff and answering any questions they may have which is always very time consuming, you must be able to multitask and manage your time. If you missed a day of work, you would come to work the next day and have double the work. No one else can do your job – more... so job security was nice though it ment noone is there to cut the slack so you feel the pressure. I enjoy being able to do what i need to do at my own pace as long as I hit my deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confusing Place with Poor Communication
I Child Care Attendant (Former Employee), Lexington, KYDecember 7, 2013
Cons: management, communication
A typical day at work consists of opening kids room, greeting parents and children, supervising kids, keeping areas clean and sanitized.
Working here I learned to be a self starter and learn the routines and regulations on my own without instruction.
Management was very poor. I wasn't even sure of who was my Supervisor. On my first day I was put in – more... a room with the kids with no direction, I was not required a background, drug, or TB test to start.
My co-workers were quiet and most of them kept to themselves.
The hardest part of the job was learning where everything was and learning how to do everything without proper instruction.
The most enjoyable part was spending time and interacting with the kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and health environment
Team Leader/ Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 30, 2013
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: not enough hours
It a great place to work. If you love working out and want to start working at a gym start here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High opportunity for income!
Lead Sales Agent (Former Employee), Concord, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: opportunity for income
Cons: if you snooze you lose, not for the "walk-in" sales style. you have to go and get your paycheck.
Start-up company with a lot of small flaws but a good overall objective: provide a friendly, comfortable place for the community to stay healthy!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult to manage accounts due to complexity
Personal Trainer/ Account Manager (Former Employee), Lafayette, CONovember 6, 2013
Pros: accomidating schedule
Cons: not reliable amount of working hours
This is a good business, but to manage the accounts seemed complex and difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take with Caution
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Colorado SpringsOctober 29, 2013
Pros: self-employed
Cons: self-employed
As a personal trainer you are self-employed. Take caution and recognize the pitfalls of this precarious condition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness club
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Brooklyn Park, MNOctober 26, 2013
Pros: the cilents were great
Cons: the management staff didn't work as a team
Enjoyed working with the clients they were friendly and
also worked hard. The other trainer were more of a team.
The management staff wasn't understanding and also didn't work
as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you can afford to get fit.
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 14, 2013
Pros: great time flexibility, create own schedule, good pay based on training sessions, fun environment
Cons: work on weekends, minimum wage during hours worked that weren't with a client, no benefits
A typical day at work is coming in when you have an appointment scheduled with a client, working out with that client, scheduling the next appointment, and coming up with the work out program for the next time. During times that we are not with clients we are usually setting up assessments with potential clients, designing workout programs, or assisting – more... members of the gym with their own workouts. I have learned a lot about how to sell yourself to a client, how to connect with all ages of people on an emotional level, and how to improve my workouts so my clients may benefit even more. The management is probably the hardest part about this job. There can be a high level of unprofessionalism about this job that makes it hard on the employees. The other workers and trainers are wonderful. We have a great team that gets the job done and continually reach sales goals for the month. Lastly, the most enjoyable part of the job is having my clients tell me they are seeing the difference in their bodies and how happy and motivated they are to continue to strive for their goals. – less

1 2 3