Find companies:
FIVE GUYS BURGERS & FRIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

FIVE GUYS BURGERS & FRIES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, exciting setting
Cook (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: atmosphere is great
Morning food preperation. Lunch rush. Prep for evening. Evening Rush. Clean store, stow leftover product. Go Home! I learned time management, multitasking, customer service, hard work pays off at paytime. Managers in my experience... I had one awesome, two decent, and 4 unknown or poor in my year or so with the company. Coworkers were for the most part – more... great to work with. Hardest part of this job was keeping with the fast pace of a downtown Phoenix lunch rush. I enjoyed my coworkers, and the environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Food is never great
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Watchung, NJJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: low pay min wage
I didnt enjoy working for this company at all
My communication skills grew stronger
my co-workers were great mangment not so much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
General Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CA.January 17, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: some managers change timecards and take ot off, they don't follow the labor laws for breaks.
This company is a total joke, if customers actually knew what is behind the scenes. Upper management totally incompetent as well as corporate personnel and they think they can get away cheating employees and customers. Extremely expensive to eat there and big profits just to pay for big bonuses for upper management end greedy “executives” luxury expenses – more... while employees work their behinds.
In Virginia they have several undocumented immigrants working for several corporate stores. They should get audited and E-verify should be mandatory for them. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY is not worth the try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun exciting place
Store Associate (Current Employee), El Segundo, CADecember 6, 2013
i enjoy goin to work and my co-workers are fun and always wide awake
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Northridge, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch, promote from within
Cons: micromanagement
they do not care about their employees and do not give balanced shifts. never give raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management.
Shift leader (Former Employee), Kirkland, waNovember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: if you work mornings your lunch is right before they open.
Five guys has great food I loved the customers, loved the employees but I absolutely hated the general manager. He made every single girl there cry we had employes quitting all the time because he was just an a** hole I was a shift leader there and had to bite my tongue at least 3times a day only when he was working. They started with a new checking – more... company and continuously screwed up my checks three of them in a row and when I had enough of them not fixing it and was to put my two weeks notice in he was very angry said we would not use me for those two weeks and said everything you could think of to try to make me cry or feel angered all he did was reassure me that I no longer wanted to work there any more. He was not a kind man at work he spoke of pushing employees to break and quite so he wouldn't have to fire them and get unemployment. He did not like rules being broken when he broke them all himself, no employes together well he got one pregnant, no relatives, his daughter worked with us. I needed my pay stub for my new apartment he refused to give me a number and the store owners number to receive it from him I had to file a complaint to finally get what I was asking for I do not recommend anyone working here they pay you minimum wage for when you should receive much more for the work that you have to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five guys
Customer Service / Cashier (Former Employee), Killeen, TXNovember 5, 2013
Pros: good food and great customers
Cons: management
Typical day at five guys my first job the customers were the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great burgers
Fry Station Cook (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch's
Cons: short breaks
The workplace was so relaxing and welcoming for customers and also for employee's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and upbeat atmosphere
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Springfield, MOOctober 15, 2013
Overall Five Guys was a great place to work, the atmosphere was upbeat and it was fun to be at work. I learned a lot in regards to running a restaurant and tracking waste and usage. The management team was overall ok there were few things didn't like. The co workers were for the most part the best part of the job we had a day and night shift and we – more... had groups the clicked and just worked very well with each other. Hardest part of the job was probably getting everybody to always pull there weight and keep up pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive upbeat and fun environment
Crew (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: great envrionment, fun people
Cons: pay, breaks are rare besides required 30
Very fun company to work with the people there are awesome with great energy. managers are responsible yet fun. learned a lot about hard work and customer service. taught me a lot about job life and responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 1, 2013
Pros: free meal at break time, opportunity to move up
Cons: management is bad
I loved working here but management is all over the place in some stores. There are way too many figureheads. Too many people to answer to. And they point blame at whoever is an available target whether you did it or not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable workplace with great workers.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Glen Allen, VASeptember 29, 2013
Working as a cashier at Five Guys included delivering great customer service, keeping a smile on my face, answering phone calls, handling money, counting registers, counting the safe, prepping the store before opening, closing the store, and running small store errands. The management was very nice, but very strict which is great. My co-workers and – more... I had similar personalities. We are all upbeat and ready to work for the day. The hardest part about the job was carrying big sacks of potatoes from the front of the house, to the back. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people everyday and talking to the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Hamburg, PASeptember 7, 2013
Typical day at work would be cleaning the tables down making sure our surroundings are clean an respectable then setting up the condiments around the area as well. Making sure everything is stocked properly and that there is enough of everything. I learned better social skills an interacting with co-workers as well as customers. My most enjoyable part – more... of the job was when it is busy then it keeps us busy an on our feet moving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place, fast paste
Crew member (Former Employee), Novi, MIAugust 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: health care
Fast paste learned, be mutual with co workers. Have greeat communication skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Crew (Former Employee), Toms RiverAugust 14, 2013
i loved working there. The environment was good Staff was friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Cashier (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 11, 2013
Pros: decent shifts
Cons: poor management
Fast pace work environment, lots of customer service! Come to work, take orders, prep food, clean lobby, back kitchen, bathrooms, be friendly!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAD LOCATION TO WORK AT
BOH Cook (Current Employee), Lindell Blvd., St. Louis, MOJuly 11, 2013
Cons: free lunches cut, lost wages, bad management, bad hours, bad pay
-Lazy co-workers
-Manager does not hold meetings
-No one is made to read the employee handbook after being hired, therefore rules are not being followed
-Free lunches were taken so now some employees do fake call-ins
-Co-workers don't know how to work as a team
-Pay is terrible & we keep losing secret shopper money
-Co-workers come in with attitudes, – more... personal problems
-We have to "fight for our hours" but there is no competition when you are the hardest working employee & still only getting an average of 25hours/week
-No cameras in store to prove who is actually doing wrong
-Co-workers come in to work high
-Will quit as soon as I am hired somewhere else – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the kitchen at Five Guys
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 16, 2013
Pros: working in a restaurant you can eat all the food you want
Cons: most holidays had to be worked but i never had a problem with that
Open the store and check all the closers work from the night before check. make sure all funds are correct for the safe and all the cash drawers do all of he prep for the entire day as well as all the morning paperwork to get the day started also send reports of all this info to district manager. Then once the store is open oversee all duties be done – more... by the crew maintain corporate standards at all time while providing renown customer service to the guest in the restaurant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School and College students only
Cashier/Food Prep (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 20, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: advancement depends on manager, not you
Don't expect to make a career here. Most new hires last a month or so. Your entire work experience boils down to whether your manager believes you are a "team player" or not. Your performance has little to nothing to do with it. Sounds cliche'd. True regardless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Crew Member (Former Employee), Dothan, ALMay 10, 2013
Made great friends, enjoyed working there. Easy going management and staff.

1 2 3