Find companies:
FIVE GUYS BURGERS & FRIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

FIVE GUYS BURGERS & FRIES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical fast food chamber
Customer Service (Current Employee), Elk Grove, CAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers
I got to learn from a lot of different people and this was my first job so it definitely was a good experience just because it was my first and it molded me to be the hard worker that I am today. I worked with the night shift and the co-workers I worked with were always good guides for me to copy and learn from. I enjoyed the time I had there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Wilmington, DESeptember 21, 2014
Pros: free meal
Cons: you gain weight
This was my first job and it was a seasonal position. The food was great. The environment was fast paste and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uhhh, ok
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee), Odenton, MDSeptember 7, 2014
I mean this isn't my first time working at five guys. It's really disorganized at times and very frustrating because management tends to take sides.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very energetic environment
Cook (Former Employee), Toledo, OHAugust 20, 2014
It was great. Fun fast pace. There was always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Fast Food
Shift Leader/Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee), Pleasant Hill, CAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: 40 hours a week
Cons: no accountability among peers
Good Company, Good direction, hired young employees.
Managers were overbearing and lazy
The one who made me quit kept drinking on the job and cussing at us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being one of the Guys
General Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2014
Pros: free food, incentives, friendly work environment, easy work.
Cons: minimum wage, chemistry of crews
A fast paced job that is a step above normal fast food. It's service with a smile in the "better burger" industry that prides itself on serving quality food and demonstrating outstanding customer service. While the Five Guys does not advertise, they feel that the money should go back into the crew through awards and incentives. While this is a great – more... philosophy, through the years of my employment, that amount given back has dwindled. My concern in that aspect is that employee moral could start to decline, making Five Guys just another job to pay the bills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Cashier for Five Guys Burgers & Fries (Former Employee), Beavercreek, OHJuly 10, 2014
One of my favorite jobs, the environment was so inviting. Everyone was helpful and the work days seemed to go by in a blink of an eye.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), East Lansing, MIJune 11, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: location from where i lived
Great group of people to work with everyone got along and worked efficiently with one another, made it really fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Energetic
Assistnat Manager (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAApril 23, 2014
Pros: i loved going in everyday
Cons: very, very long hours with no personal time.
Every day was fun and a joy.
Upper Management needed some more trainging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Cashier and cook (Former Employee), Wheaton, ILFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: interacting with customers and co-workers
Cons: getting burns and little cuts frequently
A typical day of work included mainly of taking orders and cooking the food. For me, I closed the store on a regular basis so I helped clean up the store. From working here I learned great customer service skills and an improved sense of urgency. My management was great, I had a great relationship with them. By the end of my employment there, I could – more... honestly say I created a friendship with some of my managers. I also developed some great friendships with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was cleaning some of the heavy equipment, because I had to make sure it was cleaned adequately while trying to lift it. Some of the equipment I would have to lift was about 40 lbs. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to be around great people and interact with customers. Every day was different, which added to the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, exciting setting
Cook (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: atmosphere is great
Morning food preperation. Lunch rush. Prep for evening. Evening Rush. Clean store, stow leftover product. Go Home! I learned time management, multitasking, customer service, hard work pays off at paytime. Managers in my experience... I had one awesome, two decent, and 4 unknown or poor in my year or so with the company. Coworkers were for the most part – more... great to work with. Hardest part of this job was keeping with the fast pace of a downtown Phoenix lunch rush. I enjoyed my coworkers, and the environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Food is never great
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Watchung, NJJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: low pay min wage
I didnt enjoy working for this company at all
My communication skills grew stronger
my co-workers were great mangment not so much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
General Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CA.January 17, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: some managers change timecards and take ot off, they don't follow the labor laws for breaks.
This company is a total joke, if customers actually knew what is behind the scenes. Upper management totally incompetent as well as corporate personnel and they think they can get away cheating employees and customers. Extremely expensive to eat there and big profits just to pay for big bonuses for upper management end greedy “executives” luxury expenses – more... while employees work their behinds.
In Virginia they have several undocumented immigrants working for several corporate stores. They should get audited and E-verify should be mandatory for them. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY is not worth the try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun exciting place
Store Associate (Current Employee), El Segundo, CADecember 6, 2013
i enjoy goin to work and my co-workers are fun and always wide awake
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Northridge, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch, promote from within
Cons: micromanagement
they do not care about their employees and do not give balanced shifts. never give raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management.
Shift leader (Former Employee), Kirkland, waNovember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: if you work mornings your lunch is right before they open.
Five guys has great food I loved the customers, loved the employees but I absolutely hated the general manager. He made every single girl there cry we had employes quitting all the time because he was just an a** hole I was a shift leader there and had to bite my tongue at least 3times a day only when he was working. They started with a new checking – more... company and continuously screwed up my checks three of them in a row and when I had enough of them not fixing it and was to put my two weeks notice in he was very angry said we would not use me for those two weeks and said everything you could think of to try to make me cry or feel angered all he did was reassure me that I no longer wanted to work there any more. He was not a kind man at work he spoke of pushing employees to break and quite so he wouldn't have to fire them and get unemployment. He did not like rules being broken when he broke them all himself, no employes together well he got one pregnant, no relatives, his daughter worked with us. I needed my pay stub for my new apartment he refused to give me a number and the store owners number to receive it from him I had to file a complaint to finally get what I was asking for I do not recommend anyone working here they pay you minimum wage for when you should receive much more for the work that you have to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five guys
Customer Service / Cashier (Former Employee), Killeen, TXNovember 5, 2013
Pros: good food and great customers
Cons: management
Typical day at five guys my first job the customers were the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great burgers
Fry Station Cook (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch's
Cons: short breaks
The workplace was so relaxing and welcoming for customers and also for employee's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and upbeat atmosphere
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Springfield, MOOctober 15, 2013
Overall Five Guys was a great place to work, the atmosphere was upbeat and it was fun to be at work. I learned a lot in regards to running a restaurant and tracking waste and usage. The management team was overall ok there were few things didn't like. The co workers were for the most part the best part of the job we had a day and night shift and we – more... had groups the clicked and just worked very well with each other. Hardest part of the job was probably getting everybody to always pull there weight and keep up pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive upbeat and fun environment
Crew (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: great envrionment, fun people
Cons: pay, breaks are rare besides required 30
Very fun company to work with the people there are awesome with great energy. managers are responsible yet fun. learned a lot about hard work and customer service. taught me a lot about job life and responsibility.

1 2 3