Find companies:
Five Guys Burgers and Fries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
191 reviews

Five Guys Burgers and Fries Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok moving on
Assistant Manager/Acting General Manager (Former Employee), saratoga springs, new yorkAugust 8, 2014
Faced paced fun environment, moving on, I learned very much about the business world and management requirements. Hardest part of job is keeping everyone satisfied to the fullest extent. The most enjoyable part of my job was the bonus money and food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and all, but...
Cashier (Former Employee), Brunswick, MEAugust 4, 2014
Pros: free on-shift meal, (usually) regular breaks
Cons: not enough advancement opportunity
I liked this job overall, but found some of my co-workers to be unreliable or do things halfway. I learned how to be efficient, and well organized, also how to lead a team of cashiers and strive to have the best store franchise-wide. Goal setting and time management were key. The most enjoyable was customer interaction. 98% of our customers loved the – more... high energy environment, and we could really get into talking to them while we were taking their order or assembling their meal (there were a few who loved the food, but hated the high energy restaurant, but that's what the company is about). There wasn't really a "hard part", just things that weren't my favorite (like cleaning bathrooms, windows, etc.), but were in my job description, so they were necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Crew Member (Former Employee), Hayward, CAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: having outgoing co workers, energetic and fun atmosphere
Cons: immaturity, felt a little bit like high school all over again
Clock-in, supervisor or manager tells you want to do for the day. Simple task such as cooking burgers, hot dogs, fries etc. Taking orders...

It is a very fast paced job when busy, it is fun, but mainly working with people ages 17-21. Some employees tend to be immature. Really loud and energetic.

Overall a simple job, cleaning, cooking, taking orders.

At – more... the end of it all I felt that the crew was like a second family for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Motivated and Strong Leader
Director of Operations (Former Employee), MichiganJuly 29, 2014
Pros: traveling, ability to make decisions that shaped the company, never a dull day
A typical day consist of many operations. Any given day could bring 100 different scenarios. Typically, a morning phone call to all the District Managers in the company to follow up with any issues that may have not been resolved. Visit a store and its staff and do a general walk through of the store. On average 50-60 phone calls a day would be answered – more... ranging from raise requests to repair requests for a store. Generally the day would finish with reviewing schedules, end of the day phone call with the District Managers for the company.

I learned many things in my position. Patience, tolerance, leadership, fairness, and organization to name a few things. From the beginning, I learned that if my day wasn't organized then I would have a chance to get through it. In my position I learned that I had to rely on the success of others and that the success of the company would come directly from the work I did in the stores. Training was a constant that had to be accomplished in 22 stores simultaneously, a feat that could not be done by one person alone. Building a team of managers that could fit the bill was one of the first goals to accomplish.

My team can handle any situation that arises. They are hard working , up beat, intelligent men and women. The culture that they work in requires all of those traits, and they could motivate anyone without question. My co workers are the type of people that you would find hanging out on the weekends together or going to a bowling alley to hang out. They truly are the definition of a team.

The hardest part of my job would be keeping my self contained and not running out to fix every problem myself. The hours, the travel and the phone calls never could bother me, but knowing that I could fix something very easily that another was going to struggle with, made my job difficult. This is where my patience came in. Being able to train some one to fix their own issues is very rewarding, but the natural reaction to fix the issue was always there.

The most enjoyable part of my job centered around watching others succeed under my watch. I promoted a lot of employees and gave them opportunities to succeed. Preparing an individual who was making minimum wage to take over a store making an honest salary is always going to be my favorite task for any company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun day at work
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Cedar Hill, TXJuly 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: healthcare
I learned many new things and was able to meet a lot of new people. Also seeing my customers happy when they ate their food I fixed for them was a great feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Cook (Former Employee), Bartlett, TNJuly 21, 2014
Pros: youthful and vibrant atmosphere
Cons: short breaks
Loved this job
Learned how to work with others in a fast paced environment
Typical day consisted of preparing food for the day, selling perfectly cooked burgers, and maintaining employee enthusiasm
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five Guys Five Teams
Kitchen Manager (Current Employee), Long Beach, NYJuly 19, 2014
Pros: one free employee meal per day
Keeping the store clean
washing dishes
cleaning lobby and seating customers
cleaning bathrooms restocking toilet paper and paper towels
sweeping outside the restaurant
windex windows
bleaching bathrooms
cooking fries
grilling burgers
checking and counting money in the safe every night before store close
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and patience-required job, can be fun but mostly very busy.
Red Shirt employee (Current Employee), Lodi, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free food during breaks, flexible hours
Cons: low pay, low hours
A typical day at work would be to clock in and start cooking! It all depends on what position I am assigned that day. If I am assigned buns then I receive the tickets and prepare the buns how the customer would like them. If I am assigned to grill then I would estimate how many patties to put on the grill then I would patiently watch them and cook them – more... how ordered. If I am put on french fries then I pre-cook, drain then final cook french fries and put them in the right sized cups. If i am person of service then I take orders, handle money transactions or credit cards and in my free time, I would go clean the lobby or do dishes. I have learned how to work fast and effectively, how to guestimate, how to handle money and cash registers and overall, learned how to please customers. The management is very nice and outgoing, easy to talk to but hard to convince. My co-workers are goofballs but very hard workers. Every one takes their job VERY seriously. The hardest part about the job is closing. It's very time consuming and take a lot of effort and multi-tasking. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the customers and making them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Huntsville, AlabamaJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Always had something to do
I learned a bit about customer service and how to operate a cash register
the coworkers were friendly
the hardest part of the job was cleaning, finishing the chores list that had to be completed by the end of the week
i liked my lunch breaks, the food there is awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Asst. General Manager (Former Employee), Fullerton, CAJune 30, 2014
Great place to work. Everyone is willing to teach as long as you are willing to learn. Great working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Shift Manager (Current Employee), South Euclid, OHJune 25, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: no healthcare, or any insurance for that matter and no set schedules, o
The hardest part of the job is maintaining high energy to support your crew, especially through busy times. My co workers are wonderful and full of spirit. The most enjoyable part of my job is either helping a crew member get certified as an "E" in their station...They just GLOW! and the customers, Especially those who have never been to the store before. – more... I have had two members of senior management I feel have really pushed me to better myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am a manager in the restaurant business ready to work.
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Evanston, ILJune 14, 2014
Pros: can work in fast pace environments, on time, works well with others.
i am a upbeat soul that loves to have fun when im working in any industry. I can multitask really well. and knows my information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace with the potential to be fun loving depending on the staff.
Cashier, Cook (Current Employee), Grand Blanc MIJune 8, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no health care no full time
A typical day at work is generally fast paced and resolves around the customers satisfaction. As a cashier, it is my duty to be the face of the company. A warm smile, friendly greeting, and a great sense of humor is generally all it takes to make a great first impression.
The most important thing I've learned here is that you don't have to be cheesy – more... to have a friendly environment for the customers to enjoy. this place is big on customer service. If there is a great energy on the line the customers feel more important.
The management at Five Guys seems pretty fair. If you do your job well, and give it your best, they appreciate the work you do. They make sure to always tell you thank you upon your departure at the end of your shift.
Most of the employees that are hired are required to have plenty of energy. It is encouraged to be loud and often we are found singing on the line.
The hardest part of the job would be keeping up with the fast pace. If you can keep up with the fast pace then you're set.
I feel that the most enjoyable part of the job would be being able to joke around with the customers. It is encouraged to give them a very personal and pleasant experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent minimum wage job with poor management
Crew Member (Former Employee), Warren, MichiganJune 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches, decent people to work with, not including management
Cons: management could not work together, schedules changed without warning
I learned how to run the fryer, grill, register, and prep areas fairly fast.
some of the co-workers were decent to work with while the others were not very hospitable towards other co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food and great co workers Fn work enviroment
Team Leader, Cook, Quality Control and Inventory (Former Employee), White Marsh, MDMay 29, 2014
Pros: great food wokring there it free!, fun enviroment, fast pace sometimes
Cons: coming home from work and forgetting to take off your shoes and track gease on your carpet
love working there. management recognize my abilities and skills and promoted me in a year and a half. Loved my co workers. The food is amazing and companies is expanding everywhere

Zagat rated!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A most unique Franchise operation and culture
General Manager (Current Employee), Brunswick, MEMay 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch, potential for bonuses and recognition
Cons: subjective nature of the bonus program and how it is implemented.
This is perhaps the most intersting and exciting food franchise I have ever had the pleasure of working for/experiencing. As a Manager, you are not bonused on Food or Labor Costs, rather, on the way your location operates on a daily basis using the system and techinques taught by Five Guys Corporation. The energy level is expected to be high and positive – more... and when it is (and when the entire staff are doing their jobs correctly), you get bonused for your efforts. The products are fresh, never frozen and the focus on quality is unparalleled in the quick service industry. Keeping staff members positive and focused on their jobs is much easier as they can see the financial gain for their efforts with the bonuses they earn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not always enough hours.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Hilliard, OHMay 28, 2014
Pros: good music, fun co-workers
Cons: fast pace
Five Guys was perhaps my favorite place of all to work. I loved it there, and the only complaint I have is that I wish it was just a little bit slower paced during a rush and faster pace during down time.

I love just about everything about Five Guys from the food to the music playing on the radio. Sure some of the manager(s) weren't so great but the – more... higher ups were definitely efficient when it came to making sure they were doing their job. If it weren't for the fact that I really don't want to work in the food industry again I would probably go back to Five Guys only next time I'd need more hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging to find any good.
Crew Member (Former Employee), Rockford, ILMay 21, 2014
Pros: free food, close bond with crew, simple, repetitive
Cons: smell of grease after work, pay, too much drama
Job satisfaction depends entirely on the crew you work with. If the people and management are dull or abrasive or uneducated, look elsewhere. Every task is easily mastered in the first 2 months but then the in-fighting and drama start. It's much like a high school environment. I was very close with all managers for 3 years (even being brought back after – more... being fired for nine months) and then new owners arrived. These new owners thought they knew the best way to run things and myself and others greatly disagreed (most of us with more experience than these new owners). There were literal fist-fights and broken hearts from everyone either falling in love or hating each other. It was a very intense work environment for the product we served. I was promised a management position twice and was passed up both times, leading to my quitting in the middle of a shift one night. It was the wrong thing to do, but the company should have repaid my hard work and experience ahead of others with less experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced but fun place to work.
Crew Member (Former Employee), Brooksville, FLMay 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: very short breaks
A typical day at Five Guys meant clocking in at 8am, prepping food for the entire day, and working at a fast pace to knock out customer orders. Management was great, I enjoyed being part of a hard working team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced environment
Manager/ Shift Leader (Former Employee), Enfield, CTMay 16, 2014
Pros: free meal during shift
Cons: manager communication
Fast paced work environment, learned to move quickly and be able to adapt to different paces during different times of the day. Learned to work many different positions throughout shift.

1 2 3 4 5