Five Guys Employee Reviews

Found 1,258 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at first
SHIFT MANAGER/TRAINER/CREW (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 17, 2017
It was a good job. The pay for work could be better. There is room for advancement but you will not go past shift manager. Unless you are a favorite for the managers, you will not go anywhere.
Pros
Occasional tips
Cons
Breaks were not guaranteed. Too much work for minimum pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, TXFebruary 15, 2017
Five Guys was my first job, and in my opinion, the best. I absolutely loved everyone there. At Five Guys, we all knew how to flow with each other. No matter how crazy busy we got, we were still able to sling out burgers and Hot Dogs without a thought.
Pros
free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun at first.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Dawsonville, GAFebruary 15, 2017
It was fun working there the first year I worked there. I worked with a few friends. Then we changed general managers a few times. In the end the management made it a hard place to work. Never wanting to do things themselves and always finding excuses to sit in their back room to play on their phones. They would constantly throw rumors around about other workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  West Lebanon, NHFebruary 15, 2017
A typical work day flows pretty smoothly. The management team that is there is easy to approach. It is encouraged to engage with the guests and to have fun while at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general labor
Cook (Former Employee) –  West Springfield, MAFebruary 14, 2017
general labor, cutting wood, helping on construction sites for the day, sweeping, making sure that everything is clean up and ready for the next crew.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Crew Member/Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIFebruary 14, 2017
I absolutely loved working at Five Guy's. There is always room for people to advance it seems. They pay well and the managers treat the employees well
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humorous
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAFebruary 13, 2017
It was great but certain managers sat on their phones or in the bathroom while crew members ran operations. Sometimes, there would only be On crew Member (me) on the line with customers waitin
Pros
Free food
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs
Lobby girl (Former Employee) –  Aiken scFebruary 13, 2017
Everything at five guys was great, from the bathrooms to the customers to the cleaning and organization. I loved the cleanliness, how fresh all the food was. The customers and the other employees were amazing
Pros
Great customers and work experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work envoirment and atmosphere
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 12, 2017
Working and managing the store and shift was a changelle for me. And I like a challenge. I could fun fries grill and dressing table by myself at the same time.
Pros
The pay was good. Free meal a day. Over time if i wanted it
Cons
Having to wear long sleeve under armor under uniform shirt to cover arm tattoos
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a first job its fine
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bay Shore, NYFebruary 11, 2017
i liked the people i worked with but it was way too much work for the amount of money i was earning .. it wasn't my first job but it does take a lot more work .. if your in school still your not allowed to leave until the whole crew is done which sucks because it could be 10:40 or 12 ...
Pros
free lunch
Cons
unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt reccomend
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAFebruary 10, 2017
Would recommend for high school students looking for a first job. Flexible schedules and free lunches were the pros for this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun work place making sure the customer is always happy
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Millburn, NJFebruary 10, 2017
A lot of energy to show the customers that we enjoy making their food giving them actually what they asked for & more . Making sure that they leave with a smile on their faces
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Everyone didn't have the same energy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Fast Food Experience
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILFebruary 9, 2017
Had a lot of people coming and going. Simple menu and easy to keep up with. Secret shoppers kept good incentive for employees to try there best and give motivation.
Pros
Free meal when working
Cons
Dinner rush
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 9, 2017
Fun place to work where learning is required, management is efficient. It's a bit difficult when it gets busy but the employees are great. Hardest part of the job is the extensive cleaning and the fry station. The pay isn't that great, but the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that the guests are getting served in a timely manner and the association with the employees makes it fun.
Pros
Free lunch, positive and upbeat environment
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five Guys
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 8, 2017
Five guys is a very welcoming environment. They serve fresh foods and have many customers and regular throughout the day.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to start as a young teen
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  East Hanover, NJFebruary 8, 2017
best enjoyable part of working is the employees and employers.
and also serving people that never had or eaten at five guys so the experience serving them for the first time feels good serving the people the worlds greatest food burgers and frie.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
shorts breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Clean
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCFebruary 8, 2017
Worked at 5 guys years ago as my first job, great place to start but not stay. I invested 3 years (to me a long time) with no referrals or problems of any kinds, to one day a female manager fired me without any specific reason or complaints. If that's how you want a company to treat you after 3 years this may be the job for you...

Not to mention they have illegals working for them so normal citizens are expendable
Pros
Free food
Cons
Pay, no loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad experience
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 7, 2017
Five Guys burgers and fries wasn't that much of a good of an experience for me. Its was uncomfortable for me and theirs was no fair in the treatment towards employee. Nor do they show you any respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great tips
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLFebruary 7, 2017
Working there was alright. There was barely co workers there. I learned alot more things there and new type of people. But with any job i will give great customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Portage, INFebruary 7, 2017
Great people to work for. The culture and atmosphere is one of the best I have ever experienced. Some rocky parts of management, but overall I would have to say I genuinely enjoyed working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,443 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7