Find companies:
Five Guys
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

Five Guys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
five guys review
Cashier (Former Employee), florence, scAugust 6, 2014
Pros: free food, met new people
Cons: didnt get a break when i worked 4 hours.
typical day at work taking peoples orders and cleaning the bathroom.
my co-workers were awesome got along with them. they have great food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and fast past type work
Crew (Current Employee), Gainesville, GAAugust 5, 2014
A typical work day would be to come in, find out where you will be working that day. As in working in the kitchen or out in the dinning room. While working there you learn to work as a team, for you need everyone to work together to make sure everything is working smoothly. You need to talk to your crew and also be engaged with the costumers. The hardest – more... part of the job is sometimes the high volume of people that come in at one time but when that happens we just work hard to get the job done. The most enjoyable part of the job is working as a team. You make friends with the people you work with that last even after you or they leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always had a fun shift and always had great music didn't even feel like work
Crew Member (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: minimum wage, not enough hours
Awesome people, sound and work it's great for a first job. being a morning crew member was the best you got to prep all the food and by the time the big rush comes it was almost time for you to go home. It's very fast pace this job is not for slower people and it's always about the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food and staff
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: excellent food, and excellent service
To use my managerial, problem-solving, and communication skills in a customer service
environment that offers exposure to training and future advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at
supervisor (Current Employee), Amityville, NY 11701July 22, 2014
I learned how to work with people and what it means to have a great customer service experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJuly 21, 2014
learning how to make my favor food was very fun the my coworkers helped me understand the job better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful!
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Montgomery, AlJuly 21, 2014
Great atmosphere, encouraging management, and advancement was always presented to hard honest workers. Very Fair, Very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hard workers
Lobbyist (Former Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches, free soda
Cons: little work for little pay and too long of a distance.
Come in get a drink, go get ready, clock in, see what needs done, go on break when boss tells me to, go back to work, then see what needs done, then clock out, and wait for ride. I learned that there are friendly people and over friendly people. Very fun bosses and hard workers. Very friendly, fun, and hard workers. The crowds and the messes. Interacting – more... with the customers seeing a smile on their face before they leave makes me fell like I'd accomplished my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Enviornment to Work in
Crew Member (Former Employee), 2842 Council Tree Ave #173July 18, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: n/a
I would arrive at Five Guys at 3:00pm. Typically I switched off, they liked our team to work in all areas of the kitchen. My position would normally be on Fry Corner, or working at the front as a cashier. During my time at five guys I learned the importance of teamwork. It was a friendly work environment, people were happy and supportive of everyone – more... in the crew. The Hardest Part of the job was making the Burgers I typically wasn't on the line. The most enjoyable part of the job was working as a cashier, and making the fries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment and very clean
Crew (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
I love working at five guys the people are great and the customers are even better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never got bored business was always busy.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: not boring
Cons: working over nights when i had to go to school.
The resurant was located on South beach which made it a fun place to work. The team member were helpful. The job required late night work which was not always a good thing when I had school teh next morning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Energetic
Manager/ Store leader/ Line worker (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free meals, fun work environment
Cons: no smoke breaks, tattoos must be covered, bonus cuts
Five guys was always a fun place to be, even on the nights where we where in the weeds the way the team picked each other up always made things go easier. A normal day as a shift leader i would come in and check to see that i was set up for success by going over my check list. I would count prep, check to make sure everything NCOO (Neat, Clean, Organized, – more... Operational) from the previous shift. Any problems that needed fixed i would report to the AM manager. After that i would check my "battle plan" Who i had on shift, Sales for the day, and what station i wanted each team member to work that day, if i wanted to train someone ext. ext. After i was set up i would count the registers from the AM, settle the drawers make a deposit, and count the safe. After all the money was organized i would go on the line so the AM manager could write their daily shift report.Then my crew for the night ( who wasn't there already) would come in and i would tell them the goals for the night, and give them a brief of the night. Once things got settled we would all get to work until 8 pm, and i would start to run breaks. Then at 10 i would lock the store, and we would all close the store. After i counted the PM registers, and wrote my night report i would check the store to make sure it was a perfect close. After i decided we where good enough to get an audit (We had quarterly random Steritech audit) in the am I would then turn the lights off set the alarm, then lock the doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work here again
Crew (Former Employee), Joplin, MOJuly 7, 2014
Your hours are never the same, you never get off in time and the managers don't treat you well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal part time employment
Crew Member (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedule
Cons: low pay, no insurance
Preparing all food orders accurately and in a timely manner. Constant cleaning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive, fast pace environment with great customers and crew members
Customer Service (Former Employee), 4025 Richmond Road, Warrensville Heights OH 44122June 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: breaks, worked 21 days straight
A typical day at work would be, stocking, taking orders, cleaning, helping my crew member's out, and checking on the customers making sure there satisfied .
I learned how to get people to buy thing, so sales. I learned how to still have a smile on my face and give great customer service even with a mean customer.
The management is ok, crew members don't – more... have any benefits, just the managers.
There wasn't anything hard about the job.
The most enjoyable thing about the job would have to be the crew members, we were all like a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great communication with leadership.
Shift Manager (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, MAJune 17, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: inconsistent work schedule, no set hours
I had a great working relationship with the owner of the franchise and the district managers. I learned a great deal from the leadership which helped me develop excellent skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Speedy and fast
Grill Cook (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALJune 16, 2014
Typical day of work consist of getting orders out within seven minutes. The co-workers are pretty cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not fun at all.
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 16, 2014
This job is ful of mess and trouble. i leard how to cook and to interact with the customers. My management doesn't do there jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage a crew while upholding high standards
Manager (Current Employee), Chandler, AZJune 13, 2014
Pros: 30min breaks free lunch
Cons: no benefits, underpaid
I would come in count all the money in the store, prep every item on our menu, do deep cleaning projects. Provide outstanding customer service and quality control while cooking the product and helping crew members learn and control their area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Durham, NCMay 29, 2014
Pros: fast paced, fun co-workers, team oriented
Cons: no benefits unless general manager or above, long nights
Everything at Five Guys is done by human hand, which makes the job fun and also gives the employee a sense of ownership, pride and responsibility. As long as everyone does their part, Five Guys is a fun and easy going place to be employed.