Find companies:
Five Guys
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
180 reviews

Five Guys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Assistant managers and co workers
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee), Washington D.CApril 1, 2014
Never got a fair chance to advance in the company. Always stuck on the same job. Managers making you do other task while busying doing others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resturant
Manager (Former Employee), Milwaukeee, WIMarch 28, 2014
Its a fast paced environment and it pays very little. I was little over worke.d Howover it was my first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
SHIFT LEADER (Former Employee), GAMarch 26, 2014
Good place to work at for students who are still in school, fun place to work at cause of your co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management, great co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free food, great co-workers
Cons: terrible management, no discounts when off the clock
What i have learned is that the management you work under defines your job, but your coworkers are what make you stay !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced with customer service being first in mind
Shift Manager/Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Odessa, TXMarch 23, 2014
Pros: free meal, schedule flexibility, easy, positive management
Cons: no guaranteed breaks, busy on weekends
A work day at Five Guys varies depending on what shift you work. There are three different shifts available.
Morning Crew:
Those working morning crew should expect to come at either 8:00am or 9:00am to do prep work. Everything is prepped for that day so how much is needed to be done varies. Typically, a gray shirt (manager) will cook bacon, slice tomatoes, – more... shred lettuce, and prep other produce while red shirts (crew members) roll meat. The meat is raw meat so don't expect precooked patties. The store opens at 11:00am which gives a two to three hour time period to get prep done. Usually four to six people prep and it is possible to get prep done by 10:30am so everyone have enjoy a break and their employee meal.
Midshift:
Those working a Midshift usually work from 11:00am to either 6:00pm or 7:00pm. You do not open, you do not close, you work the hours the store is open and serving customers. There are five different stations that everyone is trained to work. P.O.S., B.O.H., Sets, Fries and Expo, or Grill. Each station coincides with each other, so if you take the time and effort to learn each station it will be easier to work each station. Midshifts get a break during slow times(2:00pm to 3:00pm), if available.
NIght Crew:
Those working night crew come in anywhere from 3:00pm to 6:00pm depending on availability and leave at either 10:00pm or close. Closers have four stations they can close. Grill, fryers, lobby, or B.O.H., with a manager counting tills and handling the money. There are usually four to five closers depending on how many red shirts and gray shirts are scheduled to close. Finished closing time depends on how much preclose was able to get done and how quickly and efficiently each person closes their station. The latest out time is 11:45pm on extremely busy nights, the usual expected out time is 11:15pm
Working at Five Guys teaches you customer service. The customer must always come first. It also teaches you communication and food service skills. It is fairly easy and is a good first job.
Management consists of well trained individuals including a GM with much experience in the customer service based field.
Enjoy great co-workers who can usually put a smile on your face even when its the most difficult time of the shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun place to work at
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Stoneham, MAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free drinks and meal
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at five guys was fast paced but friendly environment. We had very few complaints from customers and when there were complaints it was due to order mess up due to the cook not paying attention and goofing off. Management barely helped out and sat in back watching us on camera but kept everyone under control. Their was a lot of sexual harassment – more... from the male co-workers and the female co-workers would complain to each other they were to scared to tell management because they were scared to lose their jobs. i learned to use cash register. The hardest part about my job was answering phones but once i get used to it i don't stutter as much. The easiest part about my job was taking orders and callign them back to the cook. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very demanding Job
TEAM LEADER (Former Employee), Easton, PAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: poor leadership within
I worked extremely hard for this company with my goal set as manager. There was clearly a personality conflict between my general manager and myself. I went above and beyond for her but nothing was going to be enough. I truly felt she concidered me a threat to her own job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with amazing atmosphere and great work envirement
Grill Cook/ food prep (Former Employee), Cape Coral, FLMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere. free food. amazing management. great possibilities for advancement.
A typical day is amazing for anybody. Great atmosphere and the people are amazing. Great hours with time off and a free meal everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable
Crew Member (Current Employee), Temple, PAMarch 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Fast paced but very fun, very good experience. Great work atmospehere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
General Manager (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 8, 2014
Great stepping stone into the world of corporate management. Wonderful to meet so many people who were all so passionate about the high quality product they were walking out the door with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Grill Attendant (Former Employee), Denville, NJMarch 5, 2014
Five Guys was a good job but they did not hire accordingly and often work was affected by the lack of hard workers that were hired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic workplace.
Shift Manager (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches, secret shopper bonuses
Cons: no healthcare or benefits
The work environment and co workers are great. You become like a family when you work together. This creates a fun work environment for me. I've learned how to communicate more effectively with customers and keep eye contact with them. My manager is good at is job. I am a shift manager myself so i delegate and train employees at work as well. The hardest – more... part of the job would be throwing away extra food products. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the fact that i can communicate and interact with people all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace where you can be loud and have a good time while working.
Shift Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch and 30 minute breaks promptly.
Cons: accountable for others mistakes.
Everyday consisted of making burgers and fries while maintaining Five Guys culture and keeping up the place. Making sure to follow food and cleanliness procedures. Management was fair in giving hours and controlling the environment. Co-workers were easy to work with and really worked as a team to make sure the work load of the day wasn't to difficult. – more... The hardest part of the job is being able to close the store to a certain cleanliness and having to be able to check on everyone. Doing a walkthrough and having to redo anything that might have been missed, with a specific timeline to get out at night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place great co-workers
Line cook (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short break. part ime
we would make food using an assembly line. we all had to learn our roles and keep up with the pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced and Friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: working with greasy food
Would come in early every day to help out if they were busy and needed help but if no help was needed I would wait till I had to clock on. I learned how to Coordinate a team when no manager was around. The co-workers were very quick to pick up on things and all were hard workers. The hardest part of the day was dealing with the greasy food. The most – more... enjoyable part was making the customers satisfied and getting complements from customers and the managers every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), De Witt, NYFebruary 18, 2014
Upper management at this company is very unprofessional. I enjoyed working with the crew members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place
Crew Member (Former Employee), Alcoa, TNFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: pay, customers, management
Cons: owner
I loved my job, people were nice got along with everyone and pay was great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work, Fast work and Good team
LINE COOK (Former Employee), Brookfield, WIFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: long break, free meals only
Cons: many people quit and fired people then hired people
it's simple daily make burger and fries, prep before ready for the open.

Myself management skills do grill burger, very quick and follow the temp every two hours. I report the temp, make sure everything is safety foods.

Our co-worker depend mood on day, not willful help other person need to help to be a prep or do to finish things.

My most hardest – more... part of the job is when noon time were really very busy and if burger are gone then make quickly. that most part hard for me as do make finish thing.

My most enjoyable part of the job is when dunning at night time and our co-workers chat talk, make of fun thing and enjoy as such. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place great people and fun environment
Crew Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: free food, always scheduled breaks, management was great
Cons: needed full time to pay bills and schooling and couldn't get it.
My typical day would start with opening up in the morning, coming to prep all the food for the day that is needed, veggies, meat, clean tubs, open the line, prepare buns. I would also be there for all the lunch and dinner rushes of the day cooking, and dressing buns I did preform closing duties sometimes like sweeping all the peanuts at night ( you – more... could throw your shells on the ground ) This was my third job and i believe this job taught me the most, I didn't know what to expect when i started I was nervous as anyone would be but the people there did a great job at showing me how to do things and how to quickly do them soon I felt so confident in what i was doing i learned how to ring customers up extremely fast and memorize orders, names and how to do whatever was needed in the fastest way possible I use these skill everyday and am always grateful that this job taught me these things. Management was great always communicating to one another making sure everyone was on the same page at all times and always staying on top of what needed to be done. My co-workers here were amazing and so helpful I learned a lot from them they taught me a lot of what i use today with my jobs. Hardest part of my job was when I had to take orders and cook at the same time I would run take the order then run and cook get everything ready then another person would come in and repeat. Most enjoyable was to come into work and have a great day with my co-workers and get to help the nicest people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great workers
Cashier (Former Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 3, 2014
Great company to work for. Very reasonable to employees. Easy to advance within the company.