Fleetmaster Express Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere with the drive of a machine
Driver Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAOctober 6, 2015
Loved working for Fleetmaster for the family I have gained there and the education in a field that I never thought I would get to know.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Employee (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 27, 2015
Service Manager is horrible. The offices are full of ego's and attitude.
You have to go through a temp service before you are hired on and that is only if office personal like you.
Pros
nothing
Cons
working with ego's
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working relationship with management. Terrible pay
driver (Former Employee) –  columbus ohioAugust 9, 2015
The management teams are effective and try to keep drivers happy. The miles outside of regional division are inconsistent but regional lanes were steady. Home time was better than fair. If Fleetmaster would reward their driver with better pay(well below national average), it would be a great job.
Pros
good relations with management
Cons
pay. Eden dispatch team is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Truck Driver/Yard Jockey (Former Employee) –  Danville, VAMarch 29, 2015
I worked as a switcher for fleetmaster. I would switch trailers for Goodyear. Other than the schedule, which was Goodyears swing shift, the money was not good, and the work was worse.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work, Good company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 28, 2014
long hours, but plenty of work available. never a down time. Good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend unless you live in the VA or NC area
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYApril 3, 2014
I was hired under false pretenses and was not compensated as agreed upon at offer of employment.
Repeated 'promises' to staff and drivers broken, not followed through on.
Poor supervision of drivers in the Latham area led to loss of contracts Overall very poor work atmosphere.
Unless you live in the VA or NC area where the corporate offices are located I would not recommend working for this company.
Cons
benefits, management
Was this review helpful?Yes40No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok job and I work with great people.
Shuttle Driver (Current Employee) –  Springdale, ARJanuary 25, 2014
I work hard moving trailers around all day long but I go home at the end of my shift. I don't live out on the road. It s a nice local job and I work with a bunch of great people, which is part of the reason I am still there.
Pros
great people
Cons
dead end job and nowhere to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes33No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Inspector (Current Employee) –  Albany GaOctober 14, 2013
The work is manangeable but the oppurtunity for advancement is void
Was this review helpful?Yes22No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went from driving over the road to local shuttle driving for one of the largest distributor of aluminum cans in North America.
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Findlay, OHJuly 8, 2013
Work closely with Management from different warehouses. Coordinate with multiple warehouses for deliveries and trailer allotments. The hardest part of my position is working with the different positions as to where they would like to dock a trailer. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with fun and light hearted people in a very fast paced environment.
Pros
very good working relationship with supervisor.
Cons
benefits and compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No22
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a small company feel.
Director of Information Services (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VA 24012January 10, 2013
I spent 13 years at Fleetmaster Express, and the company has always maintained a family feel, from the founder to the owners. As the company continues to grow, you would be fortunate to be on board and part of this growing company.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No38

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture