Fleming Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
Warehouseman/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  North Kansas City, MONovember 24, 2016
fleming was a good place to work, spent 30 years there , met some good co workers. i learned a lot about the grocery business. sometimes i had to work many long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fast pace job and
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSJanuary 29, 2016
I only worked there for a season. It was a fast pace order puller job for major grocery store chains. I operated a reach truck and order picker and puller pallet jacks.
Pros
You finished your orders and pulled them correctly, you can go home, no sitting around on the clock.
Cons
benefits were high and employee turnover was high.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Job no gym needed
Order Selector/Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 1, 2016
pick orders for grocery stores on a timed basis..
we use drivable pallet jacks to complete the order
load tucks with ordered products.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Bad benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this company, good benefits, good people
Helpdesk/PC Support (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 10, 2015
Checked phone for calls that needed immediate attention as well as logs. Responded to all phone and logged calls, logged into phone system and took calls. When new people started had to do PC, laptop and printer installs as well as phones. Installed requested software and checked to make sure that all was completed for customer. Best people to work with and work for. Enjoyed working for the company. Great supervisors, managers and director. Love traveling from Lewisville ,Texas to Oklahoma.
Pros
Great working environment with good hours, benefits and great co-workers.
Cons
Top management closed Fleming and started another company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They just started an office in CA
Office Manger (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CADecember 10, 2012
I was an office manager, started taking care of all the problems from the deliveries, made an inventory about our product, order from what we need from the main office. I was working only with one sale person, almost never in the office. Main office was in Phonix and manager will come once in a while and hardly talked with me. The hardest to work by myself because the sales person never was there.
Pros
benefits
Cons
unsteady job, company was going broke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with the Santitzation Department
Santization Department (Former Employee) –  Phoenix,AzJuly 27, 2013
I did something different everyday. Sometimes I loaded empty pallets in trailers and separated good & bad pallets from one another. I cleaned the freezer area with a scrubbing machine or drove the cleaning machine to clean the floors in the warehouse. I worked with some nice people. I enjoyed it. It was not hard.
Pros
I worked for the Union. We had good benefits and the pay was Great.
Cons
Really no complants.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with little regard for advancement
Many (Former Employee) –  Oaks, PAApril 23, 2013
Good Benefits, Safe Work Environment, Little Room for hourly employee advancement
Pros
good benefit package
Cons
unions, no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pick and fill orders for company
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Superior, WIMarch 9, 2016
pick orders unload trucks load trucks for stores count inventory to keep good count of product on hand . put away trucks in each department produce meat and frozen food as well as dairy
Pros
great job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good co. to work at
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 27, 2013
enjoyed the job the whole time i worked there.learned invaluble info about the grocery industry
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
physicaly exausting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food supply company
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 10, 2012
This was a great company with great benefits unfortunatly it didn't work out with the hours I was offered to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intensive work place
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Superior, WISeptember 19, 2012
Very busy. Had to learn to muti task. Great associates to work with. Never enough time to get all things done.
Pros
trips
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever!!
Ad Manager for IGA SUPERTHRIFT (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma,July 27, 2015
One of the best jobs I ever had...wonderful people to work for, job training was excellent, and I learned so much about marketing, the retail grocery business, and the myriad facets of advertising beyond my previous background.

The hardest part of the job was making myself go home in the evening, because every project I worked on was so fascinating.

The people, especially my retailers, were the most enjoyable part of the job. Creating promotions and media plans that helped grow their business was incredibly satisfying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Product Supply Secretary (Former Employee) –  Garland, TxOctober 23, 2015
Company went out of business otherwise I would have loved to continue to work at Fleming. Great people and great management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience in Secretarial Skills
Accounting/Data Processing Secretary (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 5, 2014
Assist Controller and Chief Accountants, maintain and prepare spreadsheets & financial reports, personnel files, time cards, expense reports. Assist data entry & 10-key projects.

This was my first real job in the business world and everyone made it a fun and learning place to be.

Management and my co-workers were great and met a lot of friends along the way.

Hardest part of the job...None.

Enjoyable part of the job, my Managers and co-workers.
Pros
Got to help in Data Entry when things were slow for my Manager
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day was very structured. Data to review was ready at arrival.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 9, 2013
The day was busy from the time you entered the door and never stopped. It was good to see that volume of product moving in and out of our warehouse so regularly. The management team always made attempts to improve operations, that was nice.
Pros
great team to work with. all needs were met and a business environment.
Cons
union associate"s abusing the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with great people
Assistant Secretary-Telemarketer / Fleming Foods (Former Employee) –  Geneva, ALSeptember 8, 2012
Everyday contained something new. The people and the environment were extremely nice and fun. The management was not only a guidance but thoughtful and caring. The hardest part of the job was when I moved and had to leave. I enjoyed everything about the job.
Pros
gym in house, nice break room, overall a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a challenge
Credit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 10, 2012
With many office environments you have days that are so busy you feel like you'll never catch up yet also have days that are so slow you find work to do and take the opportunity to double check previous reports and work you've done or helping others with anything they may need help with.
Pros
a comfortable environment, ability to be a self starter, yet having co workers willing to help when needed.
Cons
it was hard leaving this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fun workplace
Order Filler (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 21, 2012
Busy from start to finish..but enjoyed management and great co-workers...learned how to dtive t- forklift....hardest part of job was learning how to build pallets without tipping over...loved every part of job..
Pros
meet hard working good people
Cons
not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Teamster (Former Employee) –  CAMarch 25, 2014
Great atmosphere ,hardworking fellow employees, very safe place to work . Everyone got along with management ,had some great golf tournaments.
Pros
great company to work for
Cons
they went bankrupt due to corprate miss management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace but good place to work
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 16, 2013
pulling orders
to work hard and fast with others
helpful
best of friends
getting started
going home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fleming Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0