Find companies:
Floor and Decor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Floor and Decor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a pleasant enviormentent
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 5, 2013
Pros: free food, nice people
Cons: on feet all day
I loved my coworkers and really enjoyed being a part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced & Friendly Atmosphere
Assistant Department Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 26, 2013
Floor & Decor can be a bit overwhelming. There are thousands upon thousands of square feet of product. You need to love working in customer service. You will be in constant contact with customers that need help making decisions, and they may have no idea what they are looking for. Management is very hands on in day to day operations in the store. They – more... are great about educating associates on the products in the store. They drive you to be excellent and encourage you to seek promotion within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Cashier (Former Employee), Highlands Ranch, CONovember 25, 2013
Pros: 1 hour lunch
Cons: poor assistance from co-workers, lack of management, frustrated customers
A very high-strung work environment. Stubborn Co-workers, lack of management. Paychecks not arrive on-time. The worst place I ever worked in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No personal life
Na (Former Employee), ArizonaOctober 28, 2013
Pros: a few good coworkers
Cons: management poor.
You will not have any privacy in this company. Managment will make any attempt to make your time there as miserable as possible. Managment will have other employees snoop on your facebook and find out what you do outside of work. Managment will bring drama into work. Oh and some how the GM knew what you did on your day off. Any women that talk to any – more... males are automaticly being watched to make sure you are not sleeping with them. Even tho two of the managers are dating and have been for years but that's not a issue. Anyone working on the floor will work their butts off for dirt pay and don't expect a thank you and be ready to be a manager cause the ones that are titled managers will be in the office eating lunch and will never deal with customer complaints or get off their butts ! GM will feed her pets but never any of the other staff. The only time you get free food is when other contractors buy it for you, the managers will come out of the office for that though. if you call for a manager you will get a reply what do you want .

Ask them why do you have such a big turn around on employees? They will turn it around on the floor people, everything that goes wrong in that place is your fault. A couple of accidents that should have been reported they turned their heads likr nothing happend.

Worse place ever to work! McDonalds is probably a better place to work and more room to move up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working warehouse
Warehouse associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Henderson, NVOctober 22, 2013
Pros: people, the benefits
Cons: management, no room to improve
A typical day at work was dealing with trucks delivering tile and loading up trucks. Along with dealing with customer pickups and loading their orders in their trucks/SUVs or trailers, when a spotter for the forklift was not available I have to use a pallet jack to load customer orders by hand lifting anywhere between 10 - 50 lbs. The one thing I learned – more... more was logistics which is fun to do. As far as management goes there some that did belong there and some that didn't because they didn't understand how a working warehouse is supposed to be ran. Some great co-workers and then you had some of your bad apples, that's just about almost everywhere though. Nothing was really hard except going in at 3am, the most thing I really enjoyed there was meeting new people a lot of customers liked along with the contractors due to me getting there orders out fast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best price in the south east region of Georgia for hard surface flooring
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAOctober 10, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: pay rate was minimal
Floor and Decor offers the best price for hard surface flooring, also, it has one of the best and biggest showrooms in the south east area of Georgia. Working for this company was enlightening and educational for not only prospective buyers but, also employees. The hours were flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place good people
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: low pay
A pretty good job. The pay leaves a little to be desired. Work/life balance is a plus and the people and culture is high spirited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE MANAGER (Current Employee), Smyrna, GASeptember 14, 2013
Very busy with many manual processes. I have learned a lot during the new system implementation. Great group of people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work here ever again!
anonymous (Former Employee), anonymous, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: loved my co-workers
Cons: poor managment
The store manager made this pace unbearable to work in. His poor customer service policies made it difficult to resolve customer issues and not make people irate. As long as your order went smoothly or your purchase was complete in one day you had a good experience, but if something goes wrong then customers won't be receiving good customer service. – more... Developing customer relationships was not promoted. Sales quotas were imposed on us without any benefits except for potentially being able to work more hours or to hire more people. The manager only looked at the bottom line and didn't care about his staff or the customers.

He also showed favoritism and promoted people that told him what he wanted to hear or did what he asked without question. I have worked in retail for over 20 years and have not seen such poor management as I did there. I left my previous job to work there because they paid me better, but other than that the experience was horrible.

The only thing that made me sad to leave was leaving the great group of people that worked as regular sales associates there, and a few good department managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with new challenges everyday
Wood Specialist (Current Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: great learning experience, nice coworkers, and good about giving days off when needed pending reasonable notice
Cons: unpredictable schedules, regularly held late - long past ending time
Overall, I enjoy working here. A typical day usually starts off with helping whatever customers I see. I get to find out what they're working on and then help them find what they need to accomplish their goals. I've learned a lot about wood and laminate floors as well as tile and stone. Generally people come in for a small item or just one project, – more... but I get to help them discover a whole new set of ideas. They want a floor, I can help them create an environment - floor, walls, ceiling, counter tops, etc. Management is very good. Polite and informative. They are always willing to help me when a situation comes up that I am uncertain of. My coworkers are very helpful too. When I started, I knew next to nothing. They taught me everything I've learned up to now and continue to help me, and I, them. The hardest part of the job is cleaning up at the end of a busy day. There's usually a lot to do and it can get overwhelming at times. The most enjoyable part of the job is satisfying a customer. It's very gratifying to help a customer and see them leave with just the right item or material they need to complete their project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, fast paced, high energy
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJune 4, 2013
Pros: great work hours
Cons: very crunched for time
Your work environment is always what you make of it. I made it a fun place for myself and my team. A lot needed to be done in very little time, so time management was a very big factor. I was able to lead my team to a very successful and productive day. I turned around the morale and productivity of the warehouse in less than 2 months. It was a great – more... place to work, but unfortunately i was laid off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better Training
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 23, 2013
Pros: did not really see any
Cons: poor internal relations
This was the worst company I have ever been associated with. The management was extremely unprofessional and seemed lost the majority of the time. I was poorly trained and passed on from one employee to the next with no real set training guidelines. Most employees were real nice people but a few that I shadowed during the day I could tell really didn't – more... want to be the one training. Even the upper management were not friendly from the Department manager, Operations manager and even the General Manager. How can you preach customer service when your actions toward your employees and especially new hires you don't even greet. I don't get that at all and I been in the customer service industry for over 10 years.

Hint to Management: Do research.....If you have a high turnover rate then you must see why that is. At the end of the day it cost the company more money by constantly hiring new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment.
Salesman (Former Employee), HoustonFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: it is a well paying job.
Cons: most of the workers were nice but a few of them are horrible people.
The job was very hard for me. You have to be very SLY and convincing to get people to buy loads of tile. The workers seemed to dislike me though this was very common.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start up company with misguided, heartless management.
former employee (Former Employee), CorporateFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: great products for the consumer.
Cons: leadership...heartless! conniving!
Beware of this company! Regardless if you work at one there stores or the SSC. This place lack the ethical and moral fortitude to treat people right. The management, from all the Executives, Directors, GM's are so focus on themselves and their six figures salary to ever care about their employees.

Can't trust anyone! Heartless mindset! Buddy Buddy – more... System.
This company has such a high turnover, but they can't seem to grasp the idea its because of the way they treat their workers. This company is so focus on trying to expand, the management and how they treat their employees will be their downfall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware: Look to work at another company
prefer not to list (Former Employee), smyrnaJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: none. nothing i can say good
Cons: low salary, no bonuses, high priced benefits ie: medical, dental
As with many other reviews the management in this company is very horrible. If you take these reviews as like you do with product reviews than I would suggest a pass on this company. They will praise this and that, but in reality its just management hype. Raises, bonuses? Forget about those, You maybe told you can get, but you never will.
So unless – more... your applying for a cushion management position, look elsewhere. I had the displeasure of working at this company HQ office in smyrna and it is not an environment that is ideal to work within. There is managers for managers, meetings for meetings. In my opinion the company is too greedy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Lifting with no appreciation
Associate (Former Employee), Houston,TxDecember 21, 2012
Pros: awesome people, learning experience.
Cons: frequent injuries occur. no employee appreciation, threatening work enviroment.
Heavy manual lifting a regular occurrence. Management is demeaning at best and make employees feel, expendable. Company rarely promotes from within despite promises to do so. Positions are largely stagnant as are the pay rates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven workplace, with very little advancement available
Department Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 14, 2012
Pros: breakroom with television.
Cons: healthcare could be better, management needs overhaul. company does not seem to value associates.
Typical day consisted of merchandising product, while also keeping eye out for wandering customers. Sales goals are given which may hinder the amount of actual physical work that can be completed in allotted time.
Learned the numbers game of sales and how that correlated to profits and losses. And how to take those numbers and opportunities and make – more... the best of them.
Management leaves much to be desired. Department managers bear the brunt of most of the work, and Store Managers or CEM's as they are called do not have firm grasps on how to treat associates as well as management. Job security was non existent as they frequently let you know how expendable you are.
Hardest part of the job is by far the excessive lifting sometimes in the range of 75 to 100 lbs regularly. Close second would be the micromanaging.
Most enjoyable were the people both customers and associates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 31, 2012
Pros: 1 hour lunch
Cons: they open to early.
Great place to work, gain experience as well as learn a new trade.
You get opportunities to meet new people and have fun doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management needs management training
employee (Former Employee), smyrna,gaOctober 24, 2012
Pros: maybe meet some nice people
Cons: low salary, so so benefits but only after 90 days, you will work more than 40 hours
as the other review stated upper management needs to be graded, i'd given them an F in respecting employees. I have witnessed harassment I have witnessed discrimination. This is within the corporate offices. The offices are unsafe due to products everywhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
anonymous (Former Employee), anonymousSeptember 22, 2012
Cons: low pay, unprofessional management
They do not pay their employee who work very hard a decent salary, They have some employees who are obviously racist and discriminate, they claim to have lowest prices, however there is a saying "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!" I cannot count how many time a customer returned defected or damaged materials. There is no employee discounts. I left and now work – more... happily at their competitor. – less

About Floor and Decor

Floor & Decor provides more choices than the big-box, retail mega-stores. And we offer it for less than what you would find – Read more

Floor and Decor Photos