Find companies:
Florida Atlantic University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Florida Atlantic University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLMay 20, 2014
Literature Review
Internet Research
Steel Fabrication
Welding Inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight Higher ups, and only good if you like your co-workers
Cashier at Dunkin Doughnuts at FAU (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLMay 16, 2014
Fast paced and keep on your toes job. I loved that part about working here. But The managment left something to be desired. They treated their employees like toys, and really didnt care to much about them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Work Environment
Coordinator of Academic Programs (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLApril 28, 2014
Pros: management has the employees best interest in mind.
Cons: management hovers
No day is particularly typical as the days are as diverse as the population I served. It is for this reason that you learn to have an extreme level of patience not only for the population you serve but you have to have the same amount of patience for your colleagues as well. Maintaining this patience with colleagues can prove to be one of the most difficult – more... and daunting tasks. However, seeing a student that you have assisted matriculate through graduation is the most enjoyable part of this Job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LEARNING RESOURCES LAB ASSIST
LEARNING RESOURCES LAB ASSIST (Current Employee), Davie, FLApril 16, 2014
Pros: learning about new equipment
Cons: low pay no benefits or security
This is a student grant job.
o Install audio and video equipment for E-Classrooms
o Support E-Class, and teaching staff on E-Classrooms’ Computer systems
o Setup remote video classrooms
o Install electronic teaching stations in sciences Lab for the professors
o Install and configure Lab computer systems
o Computer imaging, software and drive install
o – more... Network setup
o Set up and provide audio and video support for V.I.P events on campus
o Provide Maintenance on projectors, audio system, and computer systems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding colleagues and Dean of Students
ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT & DEAN OF STUDENTS OFFICE (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLMarch 2, 2014
Pros: devoted staff
A typical day involves handling calls from parents, students and /or directors from other departments requesting immediate help for their problems. I might be responding to a student's turmoil over an impending withdrawal from school, an angry, distraught parent, frantic about his/her child, arranging meetings, writing letters, managing students, maintaining – more... calendars; providing direction, counsel, or guidance to any number of visitors to the Dean of Students office. My co-workers are professional, committed and caring to our population. My boss is a charismatic, amazing dedicated Dean who works tirelessly in our department and manages a united team. The hardest part of my job is not being able to help a student because his need may be out of my purview and the most enjoyable part is when a student feels encouraged, motivated or simply acknowledged by my short interaction with him. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace.
Student Government Treasurer (Current Employee), Davie, FLFebruary 25, 2014
I have gained budget and fiscal knowledge in my time here at Florida Atlantic University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Theory College
Nursing Instructor (Current Employee), Boca Raton, Fl.February 12, 2014
Pros: caring collaborations among staff
Cons: using an adjunct model for employment practices
Florida Atlantic University and the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing base their philosophy of nursing on caring theories. It is applied to staff and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a student
Student (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: flexible, great to be on campus
Cons: time drainer
This is a great place to be if you are a student at FAU. Working on campus was a plus and the professors are flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJanuary 23, 2014
I was a volunteer so cant speak much on jobs benefits and actual work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manning the CUBE (study area at Engineering East building in FAU)
College of Engineering, Student Worker (Former Employee), Boca RatonJanuary 17, 2014
-front desk
-ensure to ask people to leave prior to closing time
-provided to the study group a room
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A part time job preceptor for medical students about 6 hrs weekly
Assistant Affiliate Clinical Professor of Medicine (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: access to fau medical library
Cons: teaching slows me down, but it is worth it
I enjoy teaching and having med students around keeps me sharp
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult and challenging work environment
Coordinator, Housing (Current Employee), Jupiter, FLJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: lack strong management; lack supervision
difficult and challenging work
no room for advancement
a lot of experiences
lacks diversity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing company with lots of opportunity to learn
Assistant Director Facilities, Operations, Events (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: ability to work with young people
Cons: long hours
all employees are ready and willing to help in any way possible. Everyone is willing to work together and do what is beneficial for all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Opportunity
Project Manager - Dine On A Dime Web Application (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLDecember 30, 2013
Worked on a team of 6. Was a good experience learned about software development process. Frustration from some of the team members not pulling there weight on the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible professional learning experience
Head Women's Swimming & Diving Coach (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLDecember 18, 2013
Pros: starting a new program
Cons: starting a new program
I trained athletes up to 5 hours per day. I was responsible for managing and maintaining: budget, supplies, travel, equipment, recruiting, assistants.
I was responsible for the athletes on my teams. Hiring and firing assistant coaches. Recruiting, training and keeping the student/althes acountable for thier behavior, performance, and passing their classes.
I – more... enjoyed all aspects of the job; most notably the opportunites to network with coaches all over the country. The most challenging aspect was recruiting athletes to a brand new program. I was the first swimming coach. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impressive Faculty and Staff
Spanish Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLDecember 16, 2013
My experience with the faculty and staff at FAU has been amazing. Not only are they all highly qualified, but they are genuinely passionate about academia and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient workplace
Eco Design and Development (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLOctober 3, 2013
Very productive work days that are filled with opportunities for me to explore different aspects of solar irrigation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging research with rewarding experiences.
Chief Research Assistant (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLSeptember 29, 2013
Research analysis and development of biomedical devices. Supportive management with assistance from faculty created an environment with a passion for excellence and determination. During a scientific revolution, the joy of participating and helping to shape future advances and medical success, while challenging makes the work all the more worth it. – more... The diversity of sources at the early portions of the information age, created difficulties in accessing and obtaining accurate information. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical work day
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLAugust 28, 2013
Pros: team work, no micromanagement, everyone is reliable and takes ownership.
Cons: slow paced partners, too many task at once for one person when working alone.
A typical work day for me would be to always show to work 15 minutes before my shift starts. Once its time to clock in for work, i do my normal routine of grabbing a walkie, locating the room keys and locating the EMS. Once i've read over whats happening on that specific day, I decide what room to began setting up or taking down first. I usually work – more... alone but when I team up with others, they usually stick by my side. If the day is filled with lots of task to complete i sometimes break the group up to knock out the work load to make it easier on us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boca Raton is beautiful, gradschool is hard work but worth the effort
Research/Teaching Assistant, Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLAugust 26, 2013
Pros: study math, get paid
Cons: math is beautiful, but hard.
Gradschool at the math department was a great experience. You meet truly smart people there. At times dealing with advisors is challenging but it is expected.

About Florida Atlantic University

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the university serves 26,000 – Read more

Florida Atlantic University Photos