Florida Atlantic University Employee Reviews

Showing all 191 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping student and faculty
Lab Supervisor and Student Assistant/ Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 6, 2016
worked at computer lab as to help desk and solve problems and teach students to know about application and be able to use the computer lab
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Student Government Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLApril 26, 2016
 Answering phone calls, maintaining a clean environment in the office
 Filling administrative documents and conducting interviews
 Data input for the department
 Organizing file cabinets and folders
 Mentoring and training new student assistants
 Involve in hiring process of student assistant employment selection
 Managing process for printing professional conference posters of graduate students
 Orienting student to many settings on the Boca Raton campus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLApril 25, 2016
I truly enjoy working at Florida Atlantic University. It is a great place to grow, learn and be around people who are committed to education. I have been at FAU in a professional role for over 3 years but have also worked at FAU while I was a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Florida Atlantic University is a great school!
Full Time Student (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLApril 19, 2016
Florida Atlantic University is a great school!
I would recommend anyone to attend.
As a freshman , I have enjoyed most of my time here and I look forward to eventually graduating in 2019 with my bachelor's degree in exercise science and health promotion.
Pros
Free Scantrons
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coordinator ISSS (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLApril 18, 2016
Florida Atlantic University is an excellent place to work. Great benefits and opportunities. I learned a great deal working for FAU and was involved with many departments. I loved my co-workers and the students were great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment was good, The position I held allowed me room to learn.
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Office in Davie, FloridaApril 7, 2016
I was able to work in various departments and I was given great responsibility. I can say i really learned many skills.The management was good. All of my co-workers did what was expected and required of them.I had to drive to college campuses and the driving could be hard. The last time I went to a community college I was assigned to drive from Davie Florida to Orlando Florida in one day.
The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting and talking with students, and helping them to make life changing decisions.
Pros
Meeting professionals, event planning, motivating students.
Cons
Long drives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great launching pad for students
Broward Student Government (Former Employee) –  Davie, FLMarch 16, 2016
These positions are a great launching pads for students to get experience before going into the work. A fine place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay to work here.
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMarch 6, 2016
The people who I work with are nice but the compensation is way too low. If compensation would have been fair it might be the plave you want to be at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low moral
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMarch 1, 2016
Department was torn apart over 1 year ago and all leadership was let go. Change management is a foreign term and everyone has been in limbo. Long term employees are grinning and bearing it.
Pros
state benefitsn and time off that rolls over
Cons
lower salary than private
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLFebruary 29, 2016
Work includes home visits where I assess children under 11 years old in their development, in particular language skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLFebruary 23, 2016
There is a productive and fun work environment. The compensation is good and co-workers are good people. I would recommend working at this company.
Pros
Management, Co-workers, environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at florida atlantic univeristy
Office Assistant to the Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 31, 2016
I enjoyed interacting with students as well as professors on a day to day basis. A typical day would include sorting and distributing mail, as well as typing letters and answering questions, that a student may have.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive academic envrionment
Geological Technician Experience (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 29, 2016
Supportive staff members
Department of Science welcoming
Some Buildings need maintenance
Learned to work closely with colleagues
Allocations of funds questionable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Place to Work
Front End Developer UX/UI - (Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 5, 2016
Everyone is really nice, but the bureaucracy may be daunting. The fact that one department doesn't communicate with other departments is also a bit of a let down. Overall, a nice place to be.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Paid Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work/Study Place
Governor's Chief of Staff (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 2, 2016
Florida Atlantic University is amazing place to get your degree and work. A typical day at FAU it relaxing, different and exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Environment
Student Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLDecember 18, 2015
Overall great environment, staff are very professional and supporting. I loved working there and attending classes as an undergraduate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College
ASME Machine & Electrical Shop Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLDecember 12, 2015
Decent college. While some programs are better than others, it should said overall that the experience is what you make it. Work hard, and you wont have any problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lab assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLOctober 14, 2015
Wonderful work environment. Friendly co-workers. Learned a lot. Very productive and fun environment. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLOctober 2, 2015
Sit at the desk and open the door for students and visitors coming in, transfer calls, bring mail to students when requested. Was able to do homework when not busy with guests.
Pros
Could do homework on the job
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, great connections
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLSeptember 11, 2015
Working closely with professors was a great experience.
Lots of flexibility in terms of work hours.
Worked on several interesting projects.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
very low pay/low hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida Atlantic University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 191 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1