Find companies:
Florida Career College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

Florida Career College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily lecture
Instructor (Former Employee), Miami FLJanuary 24, 2014
Lecture material discuss on the syllabus
Use visual support to stimulate learning
Encourage class participation
Ask challenging questions to promote brain storming
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable and inviting atmosphere
Admissions Representative (Current Employee), Margate, FLDecember 2, 2013
Admissions can be a very tough position, especially when the students aren't racing to you, but the enjoyment comes when they realize that they need you more than you need them. From then on, its a mentoring position. I learned that you don't get great in one day, you get great day by day as long as your motivated. The people that I work with here at – more... Florida Career College are great.They make everyone feel welcome. Its one big happy family. The most difficult part of my job is calling someone to set an appointment when they have already been called 50+ times and they are now frustrated and annoyed. The enjoyment comes helping students prepare and plan for their future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consitently Busy
Work Study (Former Employee), Lauderdale Lakes, FLNovember 19, 2013
Pros: friendly, recognition on work performance.
Cons: occasional down grading
A typical day for me at Florida Career College included having to do research for careers, update career services bulletin board, and book for jobs. Made phone calls to employers, and the hardest part of my job was soliciting jobs to potential employers. Employers interested with Florida Careers College students a resume, and cover letter was faxed – more... upon request. Sometimes the employers I associated with would schedule a job fair to come to Florida Career College. I had to create flyers using Microsoft Word to inform students of a job fair. I have learned to build up my self confidence, and esteem with myself to actually talk to people. I got along with all my co-workers, and we worked as a team. One of the Co-workers was also a work study but for the medical portion of career services. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I stop a student from faxing a resume without a cover letter. The student would ask, "What is a cover letter for"? A majority of the time the students would ask me for help, and thank me when letter was completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Miami FloridaNovember 5, 2013
Pros: very satisfying experience learn so much
Cons: short breaks
good environment, very demanding job but rewarding, good staff
good teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Job
Work Study (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLOctober 26, 2013
Pros: staff gets along.
•Serve food
•Wash dishes
•Sweep floors
•Set table

I controlled one floor, meaning no help with 25 to 30 people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganize telemarketing space
Appointment Setter (Former Employee), Miramar, FLOctober 25, 2013
Typical day:
• Use oral or written communication techniques.
• Served as a liaison between the general public and the College answering customer or public inquiries.
• Provide product samples, coupons, informational brochures, and other incentives to persuade people to enroll.
• Solicit orders from established or new customers
• Record and report demonstration-related – more... information such as the number of questions asked by the audience and the number of coupons distributed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Nursing Peer Tutor/ Success Coach (Current Employee), boynton beachOctober 18, 2013
it is a great school to learn and work for. i have learned so much,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company which allows you to grow professionally
Associate VP of Education Operations (Former Employee), Corporate Office Ft lauderdale, flOctober 15, 2013
The environment is fast pace and one must be result oriented. The corporate philosophy was always to build and grow from within so it allowed staff to have a succession plan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides a good education and career path for grads.
Corporate Director of Benefits (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 6, 2013
Pros: beautiful corporate office
Cons: because they have grown a lot do not see other employees as much
I have liked working for this company for the last eight years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional ethical work enviroment
Campus Bursar/Accounts Payables (Former Employee), Hialeah, FLSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great students/employers
Our goals is to make sure are student achieve there academinc goals and graduate. Teamplayer. Professional ethical work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My team was the best to work with
Telemarketer (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 27, 2013
Team FL North was the best to work with. We were more like a family than just co-workers. We always had each other best interest and look out for each other. I cannot say the same thing for the call center as a whole, however. Most people keeps to them self or just likes to start drama which is too immature for me. Also, Team FL North has the best supervisor – more... who is very proficient in his knowledge of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Office is the problem!!
confidential (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 26, 2013
Pros: staff that works hard
Cons: too bad their fearless leader at corporate don't care
Great staff - too bad that they have to work for such a horrible corporate office. Un approachable - mean spirited - $$ before students or staff. Training - forget about it. Anyone who says that they "love their job" on these postings are just planted messages. No one that works or has worked for FCC would write those reviews. those reviews sound just – more... like their commercials – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace work environment
Book Store Clerk (Former Employee), hollywood, floridaAugust 21, 2013
Pros: opportunity to gain experience in stocking an area that excites me.
Cons: was temporary from agency placement
a typical day included lifting packaged inventory, count inventory and stock shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Externship Coordinator/Career Services Advisor (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLAugust 8, 2013
Pros: give 150% everyday for the students and stay focus.
Cons: n/a
My experience at FCC was a first step at being an Externship Coordinator. It was fun working with the Students. They all seemed to be on the same page and were very excited when it was time for Externship. The challenges were small and the Students I felt were very good.

A typical day: Obtaining Externship Agreements signed and dated, contacting students/scheduling – more... interviews for Externship, entering hours for Externship, reviewing timesheets to ensure correct and meet compliance guidelines, making calls to sign up new Sites for Externship and maintain a 50% goal for Students getting hired from their Sites.

CoWorkers were great. There were only two of us.

Hardest part of the Job - Maintain and ensure all paperwork is accurate and complete for compliance and audit purposes. Must have an eye for detail for this.

Enjoyable: Graduation ceremony (twice a year) and experiencing the happiness of the Student(s) when they were hired from Externship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study program
Work Study Student (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 25, 2013
the work study program helped me balance working parttime while being able to put in full effort to my studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABOUT THE PROGRAM
Cosmetology Instructor (Former Employee), BOYNTON BEACHJuly 14, 2013
Pros: good staff
Cons: long hours
PROGRAM STARTED OUT WONDERFUL, BUT EVENTUALLY THE NEW CHANGES BECAME LESS ABOUT THE STUDENTS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just too stressful
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 27, 2013
Pros: when you go home you dont take work with you
Cons: unreasonable goals
make calls to potential students who need to change their lives but don't really want to make a commitment to making the steps to change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
another MA
Medical Assistant (MA) Degree (Current Employee), clearwater, flMay 7, 2013
I have a long list of work history, must not even the least bit relavant.
the only reason I went to this school was for help finding a job, and yes i got the training i needed. but i still need help finding a job!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIARS
Admissions Sales Rep (Former Employee), Lauderdale Lakes, FLApril 23, 2013
Pros: long lunch everyother weekend off
Cons: healthcare
horrible job they sell you a dream its all about numbers if yo dont do know enrollemtents our fired I wasnt even train proper, co workers love them to deal, good theng ou can stay in your office all day, very hosile poor job, the hrdest part is lying to people selling them a school that doesnt gurantee you you a real secure job, he enjoyable part is – more... the pay lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Lauderdale Lakes, FLApril 21, 2013
Its ok. Something good if your are in school and need a good paying part time job