Find companies:
Florida International University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Florida International University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it here!
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 18, 2014
Loved being able to help students. My coworkers were the best and the environment was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun University life
Telecommunications Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 13, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: i was too young
Worked afternoon/night shifts. It was a job while I was in College.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a quiet environment which allowed space for productivity
Professional Fundraiser (Former Employee), Miami, FlAugust 8, 2014
Pros: we'd receive raises, given more options for shifts, and had the ability to move up in the company
Cons: short breaks
A typical day consisted of the employees clocking in and sitting at our desks. The floor manager would hold a meeting for the group to inform us on who we'd be calling for the day as well as what was expected of us. I enjoyed this job because it allowed me to learn how to inspire people to give back to this University based on the degree in which they – more... attained. The management was wonderful at this call center. Our boss and manager worked well with the employees and did everything in their power to make sure that we did our job correctly and that we were learning something new each day that we walked into the office. I enjoyed the atmosphere of this call center because it felt safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLAugust 6, 2014
time scheduling
learn how to use Cube
learn how to run the simulation model
do the litterateur review and improve the writing skill
meet with some professors from different university
friendly co-worker
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Productive Environment
Graduate Office Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 30, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: parking
Answer emails, communicate with students, reply to faculty requests, work on online courses on blackboard, answer phone, post announcements, type reports, prepare tests, assignments, and lectures. The most enjoyable part of the job is to see students finish their courses with A's. The hardest part is to say no to students when they forgot to submit – more... an assignment and they want the due date to be extended. Everyone is supportive and friendly, always smiling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Office of the Dean (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 29, 2014
great place to work; sometimes division between management and staff though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 27, 2014
I was a graduate assistant and had to help the professor with his clases, his research and any other thing he needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
Manager, IT End User Support (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 12, 2014
Pros: location, tuition assistance, work/life balance depending on position held.
Cons: low job security
FIU is a multicultural environment with many benefits and opportunities if you are employed by the right department. Some College's do not support a healthy working environment, while others create the dream work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with certain professors was a pleasurable experience
Office Assistant/Tutor (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 9, 2014
Being a grader could be both an amazing or horrible experience, depending on which professor you worked with.
Working as an office staff was quite rough for a multitude of reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of FIU
Student Health Services Dep (Current Employee), Miami FLJuly 3, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: pay
Great place to start up a job career. Room for improvement depending on one's credential's and/or experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment that encourages learning
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 23, 2014
I work in a molecular biology research laboratory. The management is strict but fair. Everyone that works there is very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 8, 2014
a typical day at work is fun
Learned advanced environmental modeling and science practice
management is great
co-workers are very helpful
the hardest part of the job is to manage lots of projects
the most enjoyable part of the job is to have recognition of hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee), MiamiMay 23, 2014
Great place to work
Good Work culture
Good Management
Good Work/Life balance
Job security is low
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 22, 2014
Working here a typical day consisted of posting final grades, filing and mailing diplomas to graduating students. Co- Workers were always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work!
Computer Support Specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 20, 2014
Working here for five years has helped me grow as a person. I spent my entire college life working for FIU while attending school there. They were very flexible with hours. Sometimes the customers we had to help were unpleasant to deal with but my colleagues and I pulled through it together which shows just the kind of relationship we had. The first – more... two weeks of every semester were the toughest to deal with. The rest of the time, it's pretty calm and comfortable to deal with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STUDENT EXCHANGE PROGRAM
Exchange Student Program (Former Employee), FIU, MIAMI, FLMay 6, 2014
Participated in a exchange program for Florida International University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on-campus job opprtunity for students
Assistant Business Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 3, 2014
Great environment, laid-back, friendly co-workers. Great camaraderie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn
Laboratory Analyst (Current Employee), North Miami, FLMay 1, 2014
Florida International University is multi-culture workplace. I work with people that come from all over the world. The laboratory where I work has many instruments to learn about and experience hands on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work study environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 24, 2014
I enjoyed the work study opportunity offered by FIU. I was able to work to pay for school while transitioning into college life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Campus Large Urban University
Instructor (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 19, 2014
Developed and taught courses for Communication Arts for a number of years

1 2 3 4 5