Florida International University Employee Reviews

Found 352 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
promotes education to the highest degress
Adjunct Faculty Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 29, 2017
Implementations of the latest technology, engages students from the beginning
Allows interaction in class sizes at all levels
Expanding in the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Intern (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 27, 2017
This school has a relaxing environment and the people are all so friendly and welcoming. When you need help or have a question, others are always willing to lend a hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of work but no pressure
Graduate Student Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 23, 2017
Day start with lots of excitement around 9:00 am. I learn how to work with team and it is not necessary to know everything. Good initiative with passion to complete it will make you a good manager. The workplace is very supportive and positive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Public Address Announcer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 23, 2017
Public Address Announcing for sporting events - volleyball, soccer, men's and women's basketball, softball, baseball, tennis, track and field for 10 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 13, 2017
I worked part-time only from that perspective it is a nice, friendly place to work. I'm not actually on campus so I cannot answer the necessary questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most toxic work atmosphere that I have ever worked in during my 20 year career.
Director of Marketing (Former Employee) –  MMCMarch 6, 2017
Every department is for themselves and some department heads will backstab you in front of everyone. Most of the students, alumni and staff have no affinity for the school.
Pros
Restaurants, salon, bank, gym, amd more on campus
Cons
Horrible culture of every department for themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive in training their student staff in leadership and professional growth.
Finance Chair (Current Employee) –  North Miami, FLFebruary 27, 2017
The work is mostly self directed but your supervisors expect you to get everything done on time. The workplace culture is very laid back and busy , but content. The most enjoyable part of the job is that it allows for a lot of homework to be completed.
Pros
Flexibility of schedule
Cons
Management does not delegate tasks effectively
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace
HR Trainee (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 25, 2017
• Cross-trained in all the departments of Division of Human Resources, including Recruitment services, Benefit Association, Compensation, Labor relations, Front Desk, Equal Opportunity Program, etc.
• Analyzed sourcing, interviewing and onboarding all incoming candidates
• Analyzed the EEOC claims based on the Federal law
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching opportunity
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 22, 2017
I was provided with an opportunity to teach undergraduate pre-requisites. There were opportunities to receive training workshops that facilitated professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked underpaid
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLFebruary 20, 2017
a typical day at work is juggling varies responsibility - lack of staff - very exhausted when the day ends. Not looking forward
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably a good place to start your career. Interesting job great benefits relaxed work life balance
Adjunct Architecture Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 14, 2017
Multicultural environment, flexible hours for students who want to work and go to school part-time or full-time, friendly and knowledgable staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place, able to grow
America Reads Tutor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
The environment is fun and educational you are able to grow and able to move positions in the company that fit your current life situations. Very flexible.
Pros
flexible, fun
Cons
No private desk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn and work
Graduate Research Assistant (GRA) (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
FIU has allowed me to gain relevant work experience in the field of hydrogeology, as well as allowed me to complete my Master's degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but a little too strict
Jr. Applications Developer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
Worked with some of the most talented developer that helped me become a better programmer. Only problem is this is not a very tech place therefore they don't really know how to treat developers. Expect things to be done fast and with little breaks.
Pros
Close to school
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better management
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLFebruary 11, 2017
FIU overall cares for you, but the direction of work as well the new management that they contracted did not implement structure or help facilitate the transition of their ways. Needs better management as well as sufficient amount of workers not just two to three people to do the job of five.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 1, 2017
I worked at the football stadium as a front desk girl right out of high school. It was a nice transition and I loved it. It was a young and un environment.
Pros
Relaxing environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLJanuary 29, 2017
The tasks given by the professor are quite challenging and takes lot of efforts from me which helps me a lot to gain experience and learn new things.
Pros
Good learning curve
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Calm
Information Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 27, 2017
Enjoyable environment; great, friendly staff
Flexible with students class schedule and understanding of unexpected emergencies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extra curricular activities
Rugby Teammate and Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2017
Canvassing for Equality Action PAC and joining rugby was something that I did while I spent my semester of university there. I just so happened to want to stay active and to give back to my community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits/Vaction is amazing. Great place for learning
Patient Client Access Rep (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 12, 2017
Work Life balance is great and the benefits and vacation are great too. Ideal for anyone who is a student or wanting more family time.
Pay is not competitive.. people stay here for the benefits, honestly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida International University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 353 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Florida International University Reviews by Location