Find companies:
Florida International University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
141 reviews

Florida International University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 22, 2014
Working here a typical day consisted of posting final grades, filing and mailing diplomas to graduating students. Co- Workers were always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work!
Computer Support Specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 20, 2014
Working here for five years has helped me grow as a person. I spent my entire college life working for FIU while attending school there. They were very flexible with hours. Sometimes the customers we had to help were unpleasant to deal with but my colleagues and I pulled through it together which shows just the kind of relationship we had. The first two weeks of every semester were the toughest to deal with. The rest of the time, it's pretty calm and comfortable to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STUDENT EXCHANGE PROGRAM
Exchange Student Program (Former Employee), FIU, MIAMI, FLMay 6, 2014
Participated in a exchange program for Florida International University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on-campus job opprtunity for students
Assistant Business Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 3, 2014
Great environment, laid-back, friendly co-workers. Great camaraderie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn
Laboratory Analyst (Current Employee), North Miami, FLMay 1, 2014
Florida International University is multi-culture workplace. I work with people that come from all over the world. The laboratory where I work has many instruments to learn about and experience hands on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work study environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 24, 2014
I enjoyed the work study opportunity offered by FIU. I was able to work to pay for school while transitioning into college life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Campus Large Urban University
Instructor (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 19, 2014
Developed and taught courses for Communication Arts for a number of years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and dynamic work environment
HRIS Analyst (Current Employee), Miami, FLApril 7, 2014
A typical day is filled with challenges from day-to-day interactions by users with the PeopleSoft HR system. It is imperative to have the ability to multitask. Troubleshooting is essential in the daily tasks to document business process and address gaps and improve/ streamline. There are many opportunities to learn of different business processes and many opportunities to be creative with the implementation of solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perferct workplace where I have become a better person and professional
IT Department Office Manager (Current Employee), MiamiApril 3, 2014
This job has been the best thing it has ever happened to me. First of all, I have the best team I could ask for; they are kind always willing to help and work together in order to achieve the department functionality. Secondly, I have gotten extremely involved in an IT environment that have introduced me to something that was once my passion and have now become stronger by actually being able to get real life experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives students opportunities for research
DOE Fellow- Research Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 8, 2014
FIU engineering school gives students the opportunity of working with professors in hands on research. Professors are excellent, they help students achieve their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical University
Instructional Media Department Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 16, 2014
FIU is a typical state university. What sets it apart is it's multicultural environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 24, 2014
I have gain a lot of experience in research and education! I am looking forward to keep on learning and applying my current skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt like family
Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Loved everyday even when i was having a bad one everyone works as a team and very open to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest
PROGRAM PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: the passion in the students to further their education.
Cons: everything else
In order to work in this industry you will have to do it for the love of the students ONLY! Highly stressful, a lot of backbiting from faculty and administration, should be team spirited but it is not. No work life balance. Expect little pay for overwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work and Learning Environment
Associate Director of Fitness (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 10, 2014
Great environment to work amongst students, faculty and staff
Fun job always busy
Meet a lot of people
Assistance going to school while working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreation Center
Customer Service Attendant (Former Employee), Miami, FlJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: hours
Its the best place to work on campus. They're pretty relaxed at the rec, show up, wear the uniform and do your job. It's really not that hard and it can be kinda fun. You get to meet a lot of people there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Secretary (Current Employee), Miami, FLDecember 30, 2013
Florida International University provides a great work environment, as well as great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job filled with monotony
HR Program Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLDecember 15, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: on campus dinning
Every was pretty much the same it grew boring quickly. I need new challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Work/Life Balance
Graduate Program Assistant (Current Employee), Miami, FLDecember 12, 2013
Pros: work schedule, and people
Cons: little to no advancement
FIU is a great place to work at if you are looking for a steady job work/life balance. If I could give five stars to "job security" and zero to one for advancement I would. This place is for those who can attain a secure position they like (e.g. pay...) and plan to stay there for a long long time. This place is not for those who wish to move up because advancing is nearly impossible unless you know people in the inside.

Work environment is awesome, people are awesome, students are nice (although can be rude sometimes) and you definitely will learn on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), Miami, FloridaDecember 5, 2013
This is a wonderful place to work. The team is people and task oriented and has a wonderful feeling of family. The team works together to create a unique atmosphere dedicated to the cause of creating a better place for students to live and work.