Florida International University Employee Reviews

Found 364 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching opportunity
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 22, 2017
I was provided with an opportunity to teach undergraduate pre-requisites. There were opportunities to receive training workshops that facilitated professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked underpaid
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLFebruary 20, 2017
a typical day at work is juggling varies responsibility - lack of staff - very exhausted when the day ends. Not looking forward
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably a good place to start your career. Interesting job great benefits relaxed work life balance
Adjunct Architecture Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 14, 2017
Multicultural environment, flexible hours for students who want to work and go to school part-time or full-time, friendly and knowledgable staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place, able to grow
America Reads Tutor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
The environment is fun and educational you are able to grow and able to move positions in the company that fit your current life situations. Very flexible.
Pros
flexible, fun
Cons
No private desk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn and work
Graduate Research Assistant (GRA) (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
FIU has allowed me to gain relevant work experience in the field of hydrogeology, as well as allowed me to complete my Master's degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but a little too strict
Jr. Applications Developer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
Worked with some of the most talented developer that helped me become a better programmer. Only problem is this is not a very tech place therefore they don't really know how to treat developers. Expect things to be done fast and with little breaks.
Pros
Close to school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better management
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLFebruary 11, 2017
FIU overall cares for you, but the direction of work as well the new management that they contracted did not implement structure or help facilitate the transition of their ways. Needs better management as well as sufficient amount of workers not just two to three people to do the job of five.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 1, 2017
I worked at the football stadium as a front desk girl right out of high school. It was a nice transition and I loved it. It was a young and un environment.
Pros
Relaxing environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLJanuary 29, 2017
The tasks given by the professor are quite challenging and takes lot of efforts from me which helps me a lot to gain experience and learn new things.
Pros
Good learning curve
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Calm
Information Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 27, 2017
Enjoyable environment; great, friendly staff
Flexible with students class schedule and understanding of unexpected emergencies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extra curricular activities
Rugby Teammate and Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2017
Canvassing for Equality Action PAC and joining rugby was something that I did while I spent my semester of university there. I just so happened to want to stay active and to give back to my community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits/Vaction is amazing. Great place for learning
Patient Client Access Rep (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 12, 2017
Work Life balance is great and the benefits and vacation are great too. Ideal for anyone who is a student or wanting more family time.
Pay is not competitive.. people stay here for the benefits, honestly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 11, 2017
FIU is a great place to work at.
Lot of opportunities to explore different skills.
Very friendly co-workers
Enjoyable part of the job is the employee has the freedom to explore, and innovate at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Expereince
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 11, 2017
I am working as a library supervisor who primary responsibility is to deals with the students and provide them the correct information and help them getting the library facilities.
It has been a great learning experience dealing with the student while being a student, sometime student get upset on some stringent library policy and acquiring of some limited resources.
Pros
Flexible in schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Greatest Places to work for.
Help Desk Representative (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 6, 2017
One of the Greatest Places to work for because it is a fair, multicultural, and motivating. I have worked there for over 2 years and can say that I consider myself privileged to have found myself in such a good environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
spent 17 years there learning the Registrar's Office
Assistant Registrar (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 3, 2017
stated as the Space and Scheduling administrator and worked myself up to Assistant Registrar. It was the best 17 years of my professional career. However, I needed to move to become a University Registrar because my Registrar was not leaving.
Pros
everything
Cons
favoritism for the Cuban community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 17, 2016
No room for growth. very Spanish focus and not enough other culture opportunities. Best thing about FIU it's a great University
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best!
Professional Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 17, 2016
Amazing company. Wonderful people. And this institution actually hire its graduates. Many of my colleagues and myself attended the university and it is just an awesome thing to showcase to our students attending the university to ensure that they will always have a career!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 13, 2016
This place is great and very accommodating. I have learned how to work with others, how to complete projects on time, and respect for fellow employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very relaxing place to work at
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 12, 2016
I have had the opportunity to expand my knowledge in quantitative analysis and also to team up with people from different cultures and backgrounds.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida International University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 365 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Florida International University Reviews by Location