Florida Power & Light Employee Reviews

Showing all 128 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Mechanical Maintenance Mecahnic (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 29, 2016
Provided me the opportunity to gain the skills that i have built on for the last 36 plus years. I have the skills and ability to work in many industrial trades.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company for career minded individuals
Director - Cost & Performance (Former Employee) –  Juno Beach, FLJuly 4, 2016
Great company to work for as evidenced by the 30+ years of service with them. The company highly values their employees as their most valuable asset. I would highly recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 2, 2016
My day begins with planning my work schedule for the day and prioritize it. Then work with the team to get the work done by the end of the day.At this company there was nothing hard regarding your work assignments.
Pros
free lunches picnics special events for employees
Cons
better healthcare insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced learning environment.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLMay 18, 2016
The company had a defined set of values and culture that helped assimilation to the work environment. Very helpful co-workers and managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great job until being laid off
GIS Technician / AutoCAD Technician (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 17, 2016
The work was great. My coworkers were great. Enjoyed my work, and was laid off after years of service.

Storm duty was a good opportunity to get overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Dynamic Organization
College Intern - Riviera Beach Energy Center (Former Employee) –  Juno Beach, FLMay 15, 2016
Employees are very willing and able to accomplish tasks. A lot of room for advancement. Organization is very hands on and involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Production Lead OH/UG (Former Employee) –  Bonita Springs, FLMay 13, 2016
Outstanding company where safety and training are the highest priority. A typical day is pre-job brief, smart grid work along with working with a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with good benefits !!!
IT Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 21, 2016
Excellent work life balance, very sensitive to employee needs with good retirement benefits. Conducive to growth. Can move around the company to try different technologies / processes.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
At times can be monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planned to retire from here
Senior Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Juno Beach, FLApril 19, 2016
Quality is number 1 at Nextera. There was a constant focus on performance metrics and raising the capability level throughout the organization.
Management was varied and moved slow on the IT side, but there was a genuine mission towards ethical and sound decisions.

I had the opportunity to work with young and seasoned individuals at all levels and worked to bridge the gap.

Company had a committed strategy for wellness, safety and community.

I hope to find another company like this during my career
Pros
work life balance, career paths, very stable
Cons
pay, slow to act
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place because of the unique construction of a power plant.
Carpenter Layout (Former Employee) –  Indiantown, FLApril 14, 2016
installation of form work and bolt installations for later date completion.

learned that all bolt patterns must be PERFECT for machinery to be installed later.

excellent management personnel.

co-workers well qualified and easy to work with.

hardest part: sometimes the materials needed on site were not available.

most enjoyable: participation in a UNIQUE opportunity.
Pros
learning from engineers, tech people, administration, safety personnel
Cons
working in 100 degree weather, in the rain, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Indiantown, FLApril 13, 2016
Great place to work, excellent co workers, Safety comes first. I have expanded on my knowledge of the utility business as a whole while employed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful facilitiy in the middle of old Florida environment.
Contract/Network Consultant (Former Employee) –  FloridaMarch 24, 2016
Installed 5 networks within 1-yr. including fiber optic links, and management software. Included my first experience working inside a Nuclear containment area with special specs for through wall cabling.
Pros
Free hand to do my job the best, with help if I needed it.
Cons
Scary close to Nuclear reactor, when it shut down for emergency.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist Customers to avoid collections
Corporate Resolution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 10, 2016
I speak with 15-18 customers on a daily basis to assist them in obtaining financial assistance or make payments towards their bills. I also create the schedule for the next week's accounts, working closely with the Collections department and the Collectors who go to the customers' homes. The hardest part of the job is when I'm not able to assist the customer due to no funding being available, the customer exhausting all of their options and the services are disconnected.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to assist those customers in need. Working with my co-workers to ensure the services are not disconnected.
Pros
Gym and cafeteria on the premise, as well as a clinic.
Cons
Expense of healthcare and the length of time it takes to get to work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Forman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJanuary 26, 2016
one of the best company to work for come to work get your work and go out for the day and do your line work you and your lineman some times you worked 24 hours a day in a storm
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers and Managers Is What Makes the Company
Analyst sUPPORT (Former Employee) –  1177 n. Lime Ave, SarasotaJanuary 26, 2016
No job security.
I have to make sure to add that the coworkers and managers and supervisors is what makes the company work.
Pros
Flexible and Fun
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fpl
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 16, 2015
This job was the beginning of my customer service career just open so many doors for me. It gave me the ability to use my imagination on how to solve problems without the individual being in front me.
Pros
discount on light bills
Cons
Health benefits, great incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Rodman - Duties (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 5, 2015
Because this job was temporary i did not get all the experience it had to offer,however, i found it to be a great place to work
Pros
Love the out doors
Cons
Hated the insects
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need Change
Production Lead OH/UG (Current Employee) –  FLOctober 21, 2015
Very demanding with not enough time in the day to complete what is needed. Massive amount of work in our que with no time to get in the field.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work place. Management was top notch.
FIELD SURVEYOR/ RODMAN LAUREN ENGINEERS & CONST (Former Employee) –  FLOctober 12, 2015
Amazing group of people to work for. Very professional management team. Worked with a great group of people. All professional experienced with many years of experience.
Pros
Location of the job. Work enviornment was proessional.
Cons
length og the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Callahan, FLOctober 6, 2015
Very physical job, must be mentally focused everyday due to variety of field hazards. Enjoyed working there and would do this type of job again.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 128 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9