Find companies:
Floyd Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Floyd Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Scheduling Clerk (Former Employee), New Albany, INJuly 4, 2014
It's a great place to work everyday. I have worked there for many years and absolutely love my job. The people are wonderful and patients are great. Good small town hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promote continuing education, teamwork based facilty
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), New Albany, INApril 25, 2014
Pros: work every third weekend
Cons: occasionally no cna
A typical night shift is usually steady busy until around 11pm. I have learned a lot about IV medication therapy and how to manage my time through out the shift. I continue to learn the facility protocols. The management is awesome. They follow up with your learning process and are there when I need them. My co-workers are dependable and good team players. – more... The hardest part of the job is when I get a couple of admission in a row and we can not talk to the admitting physician until the morning. I enjoy providing safe care to my patients. If I make a difference in one life, then I have done my job. I love being a nurse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work and making a diffrence.
Environmental Services (Current Employee), New Albany, INMarch 11, 2014
Pros: discounts on lunch and great team work.
Cons: so busy at times it's as if we don't get a break.
A typical day at work would involve us clocking in at three p.m. and being on the floors no later than three thirty. We would push around carts with cleaning supplies call out the room then clean it. Our lunch is at five p.m. ( you could request to have a later lunch if desired.) Working over time depends on how many rooms are down and how many workers – more... are there.

I learned how to properly clean rooms, how to announce myself when entering a room with a patient in one. I've learned many things involving the best cleaners to use on surfaces and all the work and effort that is put into this job.

Management here is good. My boss is very kind and helpful. She will help clean rooms sometimes.

My co-workers work very hard and do a job well done. They are kind, positive, helpful people. We work together as a team. If one needs help someone is always there.

The hardest part of my job is seeing the family members of patients who are worried or upset for a loved one.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I am making a difference even if it is just by cleaning rooms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my job at Floyd.
Carpenter (Former Employee), New Albany, INFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: loved everything about this job
Cons: no cons
My job consists of completing work orders and doing a variety of jobs. I enjoyed everyone I worked with and the ability of using my skills ant talents that helped out the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Staff Nurse - Intensive Care Unit (Former Employee), New Albany, INSeptember 16, 2013
The hardest part of the job was when we were understaffed with multiple high level patients. The best part was the team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful group of people to work with
Barista, Server, Cook, (Former Employee), New Albany, INAugust 14, 2013
You work with wonderful people. The management needs work however. The directors of the dietary need to become more involved. Other than that, I have no complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Upon occasion act as charge nurse for unit (Current Employee), New Albany, INAugust 1, 2013
typical day of work usually four to five patients. ages vary from infant to elderly adults. I would have to say that's one of the hardest parts of the job is having to have a mindset for patients that can be so far apart in age. The unit is more a medical/surgical unit. The unit is typically more adults than kids. I would have to say about 75/25. My – more... coworkers are great!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful place
Team member (Former Employee), New albanyMay 22, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: poor hr and managment
I enjoy my cowokers. I had some issue with the management and when I filed an HR case, I was harassed and confronted by my boss. The Director of HR is very inconsistent. He breaks most of the rules. There is a lot of drama and each department is ran separate. My bosses will ask the co workers dirt of the other and then write them up on the word of the – more... other employee. It is a very childish place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Floyd Memorial
Hostess/Server (Current Employee), New Albany, INMay 11, 2013
Pros: many
Cons: few
This company is very family oriented and flexible. The staff and management are not only hardworking but team players as well. I would encourage anyone thinking about applying here to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And Inerresting People to work eith
Laundry Aid (Former Employee), New Albany, INApril 9, 2013
Pros: earned free day off, could depend on co-workers and managers, really recognized employee days.
Cons: sort staffed on certin days.
To sort all laundry from the day before
How to work close with other people
Managers were just as fun to work with
Keeping up with volume of weekend work
lunch time was the best part of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), New Albany, INApril 5, 2013
At Floyd you will have plenty of training and and amazing family of coworkers to always back you up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor HR depart, defines the whole hospital!
N/A (Current Employee), New Albany, INApril 3, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
I had wrote an extensive complaint about Floyd, no cursing or unprofessional, just true facts and it was deleted. I wonder if Floyd had the comment removed because they don't want the real facts known about their so called wonderful place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend
Nurse (Former Employee), ICUsFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: short commute to work
Cons: petty nonsense, poor management
A LOT of DRAMA! Not worth the pay to work in that environment, left for a job in Louisville making less money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Staff Nurse ED Fast Track (Current Employee), New Albany, INFebruary 19, 2013
Can be stressfull at times. Management can be unapproachable. Co-workers are friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working at Flyd a very family centered workplace
Histology Processor and ER Phlebotomist (Former Employee), New Albany, INJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: great people and clean healthy environment
Cons: i never recieved pto or benefits
I totally loved working at Floyd Memorial. It is a small town community where you feel like you know everyone and its kinda like a family place. Also I loved working and helping the patients and assisting their families as best as possibe. Floyd is centered around their patients first so it kinda rubs off on us all like I said you seem to know everyone – more... and they know you. I have almost seven years altogether here. I came back for a second time for over three years. I only left because they did not have a position open for me in the department for what I was getting my degree in. The management was all very kind and knew their jobs very well with an open door policy you could gladly walk in their office for just a simple how are you. I think the hardest part of the job was is their is never enough time in the day to get the job done as you know healthcare is a 24/7 all around the year job. It always feels like you are never totally you done at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst drama filled place ever.
Security Officer (Former Employee), New Albany, INJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: shift diff, nice coworkers
Cons: racism, favortism, only get talked to for problems nothing about good work.
Management has his favorites and if you're not one of them you might as well walk on egg shells or quit.

Also if you do still want to work there make sure you leave on your terms or they will blackball you for any other employment in a healthcare facility.

The general staff are great to work with but all of the management looks out for themselves – more... and that's it.

Decent pay and time off. Good insurance.

No chances for advancement though, unless you're a "favorite".

I will never speak of this job for anyone who is looking for work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), New Albany, INDecember 20, 2012
I loved my job there however the managers had certain people they did and did not like. They would try to get the other employees to set the ones up they didnt like to get them fired and if you didnt do it they would then try to find something on you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst jobs I have ever had
Security Officer (Former Employee), New Albany, INDecember 8, 2012
Pros: many nice people
Cons: drama, spying, crooked, dishonest
I worked in security and it was terrible. Some there were truly good people, but some others and the leadership was not good. I witnessed my supervisor making fun of a sick person, I witnessed my supervisor cursing other team members behind their backs and some in security like to use the camera system to spy own their own people...what a joke. Some – more... there can get by with anything as others will cover up for them. The security managers office looks like a tornado hit it. I never saw such a messy office, but yet he had lots of time to set in the security office and chat or ride around with another officer.

I was also accused of doing things that I did not do, and not properly trained, and they had the nerve to extend my probation over it. POOR LEADERSHIP!!!

I learned the hard way not to trust them with any private information or problems because some turned on me and started to try to get involved in my personal affairs, when it was NONE OF THEIR BUSINESS. I got so fed up with their junk that I quit and never looked back, I am much happier now that I am away from all the drama.

This is not a reflection on the many dedicated workers that serve daily for there are many wonderful people there. But I gave an honest review of the department I worked in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant, Woman's Care (Former Employee), New Albany, INJune 25, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: early shifts
Floyd memorial is a great place to work. Everyone is friendly and the benefits are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Hospital
EVS...Housekeeping (Current Employee), New Albany, INApril 19, 2012
Pros: get a discount in cafe.
You go clean rooms...some patients are really sweet but then alot of them are real sick. So you do your best to make them comfortable while they are there, and some are there alot. The staff are friendly