Find companies:
Flying J
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
350 reviews

Flying J Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment to work
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Lewiston, IDFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: sometimes we get free lunch and bonus checks.
Cons: dealing with customers who steal fuel. had to call in drive off and would effect the days books.
My day started at 6:00 am. I had to close the previous days sales in products and fuel. Then count every till for the previous day. Entered the amount of sales and balanced the days books. Did cash and check deposits daily. I was in charge of the ATM and lottery machines which was unloaded and loaded weekly. Then cashier duties when done. I learned a lot from management. I had fun co-workers. The hardest part was to discipline workers when I had to. The fun environment was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Lamar, PAFebruary 15, 2015
Pros: 50% of fany meals at lunch
Cons: short breaks, healthcare
A typical day at work would start off with me clocking into work gettin my task paper and completing the tasks. Co-workers were very easy to get along with and always worked together to get things done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Maintenance worker (Former Employee), Salt Lake City UtFebruary 11, 2015
Pros: independance
Cons: having no transportation from work
It gave me a starting chance on having a valid job.It was nice to have a trust in me. The management was very understanding about my situation. Thy worked with my schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Place Great People I Worked With
Fuel Clerk (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNFebruary 2, 2015
Great Place To Work If You Like To Be Busy
Great People To Work With
Hardest Part Of Job To Learn Was Big Truck Fuel Register
Best Part Of Job Time Went By Quick Because You Was So Busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flying j
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee), Fargo, NDJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: half off store made items
Cons: lazy co-workers
get to work ealry
find out what has been done recently and what need to be done.
clock in get my guys on lunch so its out of the way. take care of the most immediate problems, then maintain the rest, fix pump issuse as they araise and other genral complaints one gets at a truck stop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging enviroment dealing with various personalities.
Shift manager (Former Employee), Casper, WYDecember 29, 2014
Pros: good benefits/ customer relationships were strong
Cons: negative managment
The job was challenging and rewarding. The Management team did not work well together, making it a very difficult work environment. The company, however, was a excellent company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting environment
General Manager (Former Employee), Troutdale, ORDecember 29, 2014
always something new going on. Always new and exciting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Deli Host (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 17, 2014
I worked for this job for about a year and a couple of months. this was a great first job. the company offers benefits and raises. I loved the people I worked with. the job just takes a long time to give raises. I loved working at this job. this job taught me a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Cashier (Former Employee), Lake Station, INDecember 15, 2014
Pros: alot of simple tasks
Cons: little pay
Very busy,non stop working and that's great but very little pay.You deal with the most irate customers.I learned how to do inventory of all the merchandise.Overall very easy work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Senior Database Developer (Former Employee), Ogden, UTNovember 29, 2014
In spite of the financial difficulties that ultimately led to the break-up, the workplace environment was productive. Team was close-knit, and worked well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Night Cook (Former Employee), Hubbard, OHNovember 26, 2014
Pros: customers and coworkers
Cons: extremely demanding
Not a bad place to work. Over all the management was good but there was definitely some favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Winchester, VANovember 22, 2014
Flying J was not a bad place too work for the most part. I could balance my home and work life accordingly and the pay was worth it as well. It wasn't too bad till new management took over and starting treating staff poorly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 22, 2014
Runninng the register,stock,paperwork,order supplies and inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun place to work and the people were very nice
maintance (Former Employee), Beaverdam, OHNovember 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch, nice people to work with
Cons: doing trash runs outside when its cold raining and snowing
i would take out trash, sweep and mop floors, clean restrooms and showers for truck drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the cab drivers were very nice
Cashier (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 13, 2014
Pros: learn to work in a stressful situation and not get over whelmed
Cons: sometimes the drivers get mad if they don't get good runs and won't answer you calls over the radio.
the job is stressful but the drivers are pretty nice as long as you give them a ride that will be there when they arrive to the address
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance worker maintaining clean environment
Maintenance (Former Employee), Davenport, IANovember 13, 2014
Pros: learning how to be a good maintainence person
Cons: short breaks
typical day check pump verifications and take trash outside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Server/ Cashier (Former Employee), Lake Station, INNovember 12, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: more pay
enjoyed meeting different people. like the diversity.would recommed this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Plaza very busy
Associate General Manager (Former Employee), Lake Station, INOctober 31, 2014
Pros: free meals, chance to go to any one of our restaurants for meals
Cons: company went bankrupt
kitchen manager, recruiting employees training food inventory, schedules, new menus roll out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to practice people skills
Pilot (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great people oriented job
Cons: repetitive
Restocking, cleaning, and running cash register. Learn patience and tolerance. Good peer environment. Most enjoyable part was the outdoor duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers, bad environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), North East, MDOctober 19, 2014
Pros: great regulars
Cons: short staff, dirty, rude customers
Daily I would cash out truck drivers gas purchases and other customers purchases. I would also help the maintenance team clean because they were extremely short-staffed. Management was decent, and worked with you if you had specific shift needs.
The hardest part of this job was how short-staffed everyone was. Maintnence was short so they would have a cashier cover the position, then up front would be short so deli would send someone up to cover, it was a vicious cycle.
Many drivers were rude, sexist, and dismissive of me because I am a woman. But there were some drivers who were regulars that were extremely polite and were the best part of the job. No matter how bad it got they could cheer me up.

1 2 3 4 5

About Flying J

Pilot Flying J (PFJ), formerly Pilot Travel Centers, steers truckers and otherĀ motorists to more thanĀ 550 company-owned and -operated – Read more