Focus Employee Reviews

Found 38 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy.
Focus Workforces (Former Employee) –  Union, MOJanuary 26, 2016
Very busy everyday
making sure 100% quality
Good management
Very nice co-workers very helpful
there was no hardest part
working for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun experience, i lead a lot with dealing with angry customers and upsetting people
Customer Service Representative, salesman (Former Employee) –  Roy, UTJanuary 26, 2016
i wouldn't work there again its not good enough pay for what your reaky worth. instead of paying us more they put in ping pong tables and bought us lunch every friday. i much rather get payed more then 7.25 an hour if you don't make enough sales a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but low pay
Coaches Assistant and Retention Agent (Current Employee) –  Clinton, IAJanuary 8, 2016
Lots of fun, people are nice, but customers are mean and pay is very low. Lots of room for advancement if you are a hard worker. You basically sell internet or t.v. service to telecommunications customers calling in to disconnect service.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Little breaks, bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all decent place to work
"Temporary Employee" (Former Employee) –  Maryville, MOJanuary 6, 2016
Management was easy to work with. I was on line 1 for most of my time there. with a good team that worked together very well and made everything run very smoothly. decent hours and pay but as a remp. there where no medical benifits.
Pros
decnt pay
Cons
no healthcare or and medical benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Motivating Work Place
Trainer (Current Employee) –  Sterling, ILJanuary 4, 2016
A day as a trainer at Focus is nothing less than interesting. Working in such a fast paced environment, I have to constantly be open to change and unexpected delays. I teach a group of people anywhere from 10-25 agents for a duration of 3 weeks. Starting with teaching the basic products, pricing, and ways to sell and ending with ways to overcome objections and demonstrate empathy to our customers. I love watching my agents grow and succeed; it gives me a sense of accomplishment. Working for this company has opened many doors for me to advance with management as well as grow and learn as an individual. At this point, I am coming to a halt as far as advancement goes as there are only so many other options here. I have noticed over time how much I care about this company, it's values, and the other employees here. As leaving will be extremely difficult, I know that I must continue growing and advancing within my career and hope to take my skills I've learned here and become an even better leader.
Pros
Flexibility, Fun
Cons
Work Relationships
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Productive
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Union, MOOctober 15, 2015
A productive company that thrived themselves on speed and accuracy. Made and packaged index cards on a machine. There were enjoyable co-workers and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Customer Service Rep/Sales (Former Employee) –  Ogden utahAugust 6, 2015
My first job ever. Inbound sales calls. It was a job to say the least. It just depends on whether its the best fit for you or not.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was just not a good environment for me.
Telemarketer/Sales (Former Employee) –  Sterling, ILJuly 2, 2015
I would take calls dealing with peoples bills. While I'm talking to them about their bills or other questions/concerns they have I had to try my best to sell our merchandise. At times I was required to transfer a call before i could transfer that call, no matter if they know where they need to go right away or not I needed to offer our merchandise. Our merchandise included high speed internet, television services, home phone services. The hardest parts of the job was dealing with two 7 minute breaks that you had to fight for, and talking to people that did not care about what you had to offer. Let me elaborate on that a bit. I felt like i was working in some sort of a sweat shop, with a 12 hour shift it is legally required to have a 30 minute break. Not just mine but many other co-workers would ask for their first break, most of the time that was okay. Your second break was the hard one, for some reason they did not want to give that second break out. You only get a total of 14 minutes for your break and they struggled with that. The other part that was hard to handle was people not caring about what you have to offer. I understand they were calling about bills or other questions/concerns but I believe they failed to realize that I was just doing my job as well. Of course you just need to just have patience with difficult situations like this though. I think the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know
the people you are on the phone with and getting to know your surrounding co-workers. Everybody is different and you get to realize that as you get to talk to more
  more... that 100 people a day. Especially your co-workers because working at this place is very stressful, so its good to know someone else that is going through it.  less
Pros
getting to know strangers, helping them
Cons
very little break time, understanding that not everyone is nice in the real world
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and outgoing place to work
agent (Former Employee) –  Clinton, IAMay 22, 2015
i answered phones, assisted with customer accounts and answered any questions the customers may have had. management was easy going and my coworkers were helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day Working at the Focus Group
Accounting Assistant/ Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 7, 2015
at the focus group, I am the office manager and help with light accounting assitance. I answer all calls, do all secretarial work, keep the office in order any other odd jobs that need to be done at the office. Since I am going to school for an accounting degree (in which I am going to get my public certification as well,) this job has been an amazing experience. I am able to apply concepts from my studies and see them being used in every day life. After spending so much time at the Focus group, I have also gained an understanding of economics. The hardest part of the of the job is tax season. It is such an intense and complicated experience that I believe that it has toughened me up for both my professional and adult life.
Pros
free lunches, complete trust and freedom in the workplace.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they were okay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTMarch 25, 2015
Focus was okay when I started working there they were going under new management, so everything was pretty hectic. the employees weren't so professional and the workplace wasn't so clean. and everyone was trying to advance in the job so no one was able to while I was there
Pros
easy going job
Cons
the pay and advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Director of Men's Movement (Current Employee) –  Atchison, KSFebruary 14, 2015
If you have the opportunity, be a FOCUS Missionary. Make a sacrifice for souls like Jesus Christ did for you.

You won't make a ton because your salary is fundraised, but it isn't all that hard to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Executive Assistant to COO (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 27, 2014
Typical day at work involved answering phones, data entry, helping job applicants to complete paperwork, scheduling meetings and conferences, travel planning, minority business certifications. I learned how to prioritize and multitask and work very efficiently. Management treated me with great respect and my coworkers were like family. The hardest part of the job was sorting out payroll problems amid heavy phone calls. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and greeting so many nice people who visited the office.
Pros
nice supervisors
Cons
company was not prosperous and could not adequately compensate employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spontaneous and always busy.
Costumer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Roy, UTOctober 16, 2014
A comfortable as well as spontaneous kind of job. The kind of laid-back job as in you would never know just what kind of call you would get. Kept me on my toes as the saying goes. Never the same but always was different. Thats what I actually enjoyed the most about my time there at Focus.
Pros
break times were for the most part up to myself, unless day was unusually hectic.
Cons
not as much advancement oppurtunities as i would have liked to be aware of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hrs were great , the atmosphere was relaxed and easy to be in.
Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTOctober 2, 2014
My shift at Focus was 7:00am to 4:00pm Monday -Friday. I enjoyed those hrs very much but they were usually the busiest especially when new promotions would be on for new services or new pkgs. I learned everything from communication skills, patience, and empathy and how to use them on every call. I also learned sales techniques and how to manage customers accounts to help them manage their services. The management was usually always awesome, and you always knew who you needed to go to for advice, my coworkers were very knowledgeable and helpful when needed. Also the training we received which is never enough to prepare you for being on the phones, was very adequate and I knew what I was what I was offering a customer and also what the customers needs where because of this. The hardest part of the job was sometimes the extreme volume of calls that would come in on occasion. That made it hard to really try and up sale or offer products, and the wait time would make customers extremely frustrated. The best part of the job was the people I worked with and some I'm still friends with today also the unusual perks and benefits they offered us, such as the bus passes and also the fund raisers for different charities we participated in.
Pros
the focus fund which helped out in times of need, the medical and buspasses
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the time
Placement manager & recruiter (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VirginiaSeptember 23, 2014
Hard to work in this environment. Not many opportunities to close requisitions
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drama
agent (Former Employee) –  rock falls ilSeptember 11, 2014
some people just dont know how to separate there personal lives and work lives. not able to talk to anyone on a personal level unless you want the whole place to know whether is management or other agents just a place for and easy paycheck pretty mcuh
Pros
money
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Executive Assistant and Intake Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 3, 2014
Awesome experience. Every day was a new learning point and really helped to mold my professional identity.
Pros
great environment
Cons
company went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and motivated work environment!
Telemarketing Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Dubuque, IAJuly 26, 2014
Focus is a very motivating, power driven, goal oriented work place. The flexibility they are able to offer to you as an employee is great. Co-workers, Coaches, Trainers, Supervisors, all of the authority figures have a inviting, caring, invigorating way of handling and making you feel personally important as an individual employee as apposed to comparing your personal work only as a team. The individual praising you recieve from supervisors makes the day worth while!
Pros
unlimited overtime
Cons
breaks, call accuracy
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Electronic Bill Repricer (Former Employee) –  Franklin, TNJune 12, 2014
Very busy work day from beginning to end. Co-workers were a joy to work with and I still stay connected to some of them. The hardest part of my joy was understanding certain rules but once I got the swing of it, it was fine. The most enjoyable part of the job was the hours.
Pros
good work hours, not far from home, overtime
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture