Find companies:
Follett Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Follett Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced, and fun
Temporary Store Associate (Former Employee), Downtown MiamiApril 15, 2014
Pros: questions will always be answered, understanding of employees personal commitments
Cons: short breaks
It was an enlightening experience, never a dull moment in the workplace. The fast-paced environment keeps you on your toes, on every corner there is always a customer in need and something to do. Co-workers the majority of them were either students or highly experienced retail personnel that help you along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well ran business with great co workers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 15, 2014
I personally liked my job with follett corporation at Rio Salado. I would get to interact with people all day while still get everything done around the store i needed to. The few managers that ran that store were great. They were very encouraging and helpful. The hardest part of the job was the middle of the day rush when 20 people would be in the – more... store at once all trying to check out at one time. the most enjoyable part of that job was definitely interacting with new people constantly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in trouble
Course Materials Manager (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAApril 11, 2014
Changes in the marketplace will continue to strangle this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Organized
Team Lead General Merchandise (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 6, 2014
Company is well organized. Know what they are doing.
Loved my co workers.
Management believed in me.
Rose quickly within the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and repetitive but management is very helpful and considerate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Centro, CAMarch 25, 2014
A typical day at work consists of helping students find the books they need and then ringing them up at the register.
I learned how to use the programs for looking up books and how to inventory process works.
Management and co-workers made the job worthwhile.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with the amount of students that come in during rush – more... week.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the customer find everything they need as quickly as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with friendly people. The company values the employees needs and opinions. Fast growing company.
Industrial Engineer (Current Employee), Easton, PAMarch 21, 2014
Fast-paced, lots of growth within the company. Opportunities to work on a variety of projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours until Rush when you work 12-14 hours a day 6 days
Store Manager II (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: bankers hours 9-5 m-f until rush then it's 7am-9pm m-sat
Cons: training is lacking, no job security, massive lay-offs, no authority, little support from corporate and dm
No formal training. I was given 4 days to shadow another store manager. I was not formally trained on the course materials ordering system or the store policies and procedures. There is only one person at each store who knows course materials, and everyone else is terrified of learning the textbook system. The store manager is a glorified supervisor – more... and not given the authority to discipline the employees. Approval is needed from Corporate and the Regional manager just to discipline a problem employee. When the school closes for snow days or inclement weather you are required to use your personal/vacation days. The company has done many lay-offs to full time employees. Store managers are required to learn course materials, deal with publishers, accounts payable, loss prevention, and daily operations of the store. This is very overwhelming and stressful. During rush the store manager is required to work 12-14 hours a day with no break. The manager also has to deal with textbook rental collections. The manager has to deal with upset instructors and school administration when books are sold out. There is little to no support from the staff or assistant managers because they are college students who don't give a care because they are only making minimum wage. Salaries here are not competitive and managers are under paid for the amount of work/stress that this job entails. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
store manager (Former Employee), massachsettsFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: slow, boring, who buys books?
Overall an awful company, the company is in a dying market, they fall to focus on the future, digital boom, computers, they fill the store with books, slow, I wanted to just die daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with great people
Tactical Buyer/Planner (Former Employee), Easton, PAJanuary 30, 2014
Great manufacturing company with great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very successful company
Executive Assistant, Chairman's Office (Former Employee), River Grove, ILJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: a well known and profitable company
Cons: low salaries
It was interesting working for a family owned and operated company. I learned a lot here. I really enjoyed designing the Follett Family newsletter. The high turnover there was unsettling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company just axed many full timers for part timers...
Associate (Former Employee), South Bend, INDecember 3, 2013
Pros: can't think of any.
Cons: no job security, no breaks, small raises - if any, no promotions, etc...
Not a very good company to work for.

They just let go many of their full time employees. Now hiring part time help. You'll never climb the ladder and raises are a joke. No breaks during your shift.

Job/Life balance is good since you won't get many hours being a part time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From Mchenry
Receiving clerk (Former Employee), Mchenry, ILNovember 30, 2013
Pros: flexing hours, working schedule.
Cons: poor management. the hr dept. will always side with management.
This is the worst company I have worked for. I have had over 20 different jobs in my 30 years working. This company management are bullies and dictators. I have personally seen a assistant "Supervisor" make 3 woman cry in one day. I have seen him throw things and make racist remarks about employees. When I reported him, I was told that he must have – more... been provoked. WHAT??? Do yourself a favor and keep looking elsewhere for employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet unstable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 22, 2013
Pros: 10% discount on books and a 25% discount on merchandise
Cons: there is no telling if you will be scheduled between terms. and no healthcare
a typical day at work for follett is simple except for the rush season in college. you show up when or if u are scheduled then you work either general merchandise or textbooks. in textbooks the job is to assist the customers in finding their books and keeping the shelves stocked and the floor clean. the secondary job of a textbook employee is to work – more... with the online people and find a persons orner make sure its all there and give it to them. then after the store closes we clean the store by vacuuming the floor, taking out the trash, and wiping down the windows and counters. in General merchandise the job is far easier you work the register or your straightening the store untill closing then they do the exact same cleaning duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It!
Phone Representative (Former Employee), Hampton, VAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: great enviornment, great management, great for students.
Cons: breaks, sometimes your co-workers will bail, temporary position.
Awesome job! I worked there from my senior year in high school until my last year at TNCC. The management team is awesome, work goes by quickly. Only thing that isn't so great is that it is just a temporary position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Family oriented and supportive.
Vice President, Brand Marketing and Sales (Former Employee), River Grove, ILAugust 9, 2013
Pros: see follett higher education group
Cons: see fheg
See Follett Higher Education Group. Follett Corporation is the parent company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship experience
Internship (course) (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2013
Cons: lack of communication
This internship experience was attained through a course taken during my senior year. Myself, along with a team of other students, aided Follett in creating and developing a smart phone application. The app was based on quizzes, which focused on University related trivia. We developed the quizzes, a leader board, and the basic structure for the application. – more... We also made this into a competitive game in order to draw in more users. We created a promotional event in coordination with the University bookstore and Follett.

I learned a great deal through this internship, especially how difficult it can be to successfully coordinate and communicate with other business units within Follett. I also learned about the complexity of legal issues concerning certain business ventures (i.e quiz content and promotions). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment
Accounts Receivable Clerk/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lake Worth, FLMay 22, 2013
Pros: advancement, training, co-workers
Cons: work schedule during holidays due to it being located at a college
I truly miss this position, and would still be there if I didn't have to move states due to personal reasons. I was promoted from a sales associate to the Accounts Receivable Clerk. There was never a boring day, and I was always on my toes which made the job fun. I was responsible for maintaining the store's receivable accounts with government agencies – more... that gave students scholarships for books. My manager was very helpful and helping me into the position because I never did anything of the sorts before, but I already knew the rest of the business so I was able to adapt quickly. The hardest part was leaving. I enjoyed working with my coworkers, but also the independence of my office position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional company to work for
Internal Services Clerk (Former Employee), Easton, PAJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: everything about this company
Cons: there are no cons
Thsi company was a privalage to work for. The management was professional yet fun, and the work day flew by with all the tasks that needed to be completed. My co-workers were very helpful and respectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's really good to work in this company
Stocker (Former Employee), River Grove, ILDecember 12, 2012
Warehouse is better than before. It helps to all students who haven't work before because this company they are open to all of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very good start to my professional career.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Omaha, NENovember 2, 2012
A typical day for me would be coming in clocking/signing in to my drawer and then performing any tasks that would be given. Whether that be to help finish sales at the cash register or to help a customer find a book, help put books and other miscellaneous items back on the shelf or helping the assistant manager get some packages ready to be shipped. – more... I did not one job, but many that helped me develop time management skills. – less