Follett Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Found 423 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable enviroment to work
Buyback Representative (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 26, 2016
In charge of $150,00.00 safe. Have to balance the safe and drawers of all the employees at the end of the day. Help with computer work when they are not understanding. Train new buyers. Give students cash for their used books.
Pros
meals and lodging paid for
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were alright
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marysville, CAJuly 26, 2016
The manager before the ones that are there now were really helpful. The ones there now pretty much leave no room for advancement so it was hard to maintain a job somewhere you knew that wasn't going to move you up very fast or even at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  River Grove, ILJuly 25, 2016
I was working in a call center entering book orders into the system.
Calls came from schools around US. It was a continuous high call volume.
Pros
Fast pace
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Ann Taylor - Loft Outlet
Store Manager II (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXJuly 20, 2016
Great Company. A lot of training. Great Customer Service Culture. The hardest part of the job was labor hours, we never had enough hours. Tons of work.
Pros
Customer Service Culture
Cons
Amount of Labor Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Picker and processor of different school books (Former Employee) –  Woodridge, ILJuly 17, 2016
Everyday consist of picking, processing, packing, and receiving books. How to process book into the computer. how to clean them without destroying them. ok management. some co-workers was great while others wasn't. the hardest part was hitting your numbers(they tracked your progress everyday). meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment with young, motivated employees
Lead Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 11, 2016
Excellent managerial staff that is happy to train new employees to prepare them to help customers to the best of their ability. Usually each employee has a specific department they are assigned to (ie apparel, text, technology, etc) however once properly trained, it is easy to assist customers in any department. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know my co-workers, most of them are students but it is not a requirement or an advantage to getting a position. Overall, I would recommend this company to anyone.
Pros
Friendly, caring, and understanding staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and Personal Growth Acquired
Course Materials Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Lake Worth, FLJuly 7, 2016
This company helps one understand that many parts must function in unison to succeed and the many aspects of helping a University function through communication between staff, students, publishers and the bookstores.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unclear directives or constantly changing directives.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Waynesburg, PAJuly 6, 2016
As with any company, there are pros and cons. For the pros, I would say this company allows a lot of room for advancement if the employee works hard and displays a positive attitude. As a store manager, there are ways to gain a bonus once a year which is based on targets set by home office.
As for the cons, the company does not have a comprehensive training program. It would seem that training would be important at the beginning of the job start, however, it wasn't until over a year later I received any certified training. The company also lacks clear directives and when they do have clear directives, they often change at the last minute or when the previous job was started.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Belle Glade, FLJuly 6, 2016
Working for follett i was positioned as a sales associate in the book store at plam beach state college, belle glade campus. I learned many skills that can help me advance in any field i move into, while being in a comfortable and fun environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a bookstore
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 4, 2016
A typical day can be slow depending on the hours of which you work. There are four different areas of profession of which you are assigned. Management can sometimes be based on personal ties. Co- workers are co- workers and predominantly friendly. Hardest part is nothing. The job is fairly easy and doesn't require certification. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with customers the customers are all predominantly nice and easy to work with.
Pros
discounts on text books and appearel
Cons
short breaks, short hours, no advancement, rare raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through Transition
Audit (Current Employee) –  Woodridge, ILJune 29, 2016
The Company is going through a transition with new Management. This has been going on for a few years. There has been multiple rounds of layoffs the past few years. Morale is bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work envirnoment
store manger 1 (Former Employee) –  Loch Sheldrake, NYJune 28, 2016
A store manager wears many hats. It becomes a challenge to meet directive deadlines. However, one has the opportunity to learn and develop new skill sets.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with good benefits and supportive employees
Sr. Sales Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Woodridge, ILJune 28, 2016
It is a large company where I spent a majority of my days supporting the sales team with customer inquiries. I learned a lot about the world of textbooks and novels.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentioned before
Campus bookstore Sale Associate (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MAJune 27, 2016
I have already mentioned how I felt about Follett Corporation. But overall, I enjoyed my job which wasn't a work study job.
Pros
Fun co-workers
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Receiving & Shipping (Current Employee) –  Takoma Park, MDJune 15, 2016
new things to learn everyday. getting to know about new technologies. very good atmosphere and friendly co-workers. new unexpected situation teaches me to learn thing every day. the hardest part of the job is newer software that i'm not quite familiar with. most enjoyable part is people are very friendly and management is very good,
Cons
minimum payrate
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard-working associates, confused management.
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Westchester, ILJune 14, 2016
This specialty retailer is a family-owned business for over 100 years. They have acquired several other businesses over the past several years, but have also had some dramatic layoffs.

The culture/values that are purported to be at the center of all the company does, are less evident in past few years.
Pros
Great co-workers, collaborative and interested in helping each other learn.
Cons
Tough to advance, rudderless and ever-changing direction from management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Customer service Associate (Former Employee) –  Grenada, MS 38901June 7, 2016
Seasonal job. Great manager and enjoyable position. Sold books and supplies to college students. Fast paced at times, Nice lunch break. Nice co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Westmont, ILJune 6, 2016
new management only wants to outsource work. layoffs layoffs layoffs. overload people who are left. not a good place to work anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Temporary Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dobbs Ferry, NYJune 6, 2016
I learned how to work a cash register. Co-workers were very fun and made me feel very welcomed. The easiest part of this job was running the register and ringing up customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookstore with great customer service and employee focus
Sales Associate (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJune 5, 2016
For more than 140 years, Follett has been the leading wholesale provider of textbooks. Their extensive expertise helps them deliver top-notch independent store solutions, from custom rental programs and signage to fixtures and asset protection.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 427 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6