Find companies:
Follett Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Follett Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company robs its employees
Application Developer (Former Employee), IllinoisJune 4, 2014
Company hires full time employees having them work over time during week and work all day on Saturday and does not pay them since they are considered exempt. When project is complete, management gets rid of all employees who gave so many hours for FREE to company so they would keep their job. Company should hire contract workers who get paid every hour – more... they work but save money in pretense of hiring employees who will be there a short time anyway. Company has been operating like this since the mid 70's when I first was introduced to them. Nothing has changed at all at this slave joint in the past 40 years.

DO NOT WORK FOR THEM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK FOR THEM!!
Fairfield University Sales Representative (Former Employee), Fairfield, CTMay 26, 2014
Cons: lack of communication, breaks suck, not enough pay
This place sucks! The hours are horrendous. The money is horrible. Three years (since opening day) and a 35 cent raise is not enough to live of a week if only working one to two days a week. $9.00 starting. Management is horrible.

The management were I worked changed and the new manager wants to get rid, and has gotten rid of, the staff that has built – more... that place up. The management has no appreciation for any of the staff, only taking suggestions from employees they like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing and working with students is fun
Sales and Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Glen Ellyn, ILMay 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches during rush week, flexible schedule
Cons: not enough hours
Great place to work! Help student with textbook, computer / software, supply purchases.

Help student get money back during buy back week!

Help student make the best decision on what type of format to purchase; textbook, regular price, rental purchase, digital purchase, etc.

Support shipping and receiving with incoming product. Tag, count, and prepare – more... for sales floor.

Take customer service calls.

Lots of variety and day goes by fast! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Salem, MAMay 4, 2014
Follett is a great company, especially for a the working college student. Fun workplace, with a wonderful staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced, and fun
Temporary Store Associate (Former Employee), Downtown MiamiApril 15, 2014
Pros: questions will always be answered, understanding of employees personal commitments
Cons: short breaks
It was an enlightening experience, never a dull moment in the workplace. The fast-paced environment keeps you on your toes, on every corner there is always a customer in need and something to do. Co-workers the majority of them were either students or highly experienced retail personnel that help you along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well ran business with great co workers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 15, 2014
I personally liked my job with follett corporation at Rio Salado. I would get to interact with people all day while still get everything done around the store i needed to. The few managers that ran that store were great. They were very encouraging and helpful. The hardest part of the job was the middle of the day rush when 20 people would be in the – more... store at once all trying to check out at one time. the most enjoyable part of that job was definitely interacting with new people constantly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in trouble
Course Materials Manager (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAApril 11, 2014
Changes in the marketplace will continue to strangle this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Organized
Team Lead General Merchandise (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 6, 2014
Company is well organized. Know what they are doing.
Loved my co workers.
Management believed in me.
Rose quickly within the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and repetitive but management is very helpful and considerate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Centro, CAMarch 25, 2014
A typical day at work consists of helping students find the books they need and then ringing them up at the register.
I learned how to use the programs for looking up books and how to inventory process works.
Management and co-workers made the job worthwhile.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with the amount of students that come in during rush – more... week.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the customer find everything they need as quickly as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with friendly people. The company values the employees needs and opinions. Fast growing company.
Industrial Engineer (Current Employee), Easton, PAMarch 21, 2014
Fast-paced, lots of growth within the company. Opportunities to work on a variety of projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours until Rush when you work 12-14 hours a day 6 days
Store Manager II (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: bankers hours 9-5 m-f until rush then it's 7am-9pm m-sat
Cons: training is lacking, no job security, massive lay-offs, no authority, little support from corporate and dm
No formal training. I was given 4 days to shadow another store manager. I was not formally trained on the course materials ordering system or the store policies and procedures. There is only one person at each store who knows course materials, and everyone else is terrified of learning the textbook system. The store manager is a glorified supervisor – more... and not given the authority to discipline the employees. Approval is needed from Corporate and the Regional manager just to discipline a problem employee. When the school closes for snow days or inclement weather you are required to use your personal/vacation days. The company has done many lay-offs to full time employees. Store managers are required to learn course materials, deal with publishers, accounts payable, loss prevention, and daily operations of the store. This is very overwhelming and stressful. During rush the store manager is required to work 12-14 hours a day with no break. The manager also has to deal with textbook rental collections. The manager has to deal with upset instructors and school administration when books are sold out. There is little to no support from the staff or assistant managers because they are college students who don't give a care because they are only making minimum wage. Salaries here are not competitive and managers are under paid for the amount of work/stress that this job entails. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
store manager (Former Employee), massachsettsFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: slow, boring, who buys books?
Overall an awful company, the company is in a dying market, they fall to focus on the future, digital boom, computers, they fill the store with books, slow, I wanted to just die daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with great people
Tactical Buyer/Planner (Former Employee), Easton, PAJanuary 30, 2014
Great manufacturing company with great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Follett financially unstable, recently downsized ~600 jobs .
IP (Former Employee), Oa BrookJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: no work / life balance, unreasonable expectations for performance, lack of resources to perform job, weak middle management.
Anyone looking to start a career at follett, stay away. This company is undergoing major structural changes as well as having new senior leadership, who has cleaned house extensively. Roughly 600 jobs were downsized in November alone. Many talented individuals have already left and countless more are looking to leave. The situation at follett will only – more... get worse before it gets better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very successful company
Executive Assistant, Chairman's Office (Former Employee), River Grove, ILJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: a well known and profitable company
Cons: low salaries
It was interesting working for a family owned and operated company. I learned a lot here. I really enjoyed designing the Follett Family newsletter. The high turnover there was unsettling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From Mchenry
Receiving clerk (Former Employee), Mchenry, ILNovember 30, 2013
Pros: flexing hours, working schedule.
Cons: poor management. the hr dept. will always side with management.
This is the worst company I have worked for. I have had over 20 different jobs in my 30 years working. This company management are bullies and dictators. I have personally seen a assistant "Supervisor" make 3 woman cry in one day. I have seen him throw things and make racist remarks about employees. When I reported him, I was told that he must have – more... been provoked. WHAT??? Do yourself a favor and keep looking elsewhere for employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet unstable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 22, 2013
Pros: 10% discount on books and a 25% discount on merchandise
Cons: there is no telling if you will be scheduled between terms. and no healthcare
a typical day at work for follett is simple except for the rush season in college. you show up when or if u are scheduled then you work either general merchandise or textbooks. in textbooks the job is to assist the customers in finding their books and keeping the shelves stocked and the floor clean. the secondary job of a textbook employee is to work – more... with the online people and find a persons orner make sure its all there and give it to them. then after the store closes we clean the store by vacuuming the floor, taking out the trash, and wiping down the windows and counters. in General merchandise the job is far easier you work the register or your straightening the store untill closing then they do the exact same cleaning duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It!
Phone Representative (Former Employee), Hampton, VAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: great enviornment, great management, great for students.
Cons: breaks, sometimes your co-workers will bail, temporary position.
Awesome job! I worked there from my senior year in high school until my last year at TNCC. The management team is awesome, work goes by quickly. Only thing that isn't so great is that it is just a temporary position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Family oriented and supportive.
Vice President, Brand Marketing and Sales (Former Employee), River Grove, ILAugust 9, 2013
Pros: see follett higher education group
Cons: see fheg
See Follett Higher Education Group. Follett Corporation is the parent company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship experience
Internship (course) (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2013
Cons: lack of communication
This internship experience was attained through a course taken during my senior year. Myself, along with a team of other students, aided Follett in creating and developing a smart phone application. The app was based on quizzes, which focused on University related trivia. We developed the quizzes, a leader board, and the basic structure for the application. – more... We also made this into a competitive game in order to draw in more users. We created a promotional event in coordination with the University bookstore and Follett.

I learned a great deal through this internship, especially how difficult it can be to successfully coordinate and communicate with other business units within Follett. I also learned about the complexity of legal issues concerning certain business ventures (i.e quiz content and promotions). – less