Fontana Unified School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience and very organized teachers
College Tutor (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAAugust 18, 2016
everything in the district is very organized which makes me more involved into my duties. Teacher are very excited to be working in such a well educated district.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute teacher
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAMay 25, 2016
A typical day is to teach students various subjects great environment with staff and children. The school district is very accommodating for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Clerk Typist / Teacher Aide / Special Ed (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CASeptember 11, 2015
Clerk Typist duties included general office duties such as filing, data entry and answering telephones
Teacher Aide / Special Ed duties included working with special need children in the areas of reading, math, spelling, etc.
Pros
Enjoyed working with the children
Cons
Office politics could sometimes be a challenge
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a job available
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fontana CaliforniaJune 22, 2015
I only signed up for k-6 but I seemed to always have a job daily Monday through Friday. You need to be ready to handle kids well. I enjoyed working lower grades.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
PAT Educator (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAFebruary 23, 2015
*My typical day of work at FUSD was to prepare documents and activities at the school site, visit the families scheduled for that day, visiting family at their home and work with the parent and children enrolled in the program.

*I learned the importance of a developing a relationship with the parents and promoting this relationship with the parents, school and community too.

* Very Supportive and helpful management.

* Excellent co-workers who I considered my family.

*The hardest part of the job was having to say good bye to the families after their children exited the program.

*Seeing the children grow physical, emotional and intellectually.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
First Grade Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 29, 2015
Enjoyed the students and staff. The Principal was very supportive and plenty of workshops to further your skills. Also, opportunities to exchange ideas with other schools.
Pros
loved teaching 1st grade
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Teacher Aide Severely Handicap/Multiple Handicap (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 14, 2015
If you love education and children you will love your job! Staff is always friendly and willing to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy enviroment with people who care about our youth.
Sattille Kitchen Operator (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAOctober 11, 2014
A positive workplace with many good ideas for children to grow up to be productive adults in the future.
Pros
good benifets packet
Cons
not enough time to do job perfectly
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 24, 2014
Daily interaction with students and teachers. ongoing assistance with assignments, homework, tests, and clerical duties. The staff is wonderful to work with and very helpful. The challenges may consist of discipline issues, with various students new to the environment of a High School classroom. A daily learning experience with new academic concepts that may be unfamiliar.
Pros
watching students pass their classes
Cons
lack of benefits and part time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work as substitute teacher
Substitute teacher (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CaJune 25, 2014
I have to fill in as a teacher for multiple subjects for grades Pre K to twelth grade.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job with lots of experience
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAMay 24, 2014
stocking and inventory of health and beauty department. in charge of floral department inventory and weekly ordering,
Pros
great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with children
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAApril 17, 2014
Planned activities for learning and playing.directed and supervised activities and games.gave emergency first aid.prepared nutritious snacks and meal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the best job I ever had!
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAMarch 27, 2014
This job was most fulfilling. The principal was inspirational, the students were motivated and excited about learning, and my co-workers were a pleasure to work with. It was a great learning experience for me and I looked forward to going to work each day,.
Pros
this was truly a school with purpose, direction, and spirit.
Cons
the only con i can think of was having to leave for summer vacations.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  FontanaMarch 25, 2014
Great Company,
Great Co-Workers
Great Management
Great Students
Enjoyable all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. People are nice and helpful.
Substitute Custodian (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAMarch 20, 2014
The school district is a good place to work. Once you are hired on as a permanent employee, the job is secure and you have excellent benefits. Substitutes, like myself, do not have the benefits but it has provided me with the ability to go back to school and still be able to work as my schedule allows me.
Pros
8 hours minimum, ability to work when you want.
Cons
sometimes there isnt enough work for an 8 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and close to home job
school bus driver (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 26, 2014
My job is only temp and we don't work summer.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being outdoors
Pros
close to home
Cons
10 month job position
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!
Instructional Bilingual Aide (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Always looking forward to this job. Teachers I worked with were awesome! Learning the curriculum was fun. Reading/Teaching to a group of kids was great. Everyone from staff to parents worked together nicely, all for the sake and the education of our children.
Pros
great hours, great dress code, great coworkers, and stress free.
Cons
no health care for part time (but it was fine for me)
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding experience to workwith special needs children and their successes.
Para-professional (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 16, 2013
This position began as a part-time job while my children were young and just beginning school, however it evolved into a very motivating and inspiring job. Working to with Special needs teens and helping then mature and grow has been an amazing experience. A typical day consists of tutoring, monitoring students. Clerical duties, interactions with other staff,teachers, principals, school police,parents etc.
Pros
student interaction
Cons
part-time work is only available
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Child Care Provider
Preschool Aide (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 3, 2013
I am currently working as a personal child care provider for a family member who has three children, ages 5-10. Assisting the children with homework and school assignments builds great study skills for the child and learning techniques for myself. I also prepare meals with children and take them to after school activities, which I believe creates confidence in a child's self esteem. My prior employment was a Preschool Aide and I miss it very much but working with other age groups teaches me the great emphasis for early education and therefore plan to return to school and achieve my goals in my education.
Pros
enjoy working with children prek - 12, i learn something new every day.
Cons
not always a full time job but worth the learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job EVER!
Sub Custodian (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CANovember 21, 2012
Out of all the jobs I've had, this one was my favorite one! I can't really think of anything bad to say about this job except be careful when you work there. People will betray you. I only lost my job there because I did something stupid which I will never do again. Other than that, I loved my job and I miss it.
Pros
the job was easy and payed good.
Cons
being stupid and losing your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

Fontana Unified School District Reviews by Job Title

Fontana Unified School District Reviews by Location