Food Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Found 56 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional environment
Spanish translator / Intake (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2016
It was a very unprofessional environment. Managers were not professional at all. Even the Project Coordinator were not professional. Managers did not train or did not take time to train.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Gig Harbor, WAMay 9, 2016
working at a food bank is always busy, help people bring food to their cars. Customer service and delivering food to the food bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoingf serving the community in need
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 22, 2016
i learned that helping others is sometimes better than helping your self. people that work there are friendly and kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and did many Community events.and drivves
Director of Donations (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIApril 17, 2016
On a regular day at work it would be me calling and confirming donations, deliveries, and who is assigned to what detail.
The main and most important thing is for a manager/owner to have and practice is patience, and common sense. You have to really listen to the person whom is speaking to you and compression what they are saying to you. I have always had fun with my volunteers; given them with respect but firmness and things seem to rum smooth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but productive food bank
Road Runner (Former Employee) –  NMApril 1, 2016
Great team work packaging canned goods for the homeless and the people working there are very nice and humble. It was a nice volunteer opportunity and I got to learn how to work with a lot of people from kids to seniors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A enojoyable place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 22, 2016
My work at Food Bank was to separate, accommodate, and pack food boxes. I also cleaned the work place. What I learned about this work was to know the food's date of expiry.
Pros
Food Knowledge
Cons
Cold places
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Senior Management is horrible
Benefits Specialist/Intake Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2016
Dealt with multiple clients of all walks of life. How to assist clients with barriers of HRA. Upper management did not believe in their team. The hardest part of the Job was leaving all the clients that I assisted. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to assist clients in receiving all their entitlements.
Pros
Helping the clients recieve all benefits
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imagination
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJanuary 7, 2016
I learned in arts that imagination is very important when you are doing a art using any tools you can find including using technology.
Pros
Art, graphic design, imagination, etc.
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours
Warehouse Stocker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 14, 2015
I had great hours and from time to time i was offered overtime. People were great to work with and my supervisors were also great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
inventory specialist (Current Employee) –  grovecityOctober 6, 2015
The Mid-Ohio Food Bank has an family environment when you work for or even volunteer for them. This has been the best job that I have come across thus far I would recommend anyone trying for a career and or a job to apply they do amazing work with the community as well.
Pros
Wages
Cons
lack of equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  pleasantville njOctober 3, 2015
This was a good place to volunteer and help people in need . Also, help watching baby's and kids which I love to do. I had good days working with different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work environment
Production Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 26, 2015
Prep loads and use forklift in 2 different warehouses. Typically supervise, train and coordinate daily volunteers. Hard worker and team player.
Pros
Fast pace
Cons
health care and better benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
administration (Current Employee) –  greeley coJuly 21, 2015
I love working here, helping people is so nice and giving people what they really need is the best feeling in the world. help giving people the food and resources to find what they need is beneficial to me and our society.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in helping needy people
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 14, 2015
There is a lot of varieties of products to hand out to people,
The volunteers are easy to work with.
Organized with the products and people.
Product is delivered in an acceptable pace.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Heavy lifting, food may be spoiled (rarely)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at or volunteer
organizing (Former Employee) –  los angelesJuly 14, 2015
it was a great experiences for me when i volunteer there,i enjoy volunteering there great people around and you learn many things they do inside from working and fixing things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy enviroment
Crew (Former Employee) –  Dothan, AlJuly 8, 2015
A typical day of volunteering at a Food Bank requires lifting object, stocking, weighing groceries for the customers total, assisting customers on the floor, and assisting drivers.
Pros
Customer Service Experience
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Tax Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 3, 2015
took information from clients based on their tax needs, made appointments and I loved working here. coworkers were also easy and outgoing.
Pros
experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worked temporarily
Temporary Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  LAJuly 2, 2015
The Food Bank was a great organization to work for but it is my understanding that they have completely started fresh and hired all new staff (including director).

The position that I held at the Food Bank was only temporary, as they needed a specific task to be accomplished and were only given a small widow to do it.

Overall it was a great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Culture
Case Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  Hampton Roads, VAJuly 1, 2015
Food Bank, South Hampton Roads, VA (Nov.2013)
Case Manager Intern
• Completed 50-hour field placement
• Assisted case manger
• Completed client screening for admission
• Assisted with charity activities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, nice people
Cook, two days a week (Former Employee) –  Black Mountain, NCJune 20, 2015
great while it lasted, closed down, made great friends, sorry it was artificially, closed down because people in charge were tired of doing, overseeing. I could have run it myself but they took the nonprofit tax exempt license with them, without which, the service could not operate
Pros
free lunch, new friends
Cons
closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1