Find companies:
Food City
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
184 reviews

Food City Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Gatlinburg, TNMay 13, 2014
This job was the best thing for a high school student. it gave you gas money to run with your friends and eat out. they would work with your school hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for kids
Day Stocker (Former Employee), Maynardville, TNMay 5, 2014
Pros: benifets
Cons: part time
unloaded trucks, stocked merchandise, at my store poorly managed, you have to be the bosses buddy to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Oliver Springs, TNApril 30, 2014
This was my first job experience. Had the oppertunity to work with people and deal with differnent customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you have no life outside work!
Confidential (Former Employee), ConfidentialApril 28, 2014
Pros: esop and benefits
Cons: no work/life balance
No work/life balance. Underpaid, Benefits are good. If you are good at what you do, you are pretty much stuck there until you retire or until a supervisor dies,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first real job
Cashier (Former Employee), Oak Ridge, TNApril 14, 2014
I would say this is a great first job teaches you a lot of things you will learn in other careers and is a good pathway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress enviroment
Associate (Current Employee), Piney Flats, TNApril 10, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: little benefits for part time
Excellent place for part-time. Very Positive co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, just repetitive.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 8, 2014
Fun work place, but if a routine gets to be annoying for you, this job isn't for you. Great work place, great coworkers, good management. Easy to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Bagger (Former Employee), Blountville, TNApril 6, 2014
Pros: paid fifteen minute break, hour lumch break
Cons: terrible weather conditions, rude customers on occassions
My experience with this local grocery store chain was short, but it was not a half bad job. It kept me busy when I was not doing something with the school band. They did a fair job with me, considering that I was still a high school senior, got through a little bit of my college career, but the hours were always limited due to my studies. I went out – more... on a bad note, but the job was hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students
Cashier (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 2, 2014
If you're in school and need a way to make some money, Food City is a great place to work. They always tried to work with my schedule and were very accommodating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk/Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Church Hill, TNApril 2, 2014
Pros: good working environment, flexible schedule
Cons: can be hard to advance, sometime not enough hours available
It is a good place to work, but sometimes hard to advance. It is a good working environment and a flexible schedule, but sometimes working hours are scarce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, no help
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Bristol, VAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: independent work environment
Cons: no help
It was very hard to get everything without help you were on your own in your area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Great first job.
Assistant Stock Manager (Former Employee), Hazard, KYMarch 23, 2014
Easy going managers. Good shifts. Decent lunch breaks. Great pay. Friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to meet new people
Bagger (Former Employee), Middlesboro, KYMarch 22, 2014
Pros: new friends
Cons: short breaks
people I worked with was into sports and things I liked. if we was not busy or had free time we would tell jokes or talk about which sports teams we liked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All of the associates are great and easy to work with.
Courtesy Clerk & Cashier (Former Employee), Paintsville, KYMarch 18, 2014
Pros: great associates and great managers.
Cons: schedule was never always the same.
When I clock on I would sign on to the register, check out any customers that are there waiting. Then found out my chores for the day and continue with my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
cashier (Former Employee), Jonesborough, TNMarch 16, 2014
its a great first job. Teaches you job responsibility. The managers are ok and the co-workers are awesome. Its also nice to see returning customers all the time you feel like you know everyone on a personal basis..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
back office computer work
cashier and back office manager (Former Employee), Jonesborough, TNMarch 10, 2014
got paper work to record daily sales made of the previous day. made a deposite verified documents. ordered supplies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a challenging job with lots of learning
Cook/Shift Leader (Current Employee), Gray, TNMarch 7, 2014
I cook alot of different things each day. The biggest thing is chicken. I have learned how to make different kinds of sandwiches and other dishes. I get along with most of the coworkers I have. The hardest part of my job is the heavy equipment that i move and clean everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
still the safety issue with this company
Bake/Cashier/Deli Line (Current Employee), Knoxville,TNMarch 6, 2014
like co workers, protective aprons and cover jackets, get to pick my schedule and hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I thought...
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Kingsport, TNMarch 5, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: everything else
After working here for a month, I decided to resign due to the management being completely and utterly unreliable. I am in school and every shift they decided to give me was against my school schedule, and they knew it. The co-workers are great, and I met some pretty cool people. But management NEEDS to be fixed. They are also very avoiding when it – more... comes to talking about your current situation and not being able to cope with their given schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over seeing produce area, checking guidlines and proticalls
Produce Manager (Former Employee), Morristown, TNMarch 5, 2014
Pros: stable work schedule
Cons: pay wasn't high enough and beniefets was not worth paying for
I would go threw a checklist making sure everything has been done correctly. Placing orders for product and arranging shipments and checking inventory lists.

About Food City

Bashas' is working up a sweat standing its ground in the Southwest. The regional grocery chain operates about 130┬ástores (down – Read more