Find companies:
Food City
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

Food City Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job with close bonds and cooperation
Frozen Food Manager (Former Employee), Independence, VAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities, skill building
Cons: lack of proper tools to do job more efficiently
A typical day at work at Food City included unloading stock from the delivery truck, doing inventory, and stocking items on the shelves with the overflow going back into the freezer in an organized manner. I learned how to be a leader and how to efficiently utilize my time in order to achieve the best results. Management was very involved in ensuring – more... the best work environment was provided. My co-workers were all willing to help one-another regardless of the department. The hardest part of the job was maintaining proper inventory for seasonal changes, though this was compensated for by experience and preemptive actions. The most enjoyable part of the job was coming in to work every day with people I considered family and interacting closely with customers to help best meet individual needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with great co-workers
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Tucson, ArizonaJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, great managers.
Cons: busy holidays
Great first job made really good friends there and was always kept busy. I learned great customer service skills and how to work in a fast paced, high pressure environment. Co-workers and managers were great to work with, only had one bad experience with one of the managers, but definitely had more good times than bad times. The hardest part of the – more... job was the fast pace environment, which was not very hard to accommodate to. The most enjoyable part of the job was to be able to work with good friends any shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job is never the same, and new customer service skills are required everyday.
Cashier/Trainer of new Cashiers (Current Employee), Dandridge, TNJuly 16, 2014
Pros: meeting new people everyday.
Cons: long and late hours, pay isn't that great for the experience i bring in my position.
I really like working with the public, but miss the office environment. I work really late hours while going to school, however, I don't call-in and I'm rarely ever late. I train the new employees, help oversee the baggers and their job performance, handle customer complaints, if there isn't a solution I can provide I forward to the appropriate manager – more... who can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front end clerk/ computer room operator
Front End Clerk (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 14, 2014
When I first started I got hired on as a cashier. I greeted customers, rang up grocery transactions, helped keep front end clean, watched over the self checkout podium, ran the service desk and ordered certain items for inventory. Now I work in the cash office balancing the safe and balancing tills. I have greatly enjoyed my co-workers and management – more... was always very flexible with my needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved This Job
FLM/CASHIER/GAS N GO/VIDEO (Former Employee), Kingston, TNJuly 8, 2014
Cons: under train you.
Great grocery store. Managers willing to work with difficult schedules. Clean atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at Food City was enjoyable and stress free. I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Scanning Coordinator, Bookkeeper, Cashier (Former Employee), Middlesboro, KYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: co-workers and customer service. no taking the job home.
Cons: no health benefits
At the position I left the company, Scanning Coordinator, I worked independently making sure prices were clearly marked and correct, as well as scanned with the correct information, as changes occurred. Working with outside vendors ensuring the product they brought into the store matched inventory lists as well as displayed neatly. Overseeing staff – more... in assisting with price changes and pulling items to validate scanning through cash register was the hardest part of the job due to relying on others to pull the items to be scanned. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with customers and co-workers. Management gave clear instructions as to what was needed and required of me with a reasonable time frame in which to complete the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very creative envioroment
Baker (Current Employee), Livermore Falls, MEJuly 3, 2014
Pros: very creative envioroment
Cons: not enough hours
The management staff encourages creativity of creating new products to be sold to our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food City
Fuel Clerk (Former Employee), Whitesburg, KYJune 26, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: your not allowed to be 'considered' full time
I only worked for a short amount of time, but during my time my coworkers made me feel very much welcome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my 1st job when I was 16 soI think it would be a greatt starter job!
Cashier (Former Employee), Hazard, KYJune 25, 2014
I ran the cash register, cleaned my station, counted money. the hardest part is defintely cleaning the bathrooms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stores to work for.
Stocker (Current Employee), Kingsport, TNJune 6, 2014
Hours are great for college students. Most jobs are flexible in the hours in all departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy days, always staying busy
Cashier (Former Employee), Vansant, VAJune 4, 2014
A typical day at work would be ringing up groceries, busy most of the time. I have learned how to deal with money and be responsible, and also learned how to talk to people . Management was strict and that was because most co-workers were lazy and didn't want to do their job. To me it was a good thing they were strict. The hardest part of the job was – more... bending down or lifting things most of the day. The most enjoyable was talking and getting to know my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very relaxed place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee), Spruce Pine, NCMay 27, 2014
Western Sizzlin is a locally owned restaurant with a very casual environment. The owners are very nice and very easy to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was awful
Cashier (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Food City is the WORST place to work. At the location I worked at had horrible management and trashy people everywhere I looked. All of it just sucked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very diverse place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee), Tucson, AZMay 21, 2014
Pros: meet new people everyday.
Cons: short breaks and insurance premiums to high.
Food City is a place to meet many different people. It has great management, but no back-up. The customer is always rite, even when they are not rite. A lot of standing, but overall a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun, productive work place.
Cashier (Former Employee), Pikeville, KYMay 13, 2014
A typical day at the day care was going in and getting things set up before the kids arrived. I learned so much about each & every child i took care of, the kids were amazing & i fell in love with them all. My management was good. The hardest part of this job was when it was time to leave. The most enjoyable part was getting to see all the loving, smiling – more... faces every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Gatlinburg, TNMay 13, 2014
This job was the best thing for a high school student. it gave you gas money to run with your friends and eat out. they would work with your school hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for kids
Day Stocker (Former Employee), Maynardville, TNMay 5, 2014
Pros: benifets
Cons: part time
unloaded trucks, stocked merchandise, at my store poorly managed, you have to be the bosses buddy to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Oliver Springs, TNApril 30, 2014
This was my first job experience. Had the oppertunity to work with people and deal with differnent customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you have no life outside work!
Confidential (Former Employee), ConfidentialApril 28, 2014
Pros: esop and benefits
Cons: no work/life balance
No work/life balance. Underpaid, Benefits are good. If you are good at what you do, you are pretty much stuck there until you retire or until a supervisor dies,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first real job
Cashier (Former Employee), Oak Ridge, TNApril 14, 2014
I would say this is a great first job teaches you a lot of things you will learn in other careers and is a good pathway

About Food City

Bashas' is working up a sweat standing its ground in the Southwest. The regional grocery chain operates about 130┬ástores (down – Read more