Food For Thought Employee Reviews in United States

Found 24 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cook, Prep cook
Prep cook (Former Employee) –  Lincolnwood, ILNovember 16, 2015
fast, straight forward work. Consistant, Professional. I learned the operation of catering the order of service and detail. Management was awesome and lead by example never asked one of something that they were not willing to do first.
Pros
Free lunch no real late late nights consist work
Cons
Had to call in for scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Sales Director (Current Employee) –  Honor, MISeptember 25, 2015
Many good people work here including the owners. I have learned much about our food chain starting with organic food and Non-GMO. Being a small company it's hard to get the distribution needed to grow at a steady pace.
Pros
Employers/Employees
Cons
No Health Care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High End Catering / Scratch Kitchen
Events Manager (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DelawareApril 9, 2015
Prioritize all delivers and work jobs, such as hot and cold food, driving schedule, timing ect.
Delegate jobs to employee's as needed. Order food , paper products and beverages. Make sure day to day operations are executed properly.
Many subtleties of off premise catering things that are unique to the individual events.
Must be able to think on your feet and adapt to a changing situation. I have outstanding co-workers, they are dedicated, professional and always willing to help the team.
Last minute additions or changes to events.
Speaking with customers, getting feed back on the Job we are doing and exceeding expiations.
Pros
Fellow Empolyee's
Cons
Cut in Hours, No Breaks, No Health Care or Benefit's
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great company to work for
Service Provider (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 19, 2012
Food For Thought, has a great environment to work. It is a very diverse organization and people who work there seem to enjoy what they do.
Pros
flexible schedule and good salary
Cons
long hours standing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just ok
Executive Chef - Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2015
it was an ok job, upper management plays a lot of games. Low pay, impractical processes. Co-workers tend to complain a lot, some people were good to work with, did not care for upper management tactics.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a waste of time to have meetings about job culture, if everyone is not required to follow those values.
Waitstaff (Current Employee) –  Lincolnwood, ILFebruary 26, 2015
From start to finish, you can clearly see who the hard workers were and all of the friends and family standing around slacking off.
Waitstaff are all down to earth. It's not a hard job, you do have to hustle, but its not very motivating when you see family members of staffing not lifting a finger. Staffing is unprofessional, impatient, and rude on the phone. Receiving most shifts is based on nepotism rather than how hard you work.
Pros
great tips for part-time work.
Cons
lots of nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained valuable work experience from this intern position
Website Administrator (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCApril 27, 2014
I met with the Executive Director weekly to get my assignments for the week and then used my laptop to work online on their site. I made changes by adding article content and updating categories and links on the site. I also created and posted new links and articles and done some graphic work for their site.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture standards, selfish leaders
Field Manager (Current Employee) –  Lincolnwood, ILMay 12, 2015
The cultural standards the company strives for are commendable. Leadership, however, does not reflect these cultural standards in their actions.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to work for
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 15, 2015
I really enjoyed working for this company. They are a very well put together organization. I liked how professional they were and how the employees worked together as a team.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work, staff was like family
Grocery Manager/Buyer (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 18, 2013
I learned management skills. I experienced working on multiple projects at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Lincolnwood, IllNovember 23, 2014
Working in catering was great. I got to meet awesome people and travel all around the city. I got to see all kinds of venues and weddings. The uniforms were comfortable. And it was a pretty busy and flexible schedule. You even get to met famous people.
Pros
always busy, face pace envorinment
Cons
short breaks, sometimes didn't eat
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to see people making positive changes for life
Nutrition and Wellness Consultant (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 9, 2013
Never the same, challenging and very rewarding. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see the positive changes clients were able to make in a relatively short period of time given the challenges we were addresing.
Pros
self employed
Cons
must to everything yourself to be successful
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy and love what i do and the peolpe around me.
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 19, 2012
Productive and a fun company to work for... the people that you work with are fun to be around. the hardest part of the job is none, if you do what your asked to do, things will be fine. if you enjoy what your doing the job is breath taking....
Pros
you improve on your skills and you learn what you dont know.
Cons
its only a part time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home based business
Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Upper Darby, PAJune 11, 2014
Sales vary season to season. Not a reliable income. Sales are good in the Thanksgiving and Easter seasons. Otherwise sales are slow.
Pros
work from home on my own time
Cons
unstable income
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent food culture, Beautiful food presentations,
Off Premise Prep-Cook (Current Employee) –  Lincolnwood, ILOctober 23, 2014
Each time I work an event, l am highly impressed with the food I am presenting .
Pros
exeriencing different cuisines
Cons
attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place
Prep, cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2012
I really enjoyed working with Food for Thought.. However it was a part time work set up or when there was work and for me it was little to none so I soon had to find other employment.
Pros
after pay you can also bring in tips
Cons
no breaks, schedule no constant
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Amherst, MAJuly 17, 2014
I had co-workers that I could easily ask to repeat the instructions on a task they asked to do if I wasn't sure how to do the task. The most enjoyable aspect of this job was learning how to interact with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Water park locations all over the city of chicago and surburbs
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2012
Iwas a consessions stand worker it was pretty good service was great smooth work place it was only a summer job though
Pros
free lunches
Cons
just the locations was hard to find
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
On Premise Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 14, 2014
Daily tasks involve creating a clean work space for catered events based on the location placed.
Pros
innovative menus and venues
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Lead Chef (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 10, 2012
It's a Great cocmpany, we do a fantastic job through teamwork and great leadership
Pros
fun and exciting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Food For Thought. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0