Food Safety Net Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great involvement
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIDecember 20, 2017
Great place to work and co-workers was great. Steady work and hard work but it was fair to all workers. It is sometimes hard and heavy work but there are day you relax as well.
Pros
Great cookouts and great party for holidays
Cons
Sometimes heavy and hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for experience and connections!
Lab Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 13, 2017
There is always work at FSNS and it never runs out which is good! It keeps you busy and the management staff is really flexible with your schedule. At food safety you will for sure get good experience and the people there are amazing!
Pros
Free lunches sometimes and break room always has donuts
Cons
donuts get you fat
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 30, 2017
There should have been much more training for the role I was in and the pay is below average for similar companies and roles. However, the benefits are great and the President of the company is great to work for
Pros
I loved my work and the people I spoke with every day.
Cons
lack of training versus the expectation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people do not matter
N/A (Current Employee) –  TexasAugust 20, 2017
People do not matter. Speed is more important than quality. Self sacrifice for the sake of the business is the only valued metric. Expect to be used and abused.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good working environment.
Microbiologist (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXAugust 15, 2017
Manager and supervisor are not open-minded people. Pay low rate but more works and time efforts requested. More and more technicians left this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work/life balance
Pathology Lab Analyst (Former Employee) –  TexasJuly 24, 2017
the unspoken motto is "Never make plans after work". The turnover is extremely high and there is no training available. They pretty much follow you around the first day and then throw you into the lab.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful independence
Login Technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 27, 2017
This job places you in a very independent environment, it is not often that someone will be able to help you out if you are struggling. It is very fast paced and demanding. The management could be better.
Pros
Occasional free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
questionable
Pathology Labratory Analyst (Current Employee) –  Springdale, ARMay 4, 2017
Good place for refining micro techniques, fast paced, overloaded job duties, very short staffed, no verbal manager communication of any kind. Left up to each individual to learn without proper training, no appreciation or acknowledgement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to get easy work experience
Micro Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CA 93706April 30, 2017
If you are willing to trade your time for easy training in product testing, then this is the place. It is fairly easy to gain employment here and then to get trained as well.
Pros
Work experience
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping Stone
Senior Chemistry Technician (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78216April 24, 2017
Good people to work with but very unorganized as a business.
Problems ranging from improper equipment/instrumentation to negative environment to conduct scientific tests. The "Laboratory" is a seventies auto garage that has been converted. So the problems that would arise, frequently do.
Stressful work due to below the bar compensation. Always delayed work due to current system in place for processing samples.
Pros
Complementary food
Cons
Overall quality is below average
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would have stayed longer if the pay was better
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MIApril 13, 2017
I only worked for this company for 3 months. I enjoyed the work, my management and co-workers. The pay was so bad that there was a lot of turnover. I think there are good opportunities for advancement if you are willing to move to a different location.
Pros
The work was straightforward and my co-workers were fun
Cons
The hourly pay wasn't competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many instruments
Chemist II (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 27, 2017
Its a great place to work if you want learn how to run different analytical instruments. I've worked there 3 years and i'm proficient in running ICP, GC, HPLC, & LCMSMS.
Pros
Many instruments and methods, so you're never bored
Cons
Long hour and the lab is open 7 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Stressful Workplace
Assistant Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAFebruary 22, 2017
During my time at FSNS, I found it to be very stressful. The training was inadequate based on the job description and overall responsibilities of the job. Many of the employees were dissatisfied with pay and the hours that they were expected to work. Salary employees were not appreciated for the effort that they put in day after day. The overall workplace was unhealthy and did not promote maintaining employees for the long-term.
Pros
Clean workplace
Cons
Overworked Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a Joke
Path lab analyst (Former Employee) –  TexasFebruary 7, 2017
Unprofessionalism is the key here. The leads and supervisors are immature and ineffective. Be prepared to have eyes rolled at you, or be treated like you're a waste of time. Management plays favorites. Write ups are used as a threat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great as a stepping stone
Senior Microbiologist (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJanuary 27, 2017
work here BEFORE you finish your degree, they will work with you're school schedule. once you get the degree, you will have built up the experience that opens up more doors once you get degreed.
Pros
always hiring, great experience if you're hungry for it
Cons
long hours, odd days off, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll regret working here for the rest of your life
Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 24, 2016
My advice:

Withdraw your job application, forget this company exists, delete your browser history. You may need professional help to forget.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
High turnover rate, Favoritism regarding PTO
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for new graduates who need work experience.
Pathogen Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJanuary 8, 2016
My shift was Wednesday thru Sunday from 4:00pm to 1am. Work started off by usually catching up on the work that has rolled over from the morning. There are sometimes time for breaks but if there is a lot of work you usually won't want to take them, since you can't leave until all the work is done. There is a lot of responsibility placed on those that work this shift in the pathogen lab but are not compensated accordingly. This is a great place to get experience for new grads, as they do run a lot of different test that will look good on your resume. I would say the Lab manager is not a good manager because you rarely see him if you work this shift, which is odd to me since these are the hours where most of the work is done. The supervisors are nice young people who are easy to talk to, if it wasn't for them i would of left even sooner.
Pros
an opportunity to learn a lot and get experience
Cons
Lots of work low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast-paced/challenging workload
Sr. Micro Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 6, 2016
The sample load at this company is extremely high and often the lab is short-staffed, resulting in lots of overtime and high stress, but the variation in sample types and testing keeps the day moving very quickly. The staff has to work together as a team to complete the daily workload and sanitation tasks as well as any unforseen samples that come to the lab on a daily basis, which has a bonding effect on the employees. Problems would only arise when some staff did not pull their weight in the lab and some resentment was built when it felt that complaints went ignored (mainly due to inability to deal with complaints due to short-staffing). Overall, the company needs improvement but provides a huge amount of experience and exposure to various microbiological testing methods and can work as a great stepping stone for recent graduates.
Pros
Decent work environment
Cons
Pay does not compare to competing laboratories
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laboratory
Micro Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Green BayOctober 9, 2015
I love my job. It is fun and exciting everyday. I enjoy working with a variety of samples. Everyone is encouraging and work together to accomplish large projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learn how to test different method for different client and had to work on hard test and get along with co-worker to get the work done.
Sr. Micro. Tech. (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 15, 2015
Fun place to work at and grow in this company. You can move on to different level of management within the company. You get to learn all the new test and method for different client.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 27Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Food Safety Net Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.4
Culture
2.7