Find companies:
Food Services of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Food Services of America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical job
Associate Services Representative (Former Employee), Loveland, COJune 8, 2014
Many great employees with this company. The company offers a really good benefits package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Frozen Foods Local Buyer (Former Employee), Kent, WAJune 4, 2014
Working here was amazing, the company was a joy to work for. Great benefits, great employees, good experiences all around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job with Lack of Work
DELIVERY DRIVER (Current Employee), Spokane, WAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: busy all day long and room for advancement
Cons: get my routes bumped due to senior employees and lose hours
Unloading 800 cases of dried, chilled and frozen groceries up and down ramp and stairs. Delivery up to 20 stops a day - restaurants…..the hardest part of the job is getting my route bumped and losing hours. The best part of the job is that it is physical all day long and helps me stay fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fun and challenging job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Spokane, WADecember 9, 2013
Pros: excellent training of procedures and product. upbeat team environment.
Cons: remote issues with required internet connectivity, made web based programs and reports time consuming.
Start at home office reviewing and preparing for daily sales calls, researching and printing customer specific requests. Make 12 -15 scheduled contacts with customers, review performance, consult for profitable sales, receive order and transmit for next day delivery, meeting all time deadlines. My knowledge of the food industry was continually enhanced, – more... My direct management was encouraging, helpful and knowledgeable. Co-workers worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was also exciting and fulfilling. and that was successfully dealing with the necessary interruptions from customers who had challenges of varying nature and importance. The most enjoyable part was seeing a customer become satisfied, successful and able to achieve their goals, partly because of my efforts as a consultant and a business partner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a Great experience for me
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Woodburn, ORNovember 30, 2013
Pros: this job gave me a lot of experience i never had the opportunity to aquire before.
Cons: working so many hours
A typical day at work included visiting customers, getting their orders, making suggestions for new items to run as specials or, to replace current items they were purchasing from our competition. Talking to them about their AR and what they needed to do to stay current. Making sure they were happy with the services being provided.

I learned to always – more... be pro-active in discussing all the day to day business challenges with our customers, constant education on products we were selling, always learning about new programs within our company.

Management was always very professional.

Co-Workers were Great to work with & had a real Team attitude.
they will be missed.

Collections, this was always a challenge with a handful or more of my customer base. Working 60-70 hrs per week and sometimes more.

the most enjoyable part of my job was working with people. I really like to interact with people & help them find solutions to their challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was great, lacked in other areas.
Order Selector (Former Employee), Minot, NDSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: the pay is good, upper management is great.
Cons: the drama caused by the new hires, worse than high school.
I started in August of 2012. Long hours but the paychecks were nice. We had a great team comprised of people you could count on. Several staffing changes the place went down hill quick. I have no issues with management, but, the other selectors would sell their own mothers out for brownie points with the boss. If you work hard you WILL be expected to – more... pull the weight of some of the slower order selectors in other departments. The hours will be long, nobody has any desire to work less than 12 hours a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 5, 2013
Loved working for FSA would still be there but had to move to be closer to parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, fast paced environment where you were constantly encouraged and supported
INVENTORY / VENDOR RETURN SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Spokane, WAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: bonuses. generosity of all the management and approachability of the top management
Cons: that i had to leave the area
Fast paced, busy enviroment. Worked efficiently as a team member and interacted with our internal salespeople, vendors and other departments throughout the day. Solved problems with receiving department and corrected or resolved any issues involving incoming purchase orders, (mis-shipments, returns, overages or damaged shipments) I learned to search – more... out answers to solve problems that came up with our corporate AP dept..
I had a wonderful, caring, and very supportive boss. All 6 people in our department worked together as a team to help each other out whenever necessary.
I was in the process of learning all of my bosses responsibilities so I could fill in for him when necessary or fill his place if he should have transfered to a different dept. This included monitoring our cycle counters and actual inventory adjustments and investigations.
I looked forward to going into work each day and looked forward to the daily challanges. Every day brought new problems and new solutions to be found for them.
The hardest part of my job was having to tell them that I was moving back to Michigan to be with my family after the death of my husband on Jan 3, 2013. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Former Associate (Former Employee), Woodburn, OregonMay 27, 2013
Pros: pay, flexibility with scheduling
Cons: insurance, micromanaged, drama, jealousy, unfairness, expected to wear to many hats.
Worked from 2002-2009. Used to be a great place to work. BBQ and work party's every month and lots of happy people. There was a lot of overtime for everyone when I first started. The company seemed to care about you. There use to be a huge company events every year. Pay increases were great if you worked hard. The company used to get tickets to the – more... Rose garden for a lot of events and your family was invited to attend. At the time there were a few managers who would not talk to me because they thought they were better than me. I used to go to work happy and i gave my right arm for the place. I advanced far in pay and started to get involved in management matters and committees. There used to be so much OT people would be almost crying because work came first and family came later. Around 2006 up as the economy went south OT dried up. Monthly functions and company outings slowed down. Managers and associates were now expected to wear many new hats. The health insurance was changed to a HSA plan which sucked. All matters pertaining to Human Resources you had to figure out. The company expected you to read emails on what you needed to do for insurance to benefits. The HR lady was hard to get hold of. My manager was great. But my bosses sucked. One should have retired a long time ago. He harassed people and you would complain and he would stop for one month and continue. The other worked hard but bull talked to everyone and sometimes would get little work done because of problems at home. I was basically in charge on the weekends and did not have a title or extra pay. I made the same decisions as my managers. If you had no kids you were treated like second class when it came to Holidays off or weekends off. Associates were micromanaged even after being proven as a hard worker who never took time off and worked anytime needed. The company never trained anyone when they were hired except for the drivers and warehousemen. We had an associate who was hired on was lazy and messed up a lot. I trained the person on how things were and had problems with that person. My manager did not do anything about it. I was accused of something I did not do. I pushed him as a team member to work hard that's it. I was let go because of this. I worked 7 years compared to this guy who no one liked and was there 1 year. FSA was a good place one time long ago... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Order Selector (Former Employee), Kent, WAApril 25, 2013
Pros: union
Cons: hard work
Drove electric pallet jack up and down aisles . Selected orders per invoice / voice select system placed on pallet in stop sequence .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized -Don't be fooled by the smoke and mirrors
********* (Former Employee), **********April 11, 2013
Pros: close by
Cons: medical benefits. no sick time offered. hours. management.
I held high hopes but those quickly changed when I realized how messed up this company was with all the "sister companies". I was told we (meaning sister companies FSA, SSA and etc) are all one company and operate the same but that wasn't the case. Because of the poor economy I stayed way longer than I wanted to but I was stuck more or less. The stress – more... wasn't worth it to me so I eventually left. The company does not have a positive image or reputation in the food service industry now that I am working for one of their competitors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with FSA
Warehouseman (Former Employee), Everett, WAMarch 27, 2013
Cons: there is a list and i can not put them in this block
First of all I was terminated for requesting FLMA and not getting the approval, which I have a copy of the approval that is signed for approval. I had worked for FSA 14 years to the day and while I am at home caring for my family member, who passed away, I did not receive not one call or acknowledgement on my situation. My union representative was informed – more... of the firing and I was left to pursue any civil cases that would apply in my situation, on my own. I had nothing but a normal work history with FSA, staying for 14 years is the first hint I was doing my job as required, and had no other problems while employed. I am not providing this information for a way to get back at my termination, I had many friends over the years and this termination was in fact not even close to a few other situations where the employee was given unemployment and other benefits after the termination. I was not under any possible infractions that would have put my employment in jeopardy, I was lead to believe. The way that this company provides there employees all the good that is acquired with your performance is practiced with the supervisor and the employee sharing personal information and that closeness is the way the employee makes the job a very easy way of life. I worked everyday and never provided my supervisor with such personal items that would make my employment a easier day. I had been targeted for the outcome I received, you can just know that there is something going on behind your back, and that made for a work day that was almost impossible. Working with this company for so many years I had seen new employees come and go, this is not a easy or light case picking orders, you would think that the person who goes to work everyday and performs there job to the best of there ability everyday would be someone you would want to keep just for the experience. After this entire situation I still have questions unanswered and I know that these questions will never be answered. I would put this experience with FSA as a company that is not sure where the next act will play. The supervisor pool is a very hand picked position, I had applied for the supervisor position on three occasions and the new hire that was given the position had no experiences at all and I did not even received a sorry the position was filled. I asked numerous times what was the problem I was having when the decision was being made for the position and I received no answer to the question. The last time I applied I was not even giving a interview for the position and that was the end of my pursuing the supervisor position. I was so disappointed with the way the HR department handled the entire situation, they were suppose to be there to explore things that are not performed the proper way. They did nothing in my case and that just proves that they were there for whom? Overall my experience with FSA was a very upsetting and experience I would not wish on anyone, the chance of the company getting there wheels on track will take a large amount of work, the chance that this will be a thing in the future to look for will never come around because the management has not idea what goes on in the warehouse floor and they get there information from people, the supervisors, that have a very good way of making the truth bend in there direction. In closing if you were checking out the company move on to the next one on your list FSA will either work you to death, from the storages of employees, or terminate you for the way you do your job, no matter how you perform the position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order selecting with use of a pallet jack
Warehouseman (Former Employee), Woodburn, ORMarch 18, 2013
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: graveyard
I loved working here the pay was excellent with the benifits. Only downfall was it was graveyard shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate it there, back stabbing 365 24/7.
xxx (Former Employee), xxxFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: if you get a thank you card you may win $25 a year.
Cons: once you in you will never be the same your back is going to kill you for the rest of your life.
No reward for regular employees, supervisors ger all this bonus $ for cutting on our benefits or add work to our already full plate.contrct is poor compared to other food service companies but they want more work out of us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very ecncouraging and learned quite a bit here.
Warehouse associate (Former Employee), Billings, MTJanuary 30, 2013
Very demanding and fast paced job that required lots of detail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Food Service Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Spokane WAJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: good pay, good equipment, good benifits, company recognition programs.
Cons: driving through snow and ice
Pick up loaded trailer. Make deliveries of food related products to buisnesses, place orders where directed by customer. Interact with customer the way I would like to be treated. Always try to represent myself and my company with integrety. Doing my part as a team player made my working enviroment satisfying and enjoyable.
The most enjoyable part of – more... my job was delivering to my customers who were happy to see me. When I returned from vacation I was always told they were very happy to see me back, and not to go on vacation ever again!!!
The hardest part of my job was when a product that the customer really needed had not been loaded on my truck. – less

vdubcub81 – June 25, 2013

Hi there, what are the normal start times for new drivers? I assume its always early in the morning? Is there a lot pressure to be fast? How many stops per day? How many hours a day is normal? Thought id ask someone before i applied!. Thanx!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always learning
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Valdez, AKJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: very knowledgable staff
Cons: dont take kindly to employees shopping around for other jobs
Fun filled atmospere with many challenges everyday. Filling customer orders are allways hard and it made it crazy sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Training, Poor Management,
Procurement (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 6, 2012
Pros: close proximity to home. coffee and tea provided in the breakroom.
Cons: hours, salary, health benefits (high deductible none of which is contributed by employer), no sick days, and must wait at least one year for vacation time. management is poor with no direction or support.
Mass confusion daily in regards to what functions are being handled in Arizona and at the branches. Training and support is not available. Communication is poor. Everyone is too busy to offer support and work to resolve issues before they snowball into much larger issues that impacts other departments and more importantly the customers. Systems and – more... processes need to be streamlined in order to be more efficient to avoid encountering the same issues over and over again. Be prepared to have everything thrown at you without much support and no one cares because whatever issues you encounter have been going on it and will continue to. You will leave each night (there is not such thing as an 8 hour day) feeling overworked, overwhelmed, and frustrated. Sorry to say.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware Spokane!! They use their "6 month probation period" to get cheap,temporary labor!!
Order selector (Former Employee), Spokane waNovember 17, 2012
Pros: money, bennefits.
Cons: graveyard, split shift, low morale, poorly managed, treated unfair!
Good pay and bennefits for a labor job but.......you are working under a 6 month probation period that alows them to fire you for any reason without union protection. The union contract states that you will not have protection until after your 6 mo probation period. So, a week before my probation is up I get pulled into the office and fired for having – more... too many mispicks. Get this though, I was meeting company standards!! How can they say its too many mispics for me and not for others that are not on probation, you will not be held the same standards as everyone else. Beware, its a part time job disguised as a full time job so the company doesnt have to pay bennefits or give raises! Oh yeah and the whole time you work there the other employees think its funny that you will soon get fired and say things like,"Thanks for coming in on your last day." You will soon be the b-u-t-t this joke, dont waste your time with this one! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelent company! Great work inviroment to work with
Sales Director-Retail Channel (Former Employee), Fargo, NDNovember 2, 2012
Pros: great company gatherings
Cons: medical benifit were only par but still pretty good
It was a great place to work with with a very professional manaement team. The company is cutting edge with technical computerization. It very clear to see why they are such a successful organization.

The compensational program is very good. I worked with happy employe's and each associate that I worked with really was very happy and willing to help – more... out whenever they could.

I give Food Services of America a top rating as a company to work for! 5 stars. – less

About Food Services of America

Supplying American restaurants with food is the primary service of this company. Services Group of America (SGA) is one of the – Read more

Food Services of America Photos