Foodland Employee Reviews

Found 175 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back, and a slow paced job.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVSeptember 18, 2017
Short shifts. Only work 20-25 hours a week. Works very well around schedules. Different shift times available and may request which ones you can work. The staff is very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun productive laid back job
Assistant produce manager (Former Employee) –  Albertville, ALSeptember 16, 2017
I'd go in at 11 and supervise / stock when needed continue on till 10 making sure everything was stocked properly and seeing that everything was in order as it should be.
Pros
Had smoke breaks (At the time I was a smoker)
Cons
Extremely busy days on Holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALAugust 21, 2017
I work for cashier for a little while then moved to produce like that much better.I made sure there were fresh product on the floor n the department. I also pulled the bad fruit if there was any to pull.
Pros
Pay for your meal
Cons
15 min or 30 mins if you work over 6 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Vienna, WVAugust 18, 2017
I loved working in the deli very good people and a very good job to be at. The bosses were great and i got the hours I needed and I had no issues with any of the workers or bosses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Co-workers
Stock boy and equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVAugust 16, 2017
Easy job to do. Great people to work with. Worked with my school schedule very well. Had a fun time while working because I got the job done and made some fun memories.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Got bored
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be the best place to work if management had more integrity, and be the expample of a good employee.
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  United StatesAugust 1, 2017
It could be better managed. No employee appreciates being belittled by a manager. After all, it's the employees that keep the company running. It's the Company's responsibility to make their employees safe and welcomed. The objective is to keep an employee, not lose them.
Pros
The pay is acceptable.
Cons
The insults and lack of professionalism and integrity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very exciting or fun place to work
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Washington, PAJuly 31, 2017
decent management very poor ownership. Did not pay well for the work done. other then the people there it was never a fun work day. probably would not recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
Just about everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
foodland
Food stocker/front end clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 31, 2017
could not advance because of the pay and that you had
to be a manager to make decent money. you had to work at a fast pace sometimes and that sometimes you will not get a break.
Pros
get of early
Cons
not enough hours to work and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foodland
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVJuly 28, 2017
I liked the people that I worked with and the management was good also. It was a good place to work. You had opportunities for advancement and were allowed to work overtime.
Pros
Overtime was allowed
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racist
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 26, 2017
Very judge mental environment , very uncomfortable and rude customers. Nice and respectful co workers, fresh store made grocerys and clean environment
Pros
Friendly co workers
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place for high school students to start work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moulton, ALJuly 23, 2017
I was employed at Foodland as a cashier while I was attending my junior and senior year of high school. I learned the importance of maintaining employment, being on time as scheduled and that making my own money was a good asset to have.
Pros
Good first job
Cons
Strict about time off of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok customers are nice
Cashiet (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, WVJuly 10, 2017
Liked working there but the owner was hard to work for. It's a privatly owned business. She can make it as hard on her workers as she wants workers come and go they never last very long it's a hard place to work but I guess most places are but it's a very nice and clean grocery store everyone stays busy
Pros
Liked the customers and needed a job
Cons
The owner was hateful and rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high energected
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Hills, PAJune 29, 2017
family owned very clean awesome employees who worked together also great union benefit's that was great to me when my mother past away I received 10 days of pto
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wahiawā, HIJune 12, 2017
this was one of my first jobs and i absolutely loved it. I had so much fun and learned so much while working here. i would reccomdn this job for any one looking for a part time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ALJune 8, 2017
I can honestly say that this has been my most favorite job. Everyone i worked with became my family. We was one be happy family. The company itself was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Manager of Personal Buisness
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVJune 1, 2017
Worked for myself as head of a lawnmowing company where we managed 20 yards a week and used our own equipment. Great money but can be hard work with customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Madison, WVMay 28, 2017
They worked around my school schedule. It worked out nicely for me. The management was pretty decent, never really had anything to complain about. I made decent money for a kid in his senior year in High School.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes fast-paced work environment that keeps you on your toes
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Craigsville, WVMay 26, 2017
I really enjoyed working at this company. I worked with nice, helpful coworkers. The deli manager was always willing to help with whatever issue came up and always gave us a flexible schedule. If we needed certain days off, it wasn't a problem. I mostly dealt with customers out front waiting on them and helping them with whatever they needed. Overall it was a good place to work.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere; good people
Cons
Sometimes you can get stuck working alone and get really busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One big family
Cashier , produce, deli, stock (Former Employee) –  Vienna, WVMay 25, 2017
That was by far the most awsome job I've ever had Joanna is an awsome boss an I'm sry for my actions. I'm only human I learn from my mistakes an don't do them again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foodland
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scotts Hill, TNMay 24, 2017
You should be prepared to stand on your feet for 6-8 hours with a short break to eat. If you have time to lean, you have time to clean. And don't complain about the schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Foodland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 428 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5