Find companies:
Foot Locker, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Foot Locker, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales oriented company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Alamogordo, NMJuly 19, 2014
Days are very slow on the job, not many customers come in due to the area. I have learned the ins and outs of management whether it is handling paperwork and money at the end of the night, to being apart of conference calls with the other stores in the district and the District Manager. My co-workers are mostly high school kids whom are eager to learn – more... which is great to see. The hardest part of the job is having to push sales to make the day but with very little customers it makes it tough and us as a store looks bad at the end of the day. The most enjoyable part of the job is the joy of helping consumers with purchasing shoes or apparel that suit their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJune 24, 2014
Foot Locker has taught me a lot about customer service and sales. The managements is very helpful on getting you prepared for moving up within the company. Co-workers are reliable and friendly which makes the workplace the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, limited advancement
Manager Trainer (Current Employee), VirginiaJune 10, 2014
Pros: discounts, freedom to operate with limited direct supervision
Cons: steadily changing message, long hours, low pay
Pay slightly below average. Work isn't too hard, but limited communication coming from the corporate office. Those who succeed are typically smart and hard working, but find their skills can garner a lot more with different companies. Most employees are not too educated and have very limited aspirations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun job for students with sales experience opportunity
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Flushing, NYApril 11, 2014
Pros: flexible hours & discounts
Cons: running up and down to the inventory room
Learning about the newest shoes and sneakers and applying your knowledge towards your sales skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Expirience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Puerto RicoMarch 19, 2014
Pros: 30 to 50% employee discount
Cons: 1 hours of break working 4 hours.
A customer service dedicated company overall experience is good would recommend to anybody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Store Manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: discounts and meeting new people
Cons: no lunches no breaks
Led sales meetings with team members to establish sales and customer retention goals. Monitored customer preferences to determine focus of sales efforts. Resolved customer complaints by exchanging merchandise, refunding money and adjusting bills. Shared product knowledge with customers while making personal recommendations. Maintained friendly and professional – more... customer interactions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Working at Foot Locker Inc.
Graphic Production Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: extensive travel
Overall I enjoyed my years at Foot Locker. Fast pace enviroment with many talented individuals in the field. Encouraged co-learning from team members and provided many developmental opportunities in your field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Paterson, NJJanuary 16, 2014
Great working experience, customers are friendly, and the workers are fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Albany, GAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: no raises
My day at work consist of making sure customers are satisfied. At this joy I learned how to adapt to different people. I also learned how to multitask. My manager is a great manager. He taught us so many things and he did not put a lot on us all at once. I felt like we were a big family. My coworkers and I were really close. The hardest part of the – more... job is dealing with customers that are very rude. The best part is meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive work environment demanding attention to detail and a quick wit.
Store Manager, Associate (Former Employee), Longmont, CODecember 17, 2013
Fast-paced work environment with a focus on strong customer service and sales skills. Difficult hours, but competitive pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedication to the customer - Distrubution Center
Material Handler-II/Back-up Clerk/ Dock Stocker (Former Employee), Junction City, KSNovember 24, 2013
I loved my job for the simple fact that I was able to advance in many different areas of my department and in the company itself. I was always pushed to do better. My supervisors saw what kind of an asset I was to the company and always pushed me to do better. I worked in the Receiving department so the hardest part would have been proving as a women – more... that I could do a mans job. I was 1 out of 5 women that worked in the department when I started and then I was the only women left that worked on the floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alost love affair
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 4, 2013
had a blast here, still keep in touch with sme of the people I met here, I loved this place. the freedoms to be who you are and still get paid to have fun and help customers while still being completely professional was great.
it was here that I learned the role of a manager, the good and the bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoe Sales Associate/Cashier
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Victoria, TXSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: working with customers
Cons: not enough hrs, bad pay
I am there to help every customer with their desired needs. Although some customers aren't always going to be satisfied, I have learned that there is always a compromise with every customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Harvard University Of Retail
Associate Buyer / Head Merchandiser (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2013
Pros: award winning training instructors to get new hires acclimating to their new positions.
Typical Day, Reviewing and discussing daily sales.Work closely with Buyer, DMM Planner and Merchandiser to maximize sales,deliver margin and profit plan.
I've learned how to analyze and breakdown my business, thru the used of many tools from DSS, BI (Business Intelligence) Main Frame, Lotus Notes, Excel.
Safe work environment,great co workers.The most – more... enjoyable part of the job, Getting there, reviewing sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had gym on the facility
Merchandise Planning Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 16, 2013
Mangement team not good

Co-workers their for themselves

Not enjoyable place to work at that time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding and enjoyable for a retail job!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Aurora, COAugust 14, 2013
Pros: salary, commission, paid vacations and lunches
Cons: short lunches, long hours, no weekends
I've been with Footlocker for almost five years. It started off as a part-time job while I went to school but quickly advanced into bigger opportunities. On an average day, I am managing the sales floor and the team, helping with customers' needs, and maintaining paperwork and shipments to ensure the store runs properly. I've learned best practices – more... on how to build relationships with people in a professional work environment as well as build my own work ethic and confidence as it pertains to management and sales. My managers have all been mentors to me, pushing me to be the best and offering support whenever it was needed. The company I work for strives for achievement and the success of its employees and it is obvious in the approach of their managers. My co-workers are some of the greatest people I've ever met. Without the experience of being on a team with strength in communication, support, and the ability to work together to produce the best outcome I would not be the manager I am today. The hardest part of the job is spending so much time in the store. I sometimes wish I had more free time. The most enjoyable part of my job is customer service- without my customers I wouldn't have a job! And also working hard and seeing what it's produced- meeting sales goals, getting promotions, and recognition. Although I love my job, I'd like to use my experience in customer service and retail management in a new direction. I am fast learner, eager to learn in new areas, and quickly adaptable in various situations! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location, in the heart of midtown Manhattan
Head Allocation/Planning - House of Hoops (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2013
Typical Day, Jointly accountable with Buyer in delivering sales, margin and profit plan.
Accountable for the bottom up/top down seasonal unit, retail and cost dollar forecast that meets budget expectations.
Effectively plan and control inventories to maximize sales, inventory investment and profit for categories sold.
Review with Buyer to ensure total – more... store stock matches space and supports budgeted sales plan.

Give parameters to Buyer at beginning of the season around budget spend for mainline, smu’s and repeats, & options to drive flow.
Work closely with Buyer on season strategy incorporating review of past category/concept performance, agreement on investment for the future.
Build, maintain and regularly adjust Open to Buy inventory and sales plans.
Alongside Buyer lead weekly, monthly, quarterly and seasonal reviews of the collection performance.
Lead analysis of product past performance data and identify missed opportunities
Give guidelines to Buyer to determine minimum purchase units per style.
Create and update size profiles for new and replenishment skus and ensure size quantities are correct
Build and maintain collaborative partnership and communicate effectively with internal colleagues

What I've learned.. Knowledge and experience with merchandising systems
Experience in working with a fashion/branded environment
Excellent Analytical skills – Ability to use extensive system knowledge to prepare informative reporting tools. Determine relevant information and draw sound conclusions
Demonstrate smart risk taking and a strong entrepreneurial spirit
Demonstrate financial acumen – understand what drives the bottom line. Understand what actions can be taken to impact it.
Innovate – Continually look for ways to experiment and drive new learning. Inspire Trust Establish personal credibility through character and professional expertise

Hardest Part of the Job,ultimely death of co-wokers.
Most enjoyable.. Travelling te market and visiting stores. Turning losing stores into profitable gaining stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Organize Company
Sales Lead/Key Holder (Former Employee), Hoboken, NJJuly 31, 2013
Foot Locker is very organize company what I learned was how to measure some one feet, find a sneaker with the code of the sneaker, doing the display of the wall, the wizzard, the inventory of the store what we have in the store. The hardest part was leaving one store to go to another store. I was at Kids Foot Locker then they sent me to Foot Locker – more... it was very small but I manage to get through. Overall the job was wonderful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at foot locker
Store Manager (Current Employee), PAJuly 14, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: long long hours
A usual work day is meeting new customers everyday which is great because we are able to engage with them and get to know new people. We have daily and weekly goals in which we need to reach.Being management, I have to be able to train employees to have outstanding customer service and reach those goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and values as well as a company that appreciates the field personnel.
District Manager (Former Employee), Kentucky / Indiana then Louisiana / Mississippi.May 9, 2013
Pros: great people, big contests and lots of fun but also a wonderful learning experience.
Foot Locker was a great company to work for. I worked their for 17 years and what I learned as a Multi Unit Manager was instilled in me by this company.

About Foot Locker, Inc

Foot Locker, Inc. is a global retailer of athletic footwear and apparel, which operated 3,641 primarily mall-based stores in the – Read more