Find companies:
Ford Motor Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
919 reviews

Ford Motor Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great trianing and staffing
Ford Plant Site Supervisor, Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Ford Motor Company Brookpark OhioJuly 12, 2014
This was a very exciting job to be a supervior at. There were lots of trianing opportunities as far as you would like to take yourself. I was trained in confined space rescue and SCBA to sensitivity and diversity trianing. This was a super company to be a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse culture and fast-paced work.
General Laborer (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: physical labor
A typical day involved assembly work. Skills learned included flexibility and time management. Leadership was inconsistent, but the diverse co-workers made the work go by quickly. The repetitive movements was hard on the body. The benefits and environment made everything worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I've ever had.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Wayne, MIJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits and compensation
Cons: long work hours and working 4 months days and 4 months afternoons
I would do the time sheet based on the hourly employee's start time. The job rate was 78 jobs per hour, which had to be maintained, so that the flow of operations to other zones would not be hampered. My supervisor was very knowledgable about the day to day performance of an Assembly Line and provided feedback on my job performance. I had a good worj=king – more... relationship with my co-workers, learning how to be a team member and an asset to the job.
Maintaining the correct employee number to facilitate the operation of all the job stations, with as few errors, as possible by the employees I would borrow from other zones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress job, bring your thickest skin and biggest smile
FLOATER (Former Employee), Montebello, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: 1 hr lunches, commission / bonus opportunities, incentives
Cons: n/a; without being specific
TYPICAL DAY-
Once you know what they want you to do, you make your own agenda, on how it’s done.

MANAGEMENT-
Needs some work some people in management lack communication, team work, and leadership skills which might make your job difficult depending on what department you’re in; however they are working on communication by creating store wide meetings.

CO-WORKERS-
They – more... are co-workers and nothing more, just ask for information if you really must.

THE HARDEST PART-
The customers are improperly spoken to; or given bad information. They are rude and because we over promise and always under complete our promises.

MOST ENJOYABLE-
There are very few people that sincerely care about the industry and the business; they are the pleasure to be around! They offer training for many positions, and you learn something new every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Questionable
Experiential Mechanic (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no advancement
Great place to work with great pay but no room for advancement once into a position and you do it well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, fair company, encourages creativity and invests in their employees in terms if training and IT ca
Plant Medical Director Sterling Gear and Axle (Current Employee), Sterling Heights, MIJuly 8, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedules
Cons: automotive culture
Innovative, fair company
Work involves knowledge of a number of disciplines that interface with medical. Production is the bottom line but support staff are expected to know about the product. Their IT services are excellent and their implementation of new programs is one of the most enjoyable aspects of my work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come to work feeling good.
Test Roller (Current Employee), Flat Rock, MIJuly 8, 2014
Pros: haveing a job
Cons: would like to work days
Im a hard work get along with other well.Enjoy working on cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work..
Senior Systems Technician / Central Support (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJuly 6, 2014
Fun and exciting place to work..Responds to telephone calls, emails, and personnel requests for technical support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, Ford is great company to work for
Quality Associate / Process Leader (Former Employee), DearbornJuly 5, 2014
Ford is a prestigous company to work for. Ford gave me my first job out of college and I was very happy. It will be nice to work for Ford again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Assembly Line ( Temp) (Former Employee), Avon Lake , OhioJuly 2, 2014
Pros: positive work enviroment
Cons: temporary employment
great working knowledge of Ford Motor Vehicles, Learned a lot of Assembly Line Knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office with great people
Summer Marketing Intern (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 1, 2014
There is no set typical work day with Ford. Some days i'm on the road traveling to Ford dealerships or Ford Authorized parts Dealers (FADs) or I'm in the office doing research and working on whatever work assignment I have at the moment. I've learned to adapt on the fly at this job because I come across many different people in the field and I also – more... learned how to handle the many different personalities I meet. My co-workers are awesome and very helpful. The hardest part of the job I would say is the many days that we have to travel on the road and the distances I may have to travel at times. the most enjoyable part of the job is the traveling and getting out and seeing Texas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Factory Worker (Former Employee), Highland ParkJuly 1, 2014
Great job with good benefits and pay
Met a lot of good people
Everyone worked together to assure a great product
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
HEV/Stop-Start Systems (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJune 30, 2014
Gained a great experience from being in multiple rotations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office enviroment. Managment always assiting the teams.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dearborn, MichiganJune 28, 2014
I worked as a customer service rep for the Speed Control Recall. I took calls to assist customers with questions, providing information and would assist in making appointments for service with a Varity of Ford dealerships across the country. I worked in a team environment so if I need help either my fellow team members or team manager would assist me. – more... I enjoyed talking to people and helping them with the process of taking care of the vehicle. It was a great experience and when the recall project came to an end I was offered a full time position with Percepta based on my work ability and work reviews which I scored 78% or higher on each. Theses reviews were conducted once a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Woodhaven, MIJune 25, 2014
I enjoyed my time there. Challenging at times, but I learned allot working for a great manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Money for a young man,
Maintenance Painter/ Utility (Former Employee), Sterling Hts., Mi.June 23, 2014
Pros: great money
Cons: so many hours, my twenties are a blur.
I loved my job, outsourcing happened and I cannot say I blame them, many men and women milked the clock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked down in the dungeon
Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Wixom, MIJune 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
install brake lines on cars for 10 to 12 hours on my feet. learn a lot from the people who had been there 20years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good company to work for.
Assembly Line Coordinator (Former Employee), Romeo, MIJune 19, 2014
Great pay, good work environment. Two weeks off in the summer time, great for planning vacations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career filled with challenge to be innovative. My deep love for Ford motivated me to be my best.
Payroll Analyst / Treasury Operations Admin (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJune 18, 2014
Pros: constant growth through change, worked with people who possessed "can do" and "must do" attitudes with talent to match, progressive and proactive approach to discover efficiency opportunities, shared institutional knowledge that accerlerated synergies, the team always made deadlines and delivered excellent products
Cons: our organization was non-glamorous; within the realm of the big picture of the blue oval, we were unsung and often taken for granted.
Meetings...meetings...meetings! Controlling and minimizing "things gone wrong", testing corrective actions and collaborating with others to perfect the process. I learned that "iron sharpens iron" and that if you do not embrace change, you will fail. I also learned that adversity strengthens resolve and empowers you to come out of difficulties as a – more... better leader. My superiors at Ford were on one hand caught up in performance metrics but they excelled at being good mentors and coaches. They knew how to maximize my potential. I became a very good administrator; a very good analyst at reading into detail. My co-workers were all about team. We shared all of our collective knowledge. We grew together and its legacy lasts today in the friendships we share in retirement. The hardest part of my job at Ford was implementing change through technology. To makes things work within the systems schema we had to work with at the time. The most enjoyable part of my work at Ford was the pride and joy in knowing that I had a small hand in the turnaround at Ford Motor Company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and challenging work environment that encourages all employees to consistently Go Further.
Managing Editor, Internal Communications Mgr (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIJune 17, 2014
Pros: knowledge of what's coming next for the company
Cons: very demanding
Ford employees are able to engage in a variety of tasks and gain as much experience as they are open to in an environment that encourages growth and offers opportunity.

This is a very fast-paced work environment where most employees are working on a multitude of projects all at once. This is great for learning and developing new skills quickly, but – more... not the best for those seeking regular down-time and reliable work/life balance.

The majority of managers and leadership within this company are completely aligned with the One Ford plan that involves teamwork and always going further to better your team/project/environment, etc...

A number of Ford employees are not employed by Ford directly, rather they are agency employees. These employees have a tendency to feel less-valuable than those working for Ford directly.

The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the pace and cadence of the machine that is Ford Motor Company, but this also is the most enjoyable aspect because there is a sense of pride when working for a Fortune 10 company with such a rich history. – less