Find companies:
Forest City Enterprises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Forest City Enterprises Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleveland
Management (Current Employee), ClevelandJanuary 29, 2014
Cons: toxic environment
This company treats people poorly and micromanages everything you do. Management is underhanded and should not be trusted. It is a very childish environment with people constantly talking about each other like they are in high school. Management plots people as well against each other. They will make you do 3 people's jobs and expect you to do even – more... more all while critizing you. This is not a healthy environment at all and if you want to keep your sanity, I would suggest you think twice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the poooltabale and the backyard outside.
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 11, 2013
Pros: i enjoy cooking than eat for free at lunch time
Cons: good healthcare that forest city had for me
My typical day at work is passing out flyers to the people that stay in the apartments,what i learned at forest city is how to repair,sinks,toilts,windows,dooors.What i come to management is the people trust that live there.Co-workers we work hard together as a team some time we will have fun on are lunch.The hardest part of the job was walking up and – more... down stairs.The most enjoyable part of the job was outside cooking for the people that live in the apartment building. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research the Management of your location prior to taking a position
Affordable Housing Coordinator (Former Employee), Haverhill, MANovember 14, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, generous vacation time, good salary
Cons: managers that do not care about employees or residents
I came to Forest City with 6 1/2 years of Property Management experience and accepted a lesser title as an Affordable Housing Coordinator. I was hired along with a new Property Manager and Maintenance Supervisor all at the same time (all new staff). During my interviews prior to being hired I was asked if I could assist with Market Leasing as well ( – more... I agreed as I wanted the experience). The predecessors in my position were given 40 hours per week to complete the Affordable Housing Coordinator position at that very busy property. In the end I was given approximately 13.5 hours each week to get the work for that position completed. I was not consulted nor included during the annual file audit with regards to MY FILES.

My concerns with not having enough time to complete my primary position fell on deaf ears and were met with sarcasm, and the "just get it done" attitude. As the months progressed, overall occupancy was 96-97% but my main job requirements suffered for it. In my opinion I was used as a guinea pig to juggle both postions as AHP and Market Leasing so management did not have to hire additional leasing staff. The position is being re-advertised the same way so BEWARE! Its not worth it!

The property manager also encouraged other staff on several occasions to make fun of me, exclude and embarrass me in the workplace. By the time my formal harassment complaint came through corporate, it was too late. I consulted an attorney from Boston regarding harassment in the workplace, however they said that because I don't belong to a protected class of citizens or was documenting through corporate the harassment all along, I had no case. They told me, "unfortunately you worked for a manager that just didn't like you."

After my employment ended I was given 30 days to vacate the premises verbally (as I lived on site). I was forced to request a formal "Notice to Vacate" in writing before obtaining one that entitled me 30 calendar days or more like 45 days to find alternative housing.

I have since learned that the same Property Manager has lost other staff as well for the same reasoning. If they should decide to sue for harassment, I'm going to insist on joining the fight against this company and this property manager in particular.

The company has great benefits, great vacation time, excellent pay, however their corporate office employees in Cleveland, OH are absolutely horrible to deal with. Their choice in Management staff produces managers that do not care about their staff or residents therefore the employee and resident turnover is high and customer service greatly suffers.

It is curious that this property manager was allowed by corporate management to slander my personal character in writing (more than once) and get away with it. I have retained the proof for my records. I came to this company with 6 1/2 years of experience and have built a reputation as a quality Property Manager and have since resumed my title as a Property Manager with another reputable company. I am most grateful for the learning experience and I'm happy that I was able to move on from a very stressful working environment. I simply do not wish that kind of hardship on anyone reading this review who may be considering employment with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good benefits but very challengeing to earn a living
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Ashtabula,Ohio,44004, (Astabula Towers)September 5, 2013
Pros: i no longer work for forestcity ent.
Cons: i no longer work for forestcity ent.
I thought there was poor managent in the admistration in the building.My opinions or input didnt seem to matter. I dont want to comment any more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Information is available upon request and will not be disclosed in a rating review.
Office Manager to Owners Rep (Former Employee), miami, flAugust 13, 2013
Information is available upon request and will not be disclosed in a rating review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Security Director (Current Employee), San Bruno, CAApril 25, 2013
A busy enviroment with retail exposure. The co-workers have great skills and office environment is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance
maintenance (Former Employee), parma, ohApril 6, 2013
Pros: 40 hr wrk weeks normally
Cons: low pay, management meddling in work, lack of real advancement
Company has massive disconnect between staff and managment, i worked at a property where there was definite favoritism. Management preaches teamwork but wont be caught dead actually helping out. Leasing agents often would rent apartments with only 2 or 3 days to turn them and the problem would just become maintenance staffs issue to deal with. Property – more... manager treated staff poorly, there was no advancement within property. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a familiy run business
Financial Executive (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 26, 2013
Founding family has turned the reins over to self-interested managers who show little compassion but produce less than stellar results. Review the annual Proxy to see what these managers pay themselves for a mediocre performance.
Administrative overhead is bloated compared with REIT peer group.
The executive network rewards those with social ties to – more... leadership (relatives and drinking buddies), punishing dissent without regard for what's best for the shareholders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Leasing/LIHTC (Former Employee), MAJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good pay
Cons: long days
I worked at this company for three years. I worked extremely hard for a new lease up community. The company is great and will take care of you for hard work. The community offices are small teams of employees so like any job you will have a clash in personalities. Great company I left because of the commute was getting to long, but was very happy at – more... FCE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and energetic work place
Leasing Consultant II (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 24, 2012
Pros: the experience of different class properties, working in new cities.
Cons: hard to advance because people have been in their positions for long periods of time.
I have learned so much over the years I have worked with this company. There are so many things that I still learn on a daily basis. There are some tough challenges when it comes to areas like resident retention and satisfaction, but my proudest moments are when I can speak to the resident, listen to their frustrations, and in the end still have them – more... leave as a happy resident. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Start
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 18, 2012
Pros: pros
Cons: cons
The hours and benefits are great. Management is all over the place, implementing different policies almost everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your research carefully on this corporation. Start with Ridge Hill.
Asst. General Counsel (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 13, 2012
Corporation did not reimburse business expenses. Corporation failed to pay bonuses.
May not pay relocation so little investment in employee.
Ethics represented by the Ridge Hill project and the resulting trial. Do your research on this Corporation carefully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare
Relocation Specialist (Former Employee), KeeslerJuly 10, 2012
If the same GM is there since 2011, you will be micromanaged, treated like an idiot, watched like a child. I spent most of my days at forest city listening to other employees vent about the way they were treated, and some left in tears. The salary was awsome, but not worth what I had to deal with on a daily basis. At the time on hands training was poor. – more... We were taught to sign a lease in a couple of hours ( if that) we had been signing leases for weeks, and then we were stalked by management while signing leases with residents, and sometimes inturupted to be told that it was wrong ( we were humiliated in front of the resident due to poor training). I do know there has been a turnover there in the past year, including the person over the GM, as well as the GM's assistant. – less

Nerron – July 29, 2012

If you dont mind me asking, whats the starting salary?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare
Relocation Specialist (Former Employee), Keesler AFBJuly 10, 2012
Forest City at Keesler AFB was a nightmare... If the same GM is there since day one you will be MICROMANAGED and asked constantly what you are doing. How can you not act like an idiot if that is how you are treated. I spent most of my work day listening to other employees vent about how they were being treated and a few were left in tears. We were taught – more... to sign a lease in a couple of hours, signed leases for weeks, then were stalked while signing with residents, some were humiliated in front of the resident and corrected. There has been a turn over with this location as well In the past year. Including the person above the GM and the GM's assistant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that was a learning experience in and pleasant environment.
Building maintenance (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 1, 2012
Pros: employee appreciation
Cons: constant bickering over union
I learned alot at Forest City Enterprises from plumbing to electrical.It was a very hands on job and other than some attitudes of a few higher up that seem to look down on the blue collars employee.Otherwise i would recommend anyone to work for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company to work for
Account Recievable Clerk (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMay 30, 2012
Pros: great company and people
Cons: temporary assignment
The assignment ended all too soon and my duties varied quite a bit throughout the assignment. The management and co-workers were the best you could hope for. The hardest part of the job was giving it up. The most enjoyable part was having had the opportunity to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Relaxed Work Place
Administrative Assistant (Intern) (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 30, 2012
Pros: long lunch breaks. great parking, great co-workers
A Typical Day Was Exciting For Me, I Learned So Much From My Co-Workers And Managers.