Forgotten Harvest Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique and diverse place to give back to the community
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Oak Park, MIApril 8, 2017
Forgotten Harvest was definitely the most unique place I've ever had the pleasure of volunteering. I volunteered at two of their locations; the farm and the redistribution center in oak park. Both locations offered their own benefits and challenges. The farm was very fun because you worked outside in the fields with a large group of volunteers. The only real drawback was that it was hard labor. I spent most of my time at the distribution center, though. The oak park location was indoors and my job was to package food that would be sent across metro Detroit to food shelters. It was a lot more of a chaotic workplace but I greatly enjoyed meeting the diverse group of volunteers that I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Packer/Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 25, 2016
I loved working there, it was a very pleasant environment. I learned how a great team works together. I learned leadership skills also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviorment, i loved volunterring there.
Quality Control Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MISeptember 1, 2016
The company is ran very well, would recommend it to anyone looking for work or just to volunteer. Team work was never a problem.
Pros
Helping to feed the hungry.
Cons
no open positions for employment, for volunteers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I cut meat
meat cutter (Former Employee) –  Royal Oak, MIDecember 10, 2015
it was a horrible job training they paid 20 an day(8) hour days an expected us to do all the work they left unfinished by removing me from my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great people that work for a great cause.
Supply Chain/IT Intern (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, MiSeptember 15, 2015
Forgotten Harvest allowed me to see how a non-profit works and the way they utilize resources. I learned the different patterns of how their supply chain works within the company and outside the company as well. I enjoyed working for a company that helps reduce hunger in and around metro Detroit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place of work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, MIApril 29, 2015
my management skills are really good, it has typically work has hard points but i am capitally of it. my co-workers are harsh at times but instead you feel the truth of the job so i keep my positive attitude
Pros
money, benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission of feeding the hungry is important and serious work.
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, MIJune 15, 2014
I rather enjoyed my two years as a driver for Forgotten Harvest. The work was often times hard but quite rewarding. Not just from a monetary standpoint but from a moral one as well.
Pros
Competitive salary, excellent employee benefits and helping those who are less fortunate.
Cons
Management's unwillingness to address driver concerns and issues objectively and in good faith.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive bubbly workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Oak Park, MIJanuary 13, 2014
I was a volunteer. I have learned to move at a fast pace while packaging and labeling food. I got a chance to work with all different people, which was exciting for me, I love meeting new people. Everything was very simple.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIAugust 28, 2013
I got to work with a lot of people from different back grounds.
Management was wonderful and they work with you.
I learned about how the food was stored and prepared.
the hardest part about this job was that the program ended.
Pros
Working and developing a good work relationship with your co workers
Cons
There where none for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forgotten Harvest Packaging different food items
Harvest Helper (Former Employee) –  Oak Park ,MIAugust 2, 2012
Is steady paced work enviornment , I learned alot about where donated food items come from ,and how to keep a clean work area ,washing hands ,and wearing gloves . Management and my co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, organize and a learning experience
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Oak Park, MIFebruary 13, 2012
This just is a great place to volunteer. The atmosphere is comfortable,clean, welcoming and of great spirit.Forgotten Harvest donates food to several communities, with the help of indiviual companies and the community donations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Forgotten Harvest. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
5.0
Culture
4.8

Forgotten Harvest Reviews by Location