Formica Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, forced overtime, full benefits
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 16, 2016
The money is decent for the work. Union job, so fees are deducted out of every check once the probationary period is completed. Overtime is scheduled, and refusal to work overtime results in points. Eventually the points will lead to termination. Often scheduled to come into work for 4 hours on off days. Can schedule up to 12 hours. Full benefits. A lot of hours, but overall a decent place to work for the amount of money.
Pros
Unlimited overtime
Cons
Forced overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for exercise
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Comfort, INDecember 2, 2015
has awesome people to work with on second shift. It does require a lot of heavy lifting and walking which makes it great for exercising so you don't have to shell out a lot money for gym membership. the hardest part of the job is constant over time which takes away from the daytime. it has great benefits when you get hired on.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible work environment with advancement opportunities
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 19, 2015
Time management is the most important factor in my daily activities.

My goal everyday is respond to customers and the outside sales team within the guidelines established by our corporate office. If I do not have answers before end of business day, I contact the customers and/or the outside sales team whether I have an answer or not.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I have co-workers and management to assist me if I have questions or need help.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company for young men and women
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Samples DepartmentJune 17, 2015
Full service distribution warehouse, serving Formica Distributors and Direct Accounts. Offers incredible benefits.
Pros
Quarterly bonus
Cons
Slim opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Evendale facility is in transition. Relationship between the union and managment is not where it needs to be to be successful
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 22, 2012
If you like a challenge this is the place to work. There is a lot of work to put in before the company is competitive in the marketplace. Equipment downtime is very high and because of that there is always a need to reallocate resources. Supervisors are pressed pretty hard between upper management and the general workforce.
Pros
decent compensenation and company vision
Cons
distrust between the union and management, a lot of people not on the same page.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you acquire a lot of skill and know how job can be farely easy
Vitx Treater Operator (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 29, 2015
Formica is GOOD company its had its ups and downs,but through it all I had a great chance to learn a unmeasureable amount knowledge about machinery and the laminate process
Pros
companies willing to give you work to match you individual pace
Cons
you will handle a lot of chemicals and can get dirty a times
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job duties.
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OHJuly 14, 2015
Enjoyed the detail work and the daily challenges. Great co-workers. Great benefits. Needs better understanding and open communication between departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Order Picker, Put Away Items (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, INJune 24, 2015
the worst part of the job is that it was really hot an not enough fans to keep it cool. the co-workers were rude and hard to work with and the management was unprofessional.
Pros
breaks every 2 hours
Cons
management needs help
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Production worker (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioSeptember 7, 2013
I love my job!!! Management is easy to get along with. The employees are friendly. You can make a lot of money if you don't mind working.
Pros
great pay, great management, tons of overtime . 401k, health benefits, credit union on site, quarterly incentive bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes40No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding place to work
Set Up Operator (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 11, 2014
well structured and organized clean and safe work environment that provided good benefits and income. Has a wide range of advancement opportunity
Pros
a fair place to work
Cons
noise
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship
Design Development Coordinator and Co-op (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 26, 2015
A great learning opportunity with some very fun people. Got to go to Chicago to Global Shop and help with the show report thereafter.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OHAugust 8, 2013
Meeting at beginning of shift for carryover work and/or company news was very incomplete part of the time. On call for machine breakdowns and assigned tasks and/or P.M.s. Some production worker sabotage mostly at beginning and/or end of shift.
I learned a lot about T.S. with PLCs and a little about unions. Stayed very proficient at troubleshooting, ect.
Management very strict and trigger happy.
Co-workers were great.
Sabotage
Gratification of fixing the machine and extra electrical work.
Pros
rewards for jobs well done.
Cons
weak union and strict trigger happy management
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Countertop maker
Collator (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OHMarch 13, 2013
Great place to work, great pay and benefits. Management is respectable.
Pros
great pay, overtime available, weekly pay
Cons
was part of a massive lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there over 20 years and was fired while on medical leave
Industrial Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 3, 2014
Super weak union, might as we'll be company sponsored. In 23 years needed union help once. Was told too bad, would not even return my calls. When I started there in the 80's was an excellent workplace. Has slowly gone downhill after numerous buyouts, 2 and 3 tier wages etc. if offered my job back today would say no!
Pros
good employee's
Cons
management is lost
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 29, 2013
Poor management, no advancement possible.
Nice sales team
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for, everyone is down to earth
Administrative Assistant, Manufacturing Plant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 22, 2012
assisting engineers, communicating with employees on attendance, management is good to work for, co-workers good to work with, writing up employees on there attendance, doing the different jobs that is required of you, and all the overtime you want.
Pros
comfortable
Cons
the small from the chemicals
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first real job
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 19, 2012
Formica was a great place to work. I started as an order picker for the company and work my way up the ladder quickly to the highest paying job in the warehouse. My final poison with the company was in the treating department where i ran a large machine and used a computer program to keep the machine ruining and coasting laminate on the material.
Pros
learning, fun. family type, paid well, great insurance, dental, union job
Cons
laid off and never recalled
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Production Worker
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 12, 2015
Putting sheets of lamented material on convertor table. And driving lift machinery. And help checking the finish product for defects.
Pros
work alot of hours
Cons
i wasn't given the opportunity to advance in job position
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met my honey where I made a ton of money
Press Room / Floated to other departments (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioJuly 26, 2013
Great place to work, the elders taught the newer generation about the old way of doing things right. Wages where great, people where great, and where I made my money I met my honey of 6years. Now I am a nurse and still miss that place!
Pros
$$$, great work schedule, great people
Cons
some of the older generation was not welcoming of the newer generation
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching and coaching new associates
Assistant Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2014
Day to day scheduling of all site operations.

How to teach and coach operational associates.
Pros
to see the sites sucess with our customers requriments
Cons
having to terminate associates
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Formica Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6