Formosa Plastics Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a continuously rewarding place to work .
CELL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXJanuary 3, 2018
A typical day for me with this company was also anything but typical. Most days I had no idea what I was scheduled to do until I arrived. Later on however I was chosen to be part of a specialized group and things later became fairly routine from there. I learned many things on the job mostly dealing in tools and equipment however. The management during my employment was incredible, I have absolutely zero complaints. The workplace culture was definitely friendly although safety was absolutely first. The workplace environment was a very potentially dangerous one to be in. The hardest part for me working there was the long hours in the scorching heat . The most enjoyable thing about being there all in all was the whole experience. I truly enjoyed this job and everyone that I worked with at the time.
Pros
Staff were treated amazing and everyone just clicked together, something very rare in my opinion.
Cons
Only the lack of free time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Senior Leader (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TX 77978December 27, 2017
Formosa is a large industrial plant that offers competitive salaries and excellent medical and dental benefits as well as 401K and a pension plan, in a fast paced environment.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxx
Purchasing / Contracting Agent I & II (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LADecember 21, 2017
They would not allow women to advance to supervisor/management positions. No respect for hard work.

Love what I did. Loved working with contractors and vendors in an effort to better the plant as a whole
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Instrumentation/Electrician (Current Employee) –  delaware city, delawareDecember 19, 2017
good company too work for great cast of employee.lesarned a lot there.Work place is very good on keeping production moving along. There no hard points about the job.
Pros
good location
Cons
on cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXDecember 13, 2017
A good place for people with out plant experience to get hired in.decent pay scale. Starting pay is decent. A good place to get experience. Job stability.
Pros
Good starting pay
Cons
No accountability for employees that don't do there job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start
Process Operator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXDecember 4, 2017
Again i think this is a stupid step within indeed.com
oh well here is another useless survey about a place i put behind me for a reason. why would i have so much to say?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace culture.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 29, 2017
I find that people who manage and or supervise at chemical plants and or refineries tend to be intimidated by folks with education greater to or equal to their own. Instead of them properly placing folks with said educational levels in the proper settings to benefit mutually, they prefer to use good ole boy networks in today's marketplace and that system is not working today.
Pros
Stable workplace or should i say industry.
Cons
Pay not up to industry standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Process/Production Engineer (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXNovember 2, 2017
As a graduate, it was a great place to start my first professional job. I have learned a lot there. If i did not have to relocate i would have stayed there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Fire Watch (Former Employee) –  Port Lavaca, TXOctober 17, 2017
It was ok to work in the people ate very nice sweet and helpful they would help me get around when I would get lost because the plant is to big and safety one the number one key
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not for everyone
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXSeptember 17, 2017
This job is a rotating shift schedule. Say goodbye to your personal life. They pay very well however. Paid time off is decent. Starting hourly rate is around $27 and goes up by 3% per year with a cost of living raise. Its not a bad job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
carefree
Chemical Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXAugust 5, 2017
they have absolutely no care for their employees! they would rather wait until someone gets hurt to fix something than to shut down and make repairs safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement. Great place to work.
Finance Administrator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 20, 2017
A typical work day is steady, never a dull moment. I have learned so many different aspects of my career field being that my supervisor is beyond genius. Management is well organized and willing to teach and learn more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as contractor
ENVIRONMENTAL AIR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Port Lavaca, TX 77979June 29, 2017
Safety culture lacking. As a contractor I came across many dangerous locations that I felt I could not do my job properly. Was there for only a short time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 28, 2017
I think the hardest part of the job is lancing. After that everything else is smooth sealing. Its not a bad job at all. Its better to get on with the company then contracting.
Pros
Not back breaking work
Cons
Have to work in all type weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formosa Plastics
Staff (Former Employee) –  TXJune 16, 2017
I was not there long, but it was a decent place to work. It was my first introduction to the petrochemical industry. The Taiwanese management was tough, but fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Operator (Current Employee) –  Lolita, TXMay 16, 2017
I like my job, the only downfall is working nights for a month on and off and missing things with my family. If it wasnt for nights and having to work alone it would be perfect!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXApril 24, 2017
Formosa Plastics gave me a good opportunity to start. Since it was a Grass Roots start-up it allowed for the most learning oppurtinity available for a graduating Engineer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXApril 3, 2017
great work environment and great place to grow with the company fast paced and everyday was a different challenge working with maintenance and engineers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money, money, money
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXMarch 27, 2017
lots of work but good pay. your life is secondary to corporate output. be ready to come to work when called or don't bother showing up for your next scheduled shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at better places
System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXJanuary 30, 2017
Did not enjoy working here. The co-workers were fun to be around but management will threaten your job every time you turn around. Also the company is located in the middle of no where.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Formosa Plastics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 46 reviews
514
413
312
23
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture