Fort Hays State University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick moving
Coach (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSOctober 12, 2017
Is a very low paying job with a lot of hours behind it!
It is a great place to start working directly out of college to get your feet wet!
You work hard with little in return!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and creative atmosphere
GeoScience Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSJune 30, 2017
I scan a lot of documents to help come up with teaching materials for Kansas social studies and geography teachers. I have learned a lot about maps and how to use the GIS mapping system when making my own maps. The workplace is very calm and relaxed, my boss is super nice and allows me to be as creative as I want with the projects I am given. The most enjoyable part of this job is all the new information I am learning from the maps and activities I create. However, the worst aspect of my job is all the scanning I have to do. I know it is a great resource, just scanning 500 pages a day for a week is not too fun.
Pros
flexible schedule &amazing boss & own office
Cons
Tedious at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Teach Online
Assistant Professor of Management (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSJune 26, 2017
Great school, especially teaching for the College of Business and Entrepreneurship. University focused on preparing students for real world opportunities.
Pros
pay and benefits were excellent
Cons
late state budgets resulted in uncertainty of future employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly desent
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSMay 30, 2017
The job was simple. You mainly answered phones and helped visitors find where they needed to go. The most they would allow you to work was 2 hours consecutively in a row. Sometimes the desk was really slow so you would sit there with nothing to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Student Health CenterMay 19, 2017
Work with diverse populations with in the University community.
Emphasis on Professional Development.
Limited advancement in my current area.
Wages are not competitive with current state salrys
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FHSU is a great place to start a career, or test out a possible one.
Sports Producer and Senior Producer (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSMay 5, 2017
FHSU is a great place to start a career, or test out a possible one. While attending school you can make money while investing in your craft. This is a great opportunity for anyone trying to find what they want to do with the rest of their lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sports Information Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSMay 3, 2017
Small NCAA Division II school in western Kansas. Great people within the organization make the atmoshpere one that anybody would grow in, and prosper in professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for growth
STUDY ABROAD INTERN and ESL INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSApril 24, 2017
FHSU was a good a good experience for me to do my internship. There seemed to a be a lot of opportunities for career growth, but I did not want to stay in that location. It is pretty isolated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSMarch 15, 2017
since i am going to school and working at the same place they accommodated my school schedule very well! My last year working there i was able to have a new job title that allowed me to do some supervision!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gta
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSMarch 6, 2017
Typical work day varied.
Learned how to tutor individuals.
Hardest part of job was balancing it with school work.
I enjoyed the flexibility of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Fort Hays State University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSFebruary 21, 2017
This job I did multiple different things from making letters for students, answering phone calls, doing mail, filing and scanning papers, help with meeting and conferences.
Pros
Very close group of people
Cons
Only being able to work 20 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starting point for GTA
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSFebruary 20, 2017
Manageable teaching load while completing graduate course work. Not enough support/guidance for completing thesis requirements.
Pros
Campus size, course offerings
Cons
Support for completing degree
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with great people!
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSFebruary 19, 2017
FHSU offers a great work/life balance. Entire campus staff is pleasant and easy to work with. Somewhat of a fair chance for advancement in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSJanuary 26, 2017
FHSU has given me the freedom to establish a basic course in American Sign Language. The secretary to the Communications and Disorders is fantastic. She has my tests and materials copied and ready each week. I love the interaction with my classes and have been able to persuade a few gifted students to switch to Interpreter Training or Deaf Education Programs.
Pros
Consistent semester work
Cons
60 miles from home, not enough 'office' time for the students to get extra help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, poor administration
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSJanuary 26, 2017
Teaching for FHSU is not bad, but the turbulence in the administration is frustrating and prevents forward progress in many areas. Salaries are probably average for higher ed and the benefits are pretty good.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment and Employers
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSJanuary 2, 2017
I love the physics and mathematics professors that assist the tutors in knowledge of the department. They truly care about each and every individual student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure working environment
Office Manager, FHSU Memorial Union (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSOctober 5, 2016
Enjoyed the staff and the learning experience. Business was streamlined, well thought-out in a strategic manner. Thoroughly enjoyed the staff and the knowledge base. They were very willing to share knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Evening Custodial Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSJune 13, 2016
I truly loved working for this employer. Fort Hays State University is a great place to work and it had quite a great dynamic. As former employee i'd recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open to the community to learn how to dance
Current club swing dance instructor (Vollunteer) (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSMay 31, 2016
Showing up on a timely fashion, introducing the dancers, and instructing basics in a group. Separating the experienced from the beginners to teach them all at their own level is the most difficult because many of them know different things. The co-workers and I instruct together, video the dances and correct the techniques. The most enjoyable part of the job is always learning new tricks and meeting new people. It lasts a 2 to 3 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being student worker and GTA at FHSU
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSFebruary 4, 2016
It was a typical boring-work experience, did not like it but I had to work there for my budget. Nevertheless I tried to give my full energy and performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fort Hays State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

Fort Hays State University Reviews by Location