Forward Air

135 reviews

Forward Air Employee Reviews

Found 132 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall i give them 4 stars.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Halethorpe, MDJanuary 25, 2016
Employees could be a little more attentive in caring for trucks, besides that everything is great. I've worked with some very nice people there. Working with pleasant people makes the time go by faster.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
only able to enroll for benefits once a year
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Imports/Containers (Current Employee) –  Humble, TXJanuary 22, 2016
I really enjoy working for this company. This company has taught me very much. The people in the office are great people to work with. It feels more like a family than a bunch of coworkers.
Cons
No availability to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worthless
number (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJanuary 17, 2016
long days, without support or leadership, job simple but unrewarding and waste of resources.Better places, keep searching
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJanuary 3, 2016
Loaded freight, inspected paperwork, truck and delivered. Drove semi, straight trucks and vans. Local route around north eastern Iowa.
Pros
Newer vehicles, ok management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 30, 2015
This company does have great benefits for employees. I do love the work I do. It was hard at first though as they don't have a great training program in place. I'm at a smaller terminal so I don't feel like there is much room for advancement unless I'm willing to locate, which is not an option for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Material Handler/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXNovember 12, 2015
From the start date till the end, the work never stopped. It is a local delivery company so each day the trucks run the same routes and take the same freight. The ware house has 3 shifts. The mangers will work with you to make you a better employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great insurance. Horrible work/life balance
Office employee (Current Employee) –  AlaskaNovember 12, 2015
This growing company has the ability to be top notch. Although they promote the idea of developing employees and being a family, it is far from the case. Many employees routinely work 10+ hour days.Some in this company are on mandatory 11+ hr shifts, 5 days a week with no OT and expected to be on call over the weekend. Vacation and time off isn't respected and you are expected to answer calls/emails then too. No consideration for personal time or family at all. It could be a great company, but make sure you don't have a life. Also, many of the women at the corporate office are a nightmare to deal with. Unprofessional and plain rude. When you have to spend long hours at work and also have to deal with rude co-workers, it makes for an extremely poor work environment. Shame on this company for allowing this. It is not a secret, but it is ignored and swept under the rug. It is all about the almighty dollar for those making it.
Pros
insurance, 401K
Cons
very long days, mean corporate employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
dock worker (Former Employee) –  Carson, CANovember 5, 2015
High turnover rate, some workers only speak Spanish, Management are racist and give bias to Hispanics, NON HISPANICS GET THE HARDEST WORK WHILE THEY TALK ALL DAY. Racist graffiti in bathroom degrading blacks.
Pros
non
Cons
roaches rats management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator/Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Carter Lake, IANovember 1, 2015
Fun, fast paced, easy to get along with the workers! Good benefits, new equipment, laid back work environment, all around a good place to work!
Pros
You stay clocked in for ALL breaks
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poorly managed company
Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 31, 2015
The company treated their employees like they didnt matter at all
I was glad when i finally left to pursue other oppurtunities
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job loading trucks for deliverly of products
Forklift Operator, CDL-A truck Operator,Loader (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKOctober 17, 2015
Good working atmosphere, with some supporting management.
Teamwork was the best, even though you work separately.
Was able to fill trucks from front to back with product to be delivered, in a timely fashion.
You have a great chance to grow within the company
Pros
Nice work schedule
Cons
some late nights, not enough money for jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an inbetween job. Its not worth it to stay
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  BaltimoreOctober 2, 2015
Cons: Hours arnt set, come in at different times everyday/week, never have the same route, you work 10-14 hours a day only get paid for 8 hours (140-180) a day depending on what type of license you have. After peak season you'll only get 2-3 days a week. Bosses do underhanded stuff.

Pro's. You'll have benefits
It's a good job to hold you over until you have something else
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you can handle it
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 18, 2015
Fun and exciting work place good management its a fast pace learn alot about the people you work with it tough delling with the weather but getting done what needs to be done was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average trucking company.
Class A Semi Driver For Forward Air Transportation (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 17, 2015
Drove for a bulk mail company, that employed quality people.
Hours varied.
Smaller hub out of Des Moines, Iowa.
Not supportive of FMLA and helping employees through medical issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to learn and grow
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dayton OhioSeptember 16, 2015
When I started at Forward Air I knew little about Logistics. Upon departure, I knew more than I could have ever imagined. Thank you management team!
Pros
Supportive management
Cons
computer system from the dark ages
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Specialist
Data Entry Speaclist (Current Employee) –  Jeffersonville, OHSeptember 14, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. The most enjoyable part of the job is working alongside my crew members and learning from them .
Pros
People
Cons
Not enough equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Cargo processor/ part-Time (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHSeptember 1, 2015
On any given day, me personally, I would either take freight off of a trailer, or load it up. Every once in a while the management would throw me into the office and I would be behind a computer, which was more mentally challenging than anything. I got along great with the managers there. Great people, fun to work for, they all started from the bottom, so they don't have that self entitlement issue. They have all been where you will be starting at should you get hired on. hardest part of the job is the physicality of actually loading the friend back into a trailer. If you cant pick things up with the forklift then you will have to do it by hand, and that can be challenging. especially with the furniture that comes in card board boxes! But overall the best part of the job is coming to work in a great environment! Great co workers, great people to work for and the occasional Forward Air Proud Cookouts!
Was this review helpful?Yes13No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
everything (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 25, 2015
The terminal manager sucks, he has certain drivers that he likes and favors who get paid way more. Management doesn't care about you and your family
Pros
health insurance
Cons
no breaks, long work hours, unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes39No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE ELLENWOOD GA, LOCATION IS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO WORK
DELIVERY DRIVER (Former Employee) –  ELLENWOOD GAAugust 24, 2015
The Ellenwood ga location do not take pride in Dependability, integrity, accountability and honesty with their drivers or warehouse worker's it was always a problem with my pay on a weekly basis and the management team communication skill sucks when it come's to handling problem's .
Pros
OFF WEEKENDS
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
UPS- Package Handler (Former Employee) –  College Park , GAAugust 8, 2015
Good Hours and good staff as of current and i havnt seen the new location. Job duties were unloading and loading trucks and moving and placing packages on pallets. Managers were helpful and and the days could be long and a good work day.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 135 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture