Forward Air Employee Reviews in United States

Found 141 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Is A Warehouse, What Do You Expect
Supervisor Internship Program (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMay 19, 2015
Dispatching trucks, data entry, working on the floor to increase productivity, claims resolutions, managing shortages and overages.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nonexistent management, then acquisition announced
TERMINAL MANAGER / AREA SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2015
My experience was nonexistent management, empty promises, and a surprise acquisition of Central States. We went from laid back TN to the Chicago mob. I thought nonexistent management was bad until Central States was announced as our new bosses.
Pros
Non
Cons
No direction, empty promises, only care about stock price
Was this review helpful?Yes19No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Office Administrative (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 9, 2015
San Antonio termimal is so wrong if you work in the office. Starting from inappropriate language to discrimination. Management needs a severe upgrade. I wouldnt recommend this place to my worst enemy.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Horrible horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent packing handling co.
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, OHMarch 18, 2015
forward air is a very proficient company and very well at what they do. they work very hard and push workers to get trucks out on time with very few mess up. forward air of Jeffersonville was expected not to succeed and is now doing incredibly. i would be proud to recommend this company.
Cons
low incom
Was this review helpful?Yes9No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For all that is Holy, stay away!
Manager (Former Employee) –  MultipleMarch 15, 2015
This place stinks worse then a 5 day old diaper. Unorganized, unprofessional, and no training. Training was a piece of paper that someone checked off things they told you about. Forget about hands on or mastering. Upper management has their pets (like playing video games online after hours) and other areas. Stay away if you are not part of this old boys club. Newcomers are not welcomed. Especially, when you question the ethics or integrity of managements actions. Heaven forbid we be honest to the customer. Owner only cares about his car collection.
Pros
their checks cleared weekly (amazingly)
Cons
dot has not shut these guys down.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Supervisor Material Handler/ Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJMarch 10, 2015
Great company just hard to advance. Mangement was very flexible and understanding. Ok pay, and ok benefits. Just takes forever to advance to a full time employee
Was this review helpful?Yes9No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is very deceptive.
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 8, 2015
You will not make between 40000 and 60000 more like 30,000yr. Work 3 to 4days a week during non-peak season Jan-Oct. Early start times 2am. Company going to get at least 14hrs a day of work out of youfor a flat day rate.
Pros
healthcare busy from end of october to jan 1st
Cons
no time for lunch. pay. hrs. no family time
Was this review helpful?Yes43No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competivite company for pay and extras
TRUCK DRIVER CLASS A OWNER/OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 25, 2015
The overall picture with Forward Air is superb. After a probationary period, your plates, permits, QUALCOMM, I Pass, and scales are all paid for. You receive a fuel surcharge on all loaded miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes48No39
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job with great coworkers
Dock Work/Freight Handler/Order Builder (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 29, 2015
great job for some extra money no room for advancement is the only thing that sucks, its a very great workout while getting paid and the team work is great managers and all will step in t o get the job done
Pros
free lunch/great breaks
Cons
not a stable job always being called in
Was this review helpful?Yes14No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse environment
Cargo Processor (Current Employee) –  Groveport, OHJanuary 29, 2015
All around hands on and easy job. Harsh weather conditions during seasons. Shift schedule varies.
Cons
weather conditions, schedule, lack of productive promoting.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 29, 2015
long hours, poor management and they will cut hours. not a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment.
Warehouse Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kent, WAJanuary 26, 2015
learned many things about transportation and other aspects of trucking.
Pros
people
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Night Operation Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 26, 2015
this job was supose to be part time because i need a job to pay for other bills when my company got slow. but it turned into a ful time job. knowing that i told the manage in charge that i need this to be part time. hrs was from 7pm-1am and that was perfect for me. got promoted in 30days and was told my hours would not change but it did. had to start at 4pm to closed. i stayed with them another 13months and worked my details around there schedule. and got promoted again and hrs changed. so i resigned.
Pros
its a great company to work for
Cons
but they lie to you
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for employement Forward air CLT
Am Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAJanuary 24, 2015
Needs better pay, new management, No training your over worked short breaks, they will write you up for something that your not trained on. They make the rules up as it goes.
Pros
good insurance
Cons
new managment
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to be a successful Owner/Operator
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHJanuary 12, 2015
A typical work day actually starts in the evening. This company is mostly night driving. That is the hardest part of this job. Adjusting to the night driving schedule. this is a 99% drop and hook outfit. the best part of this job is you make your own schedule and the compensation is second to none. I definately fine tuned my time management here. Late deliveries are frowned upon.
Was this review helpful?Yes49No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good
delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 7, 2014
the drivers are excellent family oriented people.the ceo gm district manager are up to no good.
Pros
just the pay was good when i first started.
Cons
benefits was not so great
Was this review helpful?Yes28No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at forward Air
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 2, 2014
A very fast-pace job requiring constant multitasking
Very organized, and synchronized system
Hot working conditions with short rest periods
Great workout!
Pros
weekly pay, excellent workout, good supervisors and co-workers, fast pace work
Cons
short breaks (sometimes none), heavy workloads, low staff
Was this review helpful?Yes19No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Kansas City MOOctober 27, 2014
manangers are rude and dont respect employees. hardly ever gave employees breaks after working 10 to 12 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Import Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCOctober 27, 2014
This company will challenge you in many ways, good and bad. The Charleston terminal tends to be disorganized and dysfunctional. The hardest part of the job is trying to maintain organization and keep up with the workload, amongst the many obstacles in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausted workplace, but with fun co-workers
Cargo Handler (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 17, 2014
It is a continue burden of boxes, oftenly during 10, 12 and untill 14 hours day's work. I have learned to identify the boxes by their route and store #. Co-worker are fine. The break is the best time.
Pros
the one is i have a job.
Cons
extensive time day's work, not a stable work schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 144 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture