Foster Farms Employee Reviews

Found 229 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of overtime and advancement oppurtunities
Manifest Operator (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 29, 2017
If you need to make money this job is great. Provides a steady 8 hours if you need it with a lot of chances for OT. In addition, you can move up fairly quickly and decent turnover rates guarantee open positions at least a few times a month. Management can be a bit lacking in understanding but in a large factory business, they sometimes have to look out for the company. My only true conflict is trying to balance home life can be hard as the overtime is often mandatory and a full 12 hours can be mandated at any time.
Pros
A lot of oppurtunities
Cons
Hard to balance home life
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyalty, Hard Work, Seniority & Line Lead = No Advancement.
Shipping Department Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Farmerville, LAMarch 22, 2017
Benefits are good. But never plan anything because more than likely you'll be working 6 or 7 days a week.

The management here is very unknowledgeable about their workers. This cost me a promotion that was promised to me by a member of upper management but after it became available I was slapped in the face by it going to someone who knew NOTHING about how my department ran. So please I implore you do not waste your time at this place.

Also there's a lot of work release out here...seem like they get the promotions to once they are on parole.

People are very messy and most of the ppl on management sleep with the work release.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of inhouse promotion. Production over safety. Lack of days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks no benefits
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Livingston, CAMarch 21, 2017
I wouldn't recommend this place , it's like working in a jail everyone gets over worked for a little bit of pay and no health benefits , not even the union helps you out anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good music
Sanitation Crew (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 21, 2017
make sure i clean the seafood. make the sauce for the seafood prep everything that needs to be prepped. got paid under the table . wasn't fair working there.
Pros
good music
Cons
no breaks work 8 hour straight
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 18, 2017
Great people poor management and poor union contract the company needs to actually care about people instead of treating them like everyone is replaceable why should we get to know u
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy work place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Livingston, CAMarch 14, 2017
I loved working there I got let go because of attendance. I wish I could go back but it's kind of hard because it's so easy to get a job there so slot of people come
Pros
Smoke breaks
Cons
No restroom breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many Hours.
Warehouse/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Livingston, CAMarch 11, 2017
It's a descent place to work if you like 10/ 12 hour days with only 1 day off. On the the other hand there are no advancement opportunities, no quartly evaluation, and no raises. For example if your a new hire and you've been there about a month, your already making the same pay as someone who has been there for 25+ years.
Pros
No pros
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Veryy professional and striaght forward
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Livingston, CAMarch 7, 2017
Pretty hard work but a good job for anyone that needs a full time job and doesn't want their hours to constantly be changed, I worked there and had no complaints about staff or the work ethic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place and you get alot of hours.
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 6, 2017
If you don't mind working hard and want to get alot of work hours in a week this is the place for you. My experince working for Foster Farms was pleasent because I enjoy working hard and I don't mind working alot of overtime.
Pros
You get alot of overtime.
Cons
A little difficult to communicate with co workers if you don't speak Spanish.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sanitation Lead (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 6, 2017
i love everything about Foster Farms for the bosses to the employees.Foster Farms is a company of many that produce chicken product that gets sent off
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place.
Sanitation Lead (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 5, 2017
I love working at foster farms work place it is a very friendly and loving environment. No matter how bad my day is going once I get to work my day gets that much better.
Pros
Free breaks
Cons
Paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very like able
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Kelso, WAFebruary 28, 2017
For the strong of stomaches. Very stinky. Late hours. Miserable people and you're soaking wet all the time. It's not a fun job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAFebruary 26, 2017
I liked the way they had everything clean. They have everything ready to finish work faster. Everything is organized and everything is nicely sanitized. Very clean and healthy job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never work for them
Animal Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 23, 2017
they treat workers like we are less then them. work 10+ hours a day with only one day off. and dangerous conditions.the nice part was the turkeys.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHows Hard Work
Packaging & Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kelso, WAFebruary 20, 2017
Great warehouse and manufacturing entry level job. Great experience to transfer to other warehouse jobs.Great co workers.
Pros
Plenty of Work
Cons
Hard Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly line work
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CAFebruary 18, 2017
Worked on an assembly line packageing turkerys
Boxing turkeys
Net turkeys
Cleaning turkeys
Stuffung turkeys
Preparing for the holiday seasons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your career
BI Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAFebruary 18, 2017
Foster Farms is a great place to start your career. A very friendly and supportive environment that provides a lot of opportunity to young graduates.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice steady work
PLANT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAFebruary 17, 2017
Work can be challenging depending in daily production goals and available personnel. You are expected to stay on top of your game and report your daily numbers with end of shift reports.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Mandatory weekend work to satisfy orders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Burrel, CAFebruary 13, 2017
Great work place. Hard working people and long hours! Mostly work on forklifts filling bags with products and placing them where they belong
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
chiller hanger (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 7, 2017
Remove bones, and cut meat into standard cuts in preparation for marketing.
Cut, trim, skin, sort, and wash viscera of slaughtered animals to separate edible portions from offal.
Slaughter animals in accordance with religious law, and determine that carcasses meet specified religious standards.
Slit open, eviscerate, and trim carcasses of slaughtered animals.
Tend assembly lines, performing a few of the many cuts needed to process a carcass.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Foster Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 231 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4