Foster Wheeler Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was contract so part of review is based on what direct hires told me
Sr. Piping Designer (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 8, 2015
Pros: Growing company
Cons: Lack of communication
Decent benefits and management but was going through transition and was a little chaotic.

Wanted to go direct or change shops but HR would never get back with me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place
CWI, pipe welder (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVJune 14, 2015
good company to work for it. Nice people, safety and quality work. Management very good people and their procedures in welding are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Design Drafter (Former Employee), Clinton, New JerseyMay 15, 2015
Pros: Benefits, exercise room, lunch break, off every other Friday.
Cons: A merger now known as a buy-out.
It is a pleasure to work for this company. Excellent benefits and team members. The company has been on a 9/80 work week meaning, 9 hours a day Monday thru Friday, with every other Friday being off.
The company has recently been bought out and job security has not been as it used to be. If you are to be hired here, you will enjoy all this company has to offer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Rigging Superintendent (Former Employee), anywhereNovember 23, 2014
Excellent company to work with. The management treated us all very well and the subcontractors were productive and safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed and productive work environment
Industrial Journeyman Rigger (Former Employee), Fort Morgan, COOctober 13, 2014
Pros: beautiful country, good managment and short smooth job.
Cons: too far from home.
Worked nights on a short outage in Ft Morgan Colorado. The work was well managed and planned out so pretty much everything went smooth without too many hitches. My co-workers were experienced and very job minded and also looked out for each other more than on most jobs. The hardest part of the job was being on the catwalk 8 or 10 floors up on night shift flagging the rig in March in Colorado. It was very cold. The most enjoyable part of the job was the comaraderie between the people that worked there. Heck everybody even liked our safety woman.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a new experience with this company
Electrician (Former Employee), westlake, laSeptember 8, 2014
The project took me to different areas of my skills. Ilearned alot of new things on this project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Tube Welder (Former Employee), la place louisanaJuly 30, 2014
great place to work no complaints great paying job plenty of hours easy going boss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't have a clue what they are doing
civi foreman (Former Employee), pdh enterprise mt. belvieuJuly 25, 2014
Pros: decent pay. insurance after 30 days
Cons: steam room for lunch tent, upper management don't have a clue what they are doing, 5 different bosses telling you different ways to do your job, no coordination between crafts
I was a civil superviser. They had pipe area superintendent telling civil how to do there job. No planning, no coordination between crafts. Brought in all former s b workers who had their on little click going . When I stood up for my crew who were mostly white.i was fired 3 days later by the mostly Mexican crew from S B... no help from HR they do what they are told.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
Site Safety Manager (Current Employee), Whiting, INJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great wages
Cons: zero direction
This company is currently in transition and has yet to decide who they want to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work area
PMT HSE Supervisor (Current Employee), AL jubail cityMarch 21, 2014
Pros: paid overtime
Cons: no vehicle supplied
Working with this company (Foster wheeler) is very productive and beneficial to me being a person career wise. I experienced a lot and learned a lot too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A project that is in need of some overhaul
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Indiantown, FLFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: upper management, poor safety concerns, scheduled was based day by day
This review is based strictly on a project in Indiantown, FL and does not necessarily mean the company as a whole is like this. The upper management team was not well educated on how a job is supposed to be ran nor were they educated on pipe installation, fabrication or functions. They do not believe their employees should have a voice and they will dismiss you if you have a concern. In every other company I have worked for, safety was considered #1 and followed up by quality and the production, this project management team believes in the complete opposite and safety is hardly regarded as important. Many employees, including myself were asked several times to perform tasks unsafely and many tasks were not properly planned out. This project did not believe in craft employees and had both riggers and iron workers fitting high pressure pipe lines, many spools were fabricated incorrectly and crooked, the management team would shrug their shoulders and have it installed improperly. When it comes to scheduling, I wouldn't plan on knowing when you are working from one day to the next, we would work 8hrs one day, 12hrs the next, then work two days of 10hrs and then another 8hr shift. One week we would work 50hrs, next week work 40hrs, and then one week work 60hrs, only to go back to 40hrs again. This entire job was in complete chaos and I only hope that FPL looks further into Foster Wheelers practices at their plant site and makes changes. I do not recommend this project to anyone who takes pride in their work ethic and who values their safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production with light humor with the co-worker.
Supervisor - US and Asia (Former Employee), Clinton, NJJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: no free lunch or coffee
Cons: healthcare was a priority.
Always work due schedule and making all the dates.
Management always make you busy with meeting and future
jobs. Visited China office and Vietnam job site total of two years. Most experience I received with Chinese and Vietnam
co-workers that help me to understanding other side of world culture. Always try to make job in budget and make the dates.
That was my enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
Account Executive (Former Employee), Northeast and Southeast United StatesOctober 21, 2013
Good deal of potential. Offering new products which if can be supported, will be a great benefit for their future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Turnover systems Tech (Current Employee), East Chicago, INOctober 16, 2013
Most days are busy. Ive learn so much from the experience and the people around me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Company
Validation Specialist II (Former Employee), Guaynabo, PRAugust 13, 2013
Pros: chances to grow as the other profesionals
Foster Wheeler teach me many good things about validations, projects, clients support, validation activities, client support, and many other good things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent and independent environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 1, 2013
A typical day at work is processing new hires for safety orientations and safety base training's, issuing protective equipment, ordering protective equipment, completing expense reports and processing invoices, coordinating meetings, data entry, preparing safety documentations and reports, and supporting the safety staff on as need bases. The hardest part of my job is pulling employees away from their work assignments to take random drug screenings, they get frustrated to be pulled away, but it is necessary. The most enjoyable part of my Job is getting the opportunity to meet & interact with everyone throughout the company while promoting and supporting a safe environment and building a safe culture. I love working and interacting with people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized place to work
Sr.Field Piping Designer (Former Employee), el segundo californiaMay 1, 2013
field designer lead responsible for a field team of 7 designers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at Foster Wheeler
Senior Project Buyer (Former Employee), Houston, TexasFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: had good christmas party
Cons: nothing bad to say.
I worked at satelite office not in main office, but had good working facility.

Overall a good company to work for.

Good people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stayed busy
Foreman (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 27, 2012
Work hours from 7-5. No overtime because I was not a permanent employee. Had problems getting straight answers from management sometimes. Overall pretty good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proffesional organization
Control Room Operator (Former Employee), Colton, CANovember 21, 2012
Joined company during re-commissioning of co-gen. Company held extensive training in safety, operations and maintenance. Management was experienced and well versed to meet the challenges of re-commissioning. Co-workers were worked hard to ensure the project was completed on time. The hardest part of the job was cleaning bed material from combustor furnace following improper operation and shut downs. Most enjoyable part of job was latching the generators to the grid for the first time after units had been down for ten years.