Find companies:
Four Oaks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Four Oaks Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the kiddos
Medical Assisting Extern (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAMay 28, 2014
Pros: getting to work with the kids, and being able to be a cma in real life
Cons: no pay, and no job offerings after externship was over.
In a normal day I would take vitals, help with intake assessments, pass medications, check on restrained and secluded kiddos, administered TB tests, and gave injections when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Youth Counselor/Supervisor (Current Employee), Waterloo, IAApril 18, 2014
Helping out different children from all walks of life is a good feeling everyday. Someone different arrives almost daily with a different problem so I have to stay on my toes with how to deal with them. No two days are alike and that's what intrigues me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Job
Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJanuary 9, 2014
It take a lot of mental strength and patience to do this job. The workers there are gifted and dedicated. There is just too much violence and crisis for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great mission
Safety and Permanency (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IADecember 26, 2013
The mission of Four Oaks is a great one; however, a high turnover of staff makes it difficult to accomplish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwhelming Wealth of Knowledge gained.
Day Manager, Shift Leader (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IANovember 21, 2013
Pros: great leadership, great employees, stable career path.
Cons: very violent clients, dangerous situations, and understaffed.
I enjoyed my employment at Four Oaks. I had excellent management and terrific employees. The skills and understanding I gained what Human Services means. I could not express the value of the knowledge and Training they put into each staff.

Safety, stability, and recovery were our focus points. To ensure the safety of staff, clients and visitors. Stability – more... and consistency of that safety and structure, and then help our clients heal by using various therapeutic skills with clients of all ages and disorders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring environment, family oriented
Family Advocate (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: 401 k, life insurance
Cons: lower then average wages
Helping Clients, I have learned a lot about how the system works and how to help those who are in need. Hardest part of my job is watching children go back into a bad situation. I have hope though that the kiddos have learned something through those they have worked with to keep on the right path. I have the greatest co-workers and would not trade them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Atmosphere
Youth Counselor (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 16, 2013
Pros: free breakfast, lunch, dinner, while on shift.
Cons: 14hr days, plenty of er trips.
A regular day at work is crazy, hectic, yet fun some days. A lot of energy is needed in the atmosphere. The teenagers I work with can one day be great, and the next day try and harm you. It's an up and down crazy lifestyle, but knowing some days you touch their hearts, helps. I do wish my management would acknowledge my work ethics more and my teams, – more... because we work our butts off for the little money that we make. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured
Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Independence, IAMay 13, 2013
Pros: this job is hardly mondane
Cons: pay
This is a realy great company to work for a real team environment. Every day is something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 4, 2013
worked in a variety of youth program settings either for after care or residential treatment. Supervised children ages 6-17. Ran skill groups, updating client files and entering daily logs. Helping children with general tasks for living healthy productive lives. I learned there are a lot of families that are in need of assistance in my area. Most of – more... the management and coworkers were a pleasure to work with and very helpful. The hardest part of the job was seeing young children in a crisis situations or their difficult backgrounds. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the children make achievements in their lives and be rehabilitated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided great challenges for my skills.
Permanency Specialist (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: lots of chances to further skill development, flexible schedule, opportunities for developing better skill levels.
Cons: i felt that having another hand or part time staff in my area, as i was the only person working in a service area, would have been helpful.
I was treated well during this employment. I did become too overloaded by the end of my time with this company and I had asked for some assistance, but it appeared hard for my team to help me out at times. I feel that this company takes great pride in furthering their workers abilities by providing several trainings a month. I enjoyed that the company – more... does have a lot of opportunities to change jobs and find something that is interesting for you or fits your abilities better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The kids can really touch your heart but theres a lot of down fall.
Night Worker (Current Employee), Mason City, IAJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: kids are greart.
Cons: no breaks, no one really comes to check on you, dont get to use vacation time when you want.
As an overnight you don't really get to spent much time with the kids because they are sleeping but the time that you do get with them can really grasp at your heart. Some things are difficult because it's hard to build a really strong relationship with some of the kids but some you become really attached to. For the other people that you have to work – more... with makes it a whole lot harder. Theres very little communication and people are very gossippy which tend to get in the way. Also if you don't go above and beyound your job expectations it feels like your being looked down upon, like youre not good enough. The shift leaders kind make you feel like there are playing favorites. The company acts like they are trying when you have a complaint but nothing really comes of it. Over all working at four oaks has been a major let down. I went to school to work in this job field and it makes me feel like I wasted my time, money and effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educating and safe keeping of youth
Youth Counselor (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 27, 2012
Pros: getting a client back home to his/her family
Cons: not all clients will have a home or even make it once they return home
My daily job consist of educating young youth and helping them to make better choices concerning their health, family, and most of all themselves. The hardest part of the job was listening to some of the heart felt stories some of them came to the program with. I learned that you can never pre judge a person or the circumstances they face everday. Always – more... come within a job open-minded. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was watching the clients grow and learn from their mistakes. The look on some of their faces when it was time for them to be discharged was PRICELESS. I enjoy working with my management and co-workers because they believe in open communication and believe that we are working to help and educate not to take things personal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Fun Place to Work
Youth Counselor (Current Employee), Monticello, IAAugust 19, 2012
Pros: set schedule, great coworkers
Cons: difficult schedule
On a typical day, I provide several different services to our children including one on one support and medication distrabution. I have learned alot about managing children and situations in crisis. The hardest part of my job is seeing kids struggle and then not want to listen to what I have to say. But in return the best part of my job is seeing a – more... child make great progress and go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work at Four Oaks
Farming/Laborer (Former Employee), Point, LAJuly 18, 2012
Pros: long lunch brakes
Cons: no medical insurence
working at four Oaks was a good farming experience i learned how to drive a tractor, plant rice, and plant suger cane
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really don't care about their emplyees
Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJuly 4, 2012
Pros: helping kids
Cons: low income, bad management, and low pay raises.
I work as a youth counselor and the only thing that keeps me at this position is working with kids. Other than that the pay is really low for what you will be doing. It's a very stressful job and they demand a lot of things from you. There has been a lot of changes going on, which has casued a work overload on the employees. Employees were told "oh – more... well, if you don't like it quit." Management only cares about money and will do anyting to get money. The pay raises are really low and you can work hard all year but if you do one thing wrong they will center on that. All in all not a good company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a lot of staff that really care about the clients, which makes working with the staff and the clients very enjoyable
Youth Worker (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAApril 25, 2012
Pros: helping children
Cons: senior staff set in "old ways"
Provide structured routine for clients, positive interventions, and help clients utilize coping skills. The work itself was very rewarding.