Find companies:
Four Winds Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Four Winds Hospital Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acute-care psychiatric hospital
Senior Mental Health Worker, Milieu Manager (Current Employee), Katonah, NYJanuary 5, 2015
An acute care psychiatric hospital that works with children, adolescents, and adults, as well as, psychiatric, behavioral, and co-occurring disorders. As a Senior Mental Health Worker I provided direct patient care, encouraging engagement in treatment and ensuring patient safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience; Undervalued by Management
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee), Katonah, NYNovember 4, 2014
Pros: great work experience, wonderful co-workers
Cons: short breaks (if any), 13 hour shift, lack of leadership on unit
Long shifts, chaotic atmosphere, and constant danger make this job extremely high-stress. Working with the children is extremely rewarding and is an experience I would never trade for anything. The management – more... undervalues the MHWs and do not respect personal restrictions (i.e.: injuries, pregnancy, etc.). Pregnant workers are consistently discriminated against by management and are not given the option to opt out of restraints. The majority of the team you work with are dedicated, kind, compassionate individuals. Unfortunately, the people running the place don't appear bothered by the poor conditions and lack of consistency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee), Katonah, NYOctober 13, 2014
Very inconsistent work. Had to call weekly for hours along with many other staff and there would be weeks I would not have any work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make Sure Hospital Census Stays Up
Assistant Marketing Outreach Liaison (Current Employee), Katonah, NYSeptember 17, 2014
Very Busy all day. Performing Various Projects. Great Team environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Katonah, NYAugust 7, 2014
Cons: short breaks, the 13hour shifts
Four Winds is a beautiful place if your into psych, I on the other hand I've had my share of mental health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to work with adolescent children
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Katonah, NYApril 12, 2014
Pros: knowing you touched a life in a possitive way.
Cons: being in danger at times during a take down for a behavior problem.
Working in the psych field as an RN , helping adolescent children was very rewarding. The staff at Four Winds was always upbeat and positive. Although, the shifts where 12 hour and it could at times get very exhausting,the energy there was very positive to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Psychiatric hospital that helped a lot of kids and teens.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Katonah, NYFebruary 18, 2014
The staff at Stony Lodge hospital was very caring and it was a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health Work
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Katonah, NYSeptember 28, 2013
13 Hr Direct Pt Care with 13-17 year olds, No room for advancement, pay is Low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry Level Job
Treatment Manager (Former Employee), Katonah, NYSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: free lunch, dinner. lots of free time.
Cons: dangerous
Great experience and entry level job. Also due to hospital hours, you have plenty of free time to enjoy your life. Unfortunately the compensation is low and not enough to support yourself. Unless you are planning to become a doctor or nurse, this is only a temporary position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced, challenging evironment.
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee), Katonah, NYAugust 21, 2013
Pros: benefits, flexible work-schedule, rewards, promotions/recognition
Cons: very demanding and pay
A therapeutic milieu that forces entry-level staff to perform a variety of tasks. I learned a lot about my professional focus, my internal motivators, and how to approach crisis management in a progressive, – more... skillful manner to achieve best outcomes. I learned how to engage in a collaborative environment full of checks and balances. The staff and management alike continually seek cutting-edge skills trainings to improve quality customer care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for experience otherwise awful
Mental Health Worker - Nightly Milieu Manager (Current Employee), katonah, nyJuly 16, 2013
Pros: cool people to work with
Cons: low pay high stress
Highly chaotic and unorganized since so many kids are from broken homes. You're basically a camp counselor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment!
Executive Assistant to Director of Admissions (Former Employee), Katonah, NYApril 15, 2013
Pros: great free restaurant for all employees.
Every day was a different day at this psychiatric hospital, with a revolving door with incoming and outgoing patients daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting place to work. Very rewarding
Charge Nurse-Adult Psychiatric Unit (Current Employee), Katonah, NYApril 2, 2013
Pros: new and interesting field of nursing
Cons: working alone without benefit of another rn
Challenging postion working with a diverse patient population. Effective program to help patient work through treatment. Many dedicated coworkers.
Tough pace to keep up with at times..Short staff is hardest part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plain and Simple
Intake Coordinator/Office Assistant (Former Employee), Saratoga Springs, NYDecember 11, 2012
Making appointments, filing, rx refills, intakes
co-workers varried
hardest part of the job was it was fairly dull
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work for.
UNIT CLERK (Former Employee), Saratoga Springs NYNovember 15, 2012
Pros: rewarding, all the activities, outside functions, holiday parties etc
Cons: there really was no cons
Four Winds Hospital is a psychiatric hospitl. Not one day was the same. I found it to be challenging and yet rewarding all at the same time. I really loved that job. I actually cried when I left. My peers – more... were amazing. We helped each other out. My supervisor was there when I had a very severe personal issue and was amazing and understanding when I needed to take some personal time. I think the hardest part of the job was the travel .. It was 40 minutes from my home and in the winter months that became challenging. The most rewarding part of the job was seeing mentally challenge people that we helped get better and leave the hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with a team of talented professionals in an acute setting.
Clinical Social Worker (Current Employee), Katonah, NYOctober 14, 2012
Pros: strong peer support.
Cons: acute setting is fast paced with many changes in direction daily.
A typical day at work involves meeting with the team each morning to review the acuity on the unit. Discuss a plan for interventions and management of acuity on the unit taking a team approach. The treatment – more... approach on the adult unit is centered around teaching Dialectical Behavior Therapy skills and encouraging our patients to practice the skills in the milieu throughout the day. Patients complete daily Diary Cards and other written assignments that provide the treatment team with clinical information and reinforces the use of the DBT skills learned that day. Throughout the day, the therapists communicate with managed care companies to either complete a pre authorization for admission to our unit or provide continued stay reviews regularly. Working with the managed care companies can be challenging and is an important part of the job. There are many enjoyable aspects of the daily work including working within a team, helping patients get to the next point in their recovery and being to consult with team members during the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental health work
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee), Saratoga, NYJuly 9, 2012
Pros: you are a positive aspect of patient care and patient life
Cons: hours work not condusive to schedule
While working at Four Winds Hospital my day to day work consisted of structuring group therapy sessions for patients. Alongside leading group therapy I would work with doctors and nurses to help the treatment – more... plan for each patient. The hardest part of the mental health profession is coping with the mentally ill and establishing why they had been placed in the hospital. The beneficial part of the job starts and ends with the patients and their stories. Helping someone grow as a person was one of the most positive events that have occured in my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding enviornment to use skills and intellect, excellent teamwork,consistent opportunity for education, personal and professional growth
Director of Marketing and Community Relations (Former Employee), Saratoge Springs, NYApril 23, 2012
Pros: beautiful setting, highly respected colleagues, flexible work schedule, evolving responsibilities
Cons: constant search for excellence in aftercare, for discharged patients and families
Fabulous work setting, with a typical day of program design, preparation of marketing materials, problem solving: internmal, consumers and families, referral sources, community and political groups, professional – more... networks and regulatory entities.
Supervision of staff, strategic planning with upper management, planning and implementing quarterly education calendar, planning staff incentive events, close collaboration with admission and discharge teams, preparation of marketing plan.

Hardest part: driving in deep snow

Most enjoyable: co-workers and always the opportunity to be heard and respected – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable and great experience
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee), Katonah, New YorkFebruary 15, 2012
Pros: 3 days a week
Cons: 13 hour shifts
Wonderful experience for the right person interested in this field. Flexable hours.

Four Winds Hospital Salaries

Admissions Coordinator
$30,000 per year