Find companies:
Foxwoods Resort & Casino
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Foxwoods Resort & Casino Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People; difficult Tribe.
Director of Technology (Former Employee), MashantucketJune 21, 2014
Pros: great staff, great facility, great food.
Cons: lots of anger and hostility. worse still, that's thought of as acceptable
Great Co workers and management for the most part. Awesome facility and excellent food. Good benefits and good pay. But tribal perks cut so deeply into the company profits that it affect the stability of the organization. No one begrudge them their due but their programs were barely sustainable in good economic times. Killed the goose when times got – more... tough. Plus, many tribal members were just mean. Mistreated staff and felt entitled to do so. One understands but it's still wrong. I miss working there. Miss the people on the reservation. But at the end of the day they blamed everyone else for their troubles. I tried to help but no one would listen. It's kind of like a bad marriage. At some point you just have to walk away. I wish you all the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong and stable
Junior Accountant (Former Employee), Ledyard, CTApril 29, 2014
business will grow as long as the economy is on the rise. Many doors will open for a potential employee in the future with great learning experience and many opportunities to grow your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Ledyard, CTApril 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches.
Cons: management was very poor.
Every day at work was different. Nothing was ever the same. I learned discipline and the need to work together and depend on others. There is a lot of petty drama that goes on within the department. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with the intoxicated patrons and never knowing what they will do or how they will act towards you or others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Retail Associate/Truck Driver (Former Employee), Mashantucket, CTFebruary 26, 2014
Loading and unloading truck everyday, learned how to do inventory,shipping and receiving, enjoyed working with my fellow co-workers, hardest part of my job was driving on bad roads in the winter. Enjoyed being on the employee group counsel, helping other workers and delivering merchandise to the stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Working Environment
Assistant Shift Manager - Security (Former Employee), Mashantucket, ConnecticutNovember 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches, paid vacation and sick time, 401k and medical coverage
Cons: management is limited in how to manage
Fast past environment surrounded by a diverse group of people. Management is divided and can be seen by the front line employees. Most front line employees prefer a manager who is friend and not one who actually manages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN & EXCITING
Poker Dealer and Blackjack Dealer (Former Employee), Mashantucket, CTAugust 16, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: hours
GREAT PLACE TO WORK. ONE OF THE BEST PLACES TO WORK IN CT. GREAT BENEFITS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Table Games Dealer & Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Ledyard, CTJuly 30, 2013
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: long drive to work
I learned a great deal working at Foxwoods. Blackjack and Novelty games were the first games I learned when hired. I took Craps class later that year then Roulette a year later. I started supervising some time in 2007. My most enjoyable part of the job is when you and the other dealers on the table all working together like a well oiled machine, the – more... players are yelling and screaming having a blast, the bets are flying in as the dice are going out and as crazy and chaotic as the table seems you know you and your crew have everything under control. Hardest part of the job for me was standing at a dead table for hours on end. Dealing with shot takers and drunks can be unpleasant. I learned a great deal in the 7+ years I worked at Foxwoods and I worked with a lot of great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Employee
Engineering (Former Employee), Led yard ConnecticutJuly 20, 2013
Cons: tribal members will get your days off and promoted over you and you will do your job and theirs.
Any good reviews as you see are management probably a tribal member or told or recommended by a tribal member to make their review. DO NOT WORK AT FOXWOODS if you have to then go ahead but you will be screwed eventually.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Resort Sales/Promotions/Business Center Rep. (Former Employee), Ledyard, Ct.April 24, 2013
My typical day included promotions, events, seminars, conventions, interface with the public daily. Administrative assistant duties.

Management was good.

Co-workers were very diverse and entertaining.

Hardest part, leaving after 14 years.

Enjoyable part was all the perks: Benefits, B-day parties, Christmas parties and gifts, making friends and meeting – more... new people from all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job as Purchasing Agent handling all Gaming and communication aspects
Purchasing Agent II (Former Employee), Mashantucket, CTMarch 12, 2013
Loved my coworkers, after 15 years we were like family. The hardest part of the job was telling someone (anyone) something they did not want to hear, be it, product would be late, product was more expensive then they originally budgeted for, etc. Best part of my job was the negotiation that saved $$
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place for medical benefits and steady income
Resort Call Center Agent (Current Employee), Resort Call CenterJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: free lunch, dinner, etc, weekly pay schedule, good med/dental benefits
Cons: high layoff/turnover rate, no bonuses or pay increases
i'm pleased with my work environment. my co-workers are mainly veterans of the company with lots of years under their belts and great advice to provide. i've learned to just remain focus on my tasks in hand. when you work in a small close knit environment, it's easy to get caught up in unproductive job etiquette so as long as you stick to your task, – more... it makes your job much easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement if your not a tribal member
Surveillance Systems Technician (Former Employee), Mashantucket, CTOctober 2, 2012
Pros: lousy free lunch
Cons: no advancement, no raises
Worked there 18 yrs. and received numerous awards, worked for the tribal eneterprise not the casino, no raise for 6 yrs, max raise if I got one for a stellar evaluation was 2% and my benefits went up at least three times during that period. Fired for violating a policy, no warning or write up. Tribal members not held to the same standards and got paid – more... at least double the starting rate. Won't pay the National wage for your position. Place is going downhill fast! Starting pay for my job is 16.50 should be $23.00. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
esd department is a joke
former recycling attendant (Former Employee), mashantucketSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: the people
Cons: management, money, way you are treated, hard work for little compensation
you do not want to work for this company the management is a joke and they do not care for long term non tribal employees, the pay is a joke and your lucky to get a 20 cent raise a year definately not a job for the long term
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting enviornment
Assistant Beverage Manager (Former Employee), Ledyard, CTAugust 21, 2012
An exciting environment and good people to work with. Each day is a different adventure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Casino on the East Coast
Pit Manager (Former Employee), Mashantucket, ConnecticutMarch 23, 2012
Pros: perscription plan, daily meals, mega casino enviorment in rural area
Cons: executive management turnover
Overseeing Operation of a Pit of 36 to 45 Table Games.

Importance of Dealing with Staff and Customers Fairly

Executive Management turnover to Often

Majority of Employees Dedicated

Dealing with Dealer Union

Opportunity to work with group of knowledgable Gaming People

About Foxwoods Resort & Casino

Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation has propelled itself from the depths of poverty to its lofty position as the wealthiest Native – Read more