Find companies:
Francis Marion University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Francis Marion University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FMU
Assistant Director of Admissions (Current Employee), Florence, SCJanuary 3, 2015
Great overall experience. I've learned a lot working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that provides overall safety for all residents staying in campus housing
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCNovember 22, 2014
I oversaw campus housing to ensure that every student on campus was secure and safe while on campus. Housing directors assisted us whenever there were issues out of our control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Music Program!!
Assistant Piano Instructor (Former Employee), Florence, SCNovember 16, 2014
Pros: student performances
Cons: short breaks
Even though the Music Program is still new, the professor and students wasted no time in their efforts to make this an outstanding program. These professors understand their students' capabilities and gives them a chance to be heard by performing and studying with different producers, singers, and songwriter across the globe as well as make sure their students put their own work out to be discovered by many recording labels, schools, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Florence, SCNovember 3, 2014
First experience working in administration. Learned a lot of important tasks. Great environment and people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Custodian (Former Employee), Florence, SCOctober 7, 2014
Pros: easy
Cons: co-workers
Went by fast,co-workers were rude, my boss was awesome. Would do it again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Graduate Student Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCOctober 4, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, fun work environment
Cons: no benefits
Make and pull patient charts, answer the phone, review immunization records
I learned a lot about health care as a whole.
My supervisor was absolutely wonderful.
My co-workers were also wonderful caring people. Patients always felt loved.
The hardest part of the job was reviewing immunization records.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College work/study job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 15, 2014
This was a work/study job. It allowed me to gain great office experience and also gave me time to study for my classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCAugust 11, 2014
Was given many opportunities to further my education and experience in the field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with a great team player environment
Neuroscience laboratory research assistant (Current Employee), Florence, SCJuly 2, 2014
On a typical day, I run behavioral trials with rat study subjects. I enter the daily data in Microsoft Excel and Prism. Weekly, the team analyzes the graphs for data trends.
Also, we have a weekly session in which we discuss journal articles related to our paradigm and look for ways to improve studies in the future. I work with a small hardworking, dedicated team. Our primary investigator is always available to answer any question, as is our lab tech.
The hardest part of the job is processes the animals for dissection. The most enjoyable, the ease in which each team member gets along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Student Worker (Former Employee), Florence, SCJune 6, 2014
it was nice i left happy everyone was sweet and pleasant,Im only writing this because they wont let me upload my resume if I dont
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun filled work environment
Human Resources Internship (Former Employee), Florence, SCJune 1, 2014
Pros: nice people, experience, learned life long skills
Cons: did the work for free because it was an internship
Human Resource Department
Worked hands on with Manager/President of administration
completed institutional research single handedly
Came up with solutions for employee and student retention
Data analysis and manipulation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and comfortable
Math/Trigonometry Tutor (Former Employee), Florence, SCMay 13, 2014
There was nothing hard about this job. I just assisted a certain amount of students with their school work. I presented my knowledge of math to them, so they understand the concepts of what they are learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Setting to complete assignments
Desk Assistant (Current Employee), Florence, SCMay 11, 2014
Assisted professors and students in the Francis Marion University’s Academic Computer and Media Center; Aided students and professors in the functions of the computer, printers, and DVD players; answered phone calls professionally and took accurate messages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just your standard job
Media Specialist (Former Employee), Computer CenterMarch 13, 2014
Pros: free time to do other work, friendly people
Cons: extremely cold, low pay, no advancement options
Unless you have the right individuals working with you, the job can be quite boring, but it goes give you time to focus on your school work. Since it is a student worker job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Library Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCJanuary 5, 2014
Performed clerical duties as well as helped other perform their duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are super busy but it is an exciting place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Florence, SCNovember 20, 2013
Pros: christmas break with pay and bonus checks
Cons: benefits keep going up in that you have to have more taken out of your paycheck before you get it.
A typical work day is performing a variety of administrative assistant duties including (but not limited to) handling correspondence, data entry, answering all incoming calls and routing them, sorting mail, working with prospective graduate students to get their paper work entered in to the computer to get them admitted in our graduate programs, customer service to the general public, creating files and filing, making appointment and all other general office duties.

The hardest part about my job is I sit at the front desk and there are so many distractions when working on critical projects but yet they have to be done in a timely fashion.

The most enjoyable part of my job is at the end of the day I feel as if I have help someone achieve a goal or made a difference in someone life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student attending college
Student (Former Employee), Florence, SCOctober 22, 2013
Pros: professors who really care
Cons: a heavy course load
I was a freshman attending my first year as a nursing student. It was a great year except my grandparents got sick so I had to drop out and take care of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 6, 2013
Worked as a student Research Assistant. I loved the environment and how helpful the staff is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard - A Fun Job
Lifeguard (Current Employee), Florence, SCJuly 15, 2013
It was a fine place to work. I went to school there and graduated from it. I didn't really earn any kind of benefits or anything because I am just a student worker there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice enviornment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, SCMay 25, 2013
Pros: nice breaks
Turn on the 50 computers and 6 printers and also monitor the area in which is located in the rear of the library.