Franklin & Marshall College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5-star liberal art college.
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 24, 2017
Small classes
Excellent research opportunities (even for first year students)
Study abroad opportunities
Excellent financial aid
Many wonderful programs (e.g. chemistry and music)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but you won't get paid
Facilities (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAApril 21, 2017
I have worked at F&M for 3 years. I have enjoyed my time here as far as the work in concerned. However, after working here for that amount of time, pay raises have not kept current with cost of living increases. Great benefits, but they don't pay enough to be competitive in the local job market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where i go to school
Ware College House Mentor (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAApril 10, 2017
i love franklin and marshall but i didn't memorize my resume and don't know exactly what i'm supposed to be reviewing here. it's great though, i recommend this place of higher education for sure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Office Assistant, Psychology Department (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMarch 15, 2017
I started working here since my freshman year at college, as one of the student workers of the school. Through almost 4 years working as an office assistant to the Psychology Department, I've gained a lot of valuable experience in a very professional yet friendly work setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Student Supervisor, Campus Peer Health Educator (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJanuary 23, 2017
I attended meetings with my supervisors and co-workers in which we were able to discuss campus events. The job was rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Front Office Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJanuary 21, 2017
Everyday I would welcome and assist anyone that visited the office. In addition, I was responsible for picking up phone calls and taking messages. I also had to set up appointments for current students and alumni.

The workplace is extremely friendly and welcoming.

Most enjoyable part of the job was learning something new! (There's always room to learn in this workplace)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
Athletic Communications Game-Day Staff Member (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJanuary 12, 2017
Good school for giving students on campus work opportunities to help pay for their education as well as gain work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Student Caller (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PANovember 30, 2016
Great atmosphere! I loved my job as a student caller at Franklin and Marshall College, and would highly recommend to others!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have the benefit of talking to others on the phone
Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJanuary 11, 2016
Essentially I make phone calls to Pennsylvania residents surveying them with questions about politics or health. Certain companies use us to survey the state about their political views and lifestyle choices. Overall it is an easy job but the most difficult part would be depicting the necessary information from certain people on the phone that is valuable to us. The best part of the job is occasionally I will talk to someone who has very unique viewpoints on political information.
Pros
understanding bosses
Cons
no benefits, only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Work
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PADecember 14, 2015
I liked being able to interview all types of people all over the nation, so it was interesting work. What was also interesting was the fact that there was one supervisor who was a bully who was clearly overlooked or ignored by those in charge at the time.
Pros
Interesting work.
Cons
Poor supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about Franklin & Marshall College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and enthusiastic atmosphere.
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 1, 2015
A typical day was coming in for a few hours before or after class and help the secretary of the president of my college with whatever she needed. The most enjoyable part was the flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management in my department
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAAugust 27, 2014
Great place to work in terms of work/life balance, and beautiful campus. Management in my department was extremely demanding and picky, and very much a "clique." No training to speak of. I think other departments were better however.
Pros
Great work life balance.
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced research environment
Hackman Summer Research Scholar (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJuly 30, 2014
Getting to work alongside your professors and peers is a fantastic experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
F&M Student Worker
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAFebruary 15, 2014
Worked up to 10 hours a week. Worked closely with professors. Good culture for a student worker.
Pros
Good work experience
Cons
Minimum Wage pay with no Advancement Opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College
Senior Research Project (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAOctober 29, 2013
Lots of opportunity, but no real "life after college" program other than shuffling you to graduate school
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The college that I attended.
Manager, Student College Center (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAApril 4, 2013
College I attended. Worked several on campus jobs. Very great employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Summer Job
Trades Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMay 12, 2012
We worked as a team of anywhere from 3-10 people while fixing up the campus over summer vacation.
Pros
outdoor work
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Franklin & Marshall College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Franklin & Marshall College Reviews by Location