Find companies:
Fred's Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Fred's Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Vendor Accountant (Former Employee), memphis, tnJuly 19, 2014
bad management, no room for advancement, functional silos, great coworkers within finance department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Expert (Former Employee), Bartlett, TNJune 29, 2014
growing company where advancement is small but is a nice place to work during school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Florence, SCJune 21, 2014
Pros: free lunch great people
Cons: short breaks
A long day behind the counter but it was very fun. I learned how to operate the cash register and the be patient with others. Management was good. if i needed any assistance they were there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), White House, TNJune 3, 2014
take care of customers and stocking freight. It was a ok place to work just not enough room in store for customers to shop comfortable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail fun
Operation Expert (Former Employee), Boaz alabamaMay 29, 2014
Loved the job just they went out of business and I worked arab store just couldn't afford gas at the time to keep the job.Loved retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Store Manager (Former Employee), Baldwyn, MSMay 23, 2014
* Daily paperwork
* Oversee Employees
* Employee schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Umm
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Camden, TNMay 14, 2014
Fred's was a good first full time job for me, but it is a small company with big company mentatlity but no process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
NFCC, Senior Center, & O'Tooles' Herb Farm (Former Employee), Madison, FLJanuary 29, 2014
The retail work enviornment is not my ideal working place. I was happy to have the work opportuinty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun retail
cashier (Former Employee), Haleyville, ALJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: friendly
Cons: pay was not up to par
cashier stock and handle complaints; had wonderful co-workers, the best part of the job was meeting the public and handling their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opened up new stores
Store Manager (Former Employee), southeast USDecember 20, 2013
Pros: seeing different parts of southeast
Cons: long hours, living in motels
I would get to a new store to hire for setup
Prepare store for grand openings
Train manager for a month
Move to another store and do it again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, not a fun place to work.
Receiving Office Area Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 16, 2013
Pros: free tickets to baseball games.
Cons: long hours and short breaks.
A typical day started a 4am and my go until 6pm sometimes longer. I learned a lot of leadership skills, from classes, tapes, and on the job training. Management had no job security. My co-workers were fun to work with and we worked together good as a team. The hardest part of the job was not knowing what time the shift would end. Being able to be proactive – more... and solving problems that would happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and demanding workplace
Operations expert (Current Employee), FloridaOctober 7, 2013
Pros: great experience, teaches good work ethic
Cons: demanding, frequent payroll cuts
Fred's is a great place to have a first job; you learn all the basic ropes of retail, and it is fast paced and demanding. That being said it can be quite stressful, and involve a lot of multi-tasking while trying to meet daily deadlines. Overall, I recommend it as a training job, with many other career possibilities following
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Operations Expert (Former Employee), Eunice, LAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: not wnough workers
It is an ok place to work but over all a great place to shop, have nice people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for
Operations Expert (Asst. Manager) (Former Employee), Benton, TNAugust 20, 2013
My experience with Fred's Inc. was a horrible one. I worked 45-50 hours a week and it was very unappreciated. The stories I could tell about them would make the most hardened shudder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Fred's.
MANAGER (Former Employee), Decherd, TNJuly 15, 2013
I enjoyed the day to day operation's. The customer's were awesome. The management team was wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No structure enviornment
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 19, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: no windows!
The job is very up and down, sometimes job flows well but most of the time it goes completely flat. No sense of direction always working with someone over your shoulder.

Mangers think you do nothing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having a great day at Fred's
Service Operations Manager (Current Employee), Donalsonville, GAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: great work environmental. friendly atmosphere.
Cons: long hours slow in promotions and raises
A typical day at Fred's starts early with getting the store prepared for the day. Counting registers and making sure all daily office work is done. Setting up registers and make task sheets for employees coming in. Check computer for any emails or instructions for the day. Pull out merchandise making sure the outside is clean. Open the doors for the – more... day to begin. Checking in vendors as they come in. Greeting customers as well as staff. Supply pharmacy with their drawer as well as paper work. File vendor sheets as they are checked in. Taking and transferring calls as needed. Answering customer questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and Effeciency, Eliminating Waste in day to day operations
Director of Imports (Current Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: enjoyable workplace, great employees, time management
Cons: good old boy network, possilble upper management getting kick backs
Lots to do. First Director of Imports for this company, DC in TN and GA, over 700 stores in 15 states.
Created and Implemented best practices in: Compliance, Operations, Direct Carrier contract, Total Visibility in Supp;ly Chain.
Great place to work, friendly people. Company needs a culture change in order to compete with the largest importer in the – more... US. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Calhoun City, MSFebruary 5, 2013
I loved this job. It was my first job and I loved it. It was very flexible and the manger there was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is what it is!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Statesville, NCJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: upper management majoring in minors
small time retail company trying to grow in hard economic times. stores are one salaried manager with 10 employees open 85 hours a week with limited payroll and an ever growing to do list.